Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2018
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1429 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,310
Mixed:
46
Negative:
73
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
avadaApr 7, 2019
It's a ham-handed "diversity" abomination. And massively overrated.
Black spider man, spider woman, anime-lolita spider girl, female Octopus.
The story was nothing special undeserving of such high rates. But reviewers don't care for the
It's a ham-handed "diversity" abomination. And massively overrated.
Black spider man, spider woman, anime-lolita spider girl, female Octopus.
The story was nothing special undeserving of such high rates. But reviewers don't care for the value of the movie only that it's "diverse" it seems...
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TrevorsViewDec 27, 2018
As a middle-schooler, I was a real fan of the Sam Raimi Spider-Man trilogy, because unlike Batman, Superman, or my favorite crimefighters, the Teen Titans, Peter Parker articulated a truly identifiable humanity with his trials of mastering aAs a middle-schooler, I was a real fan of the Sam Raimi Spider-Man trilogy, because unlike Batman, Superman, or my favorite crimefighters, the Teen Titans, Peter Parker articulated a truly identifiable humanity with his trials of mastering a new set of powers without help. Today, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse accurately depicts more than just that: what it means to put on the red mask.

It’s no secret, however, that superheroes give bad relationship advice, as Mary Jane Watson has always been so awful to Peter. Here, while there’s also a usual mentor relationship for Brooklyn teen Miles, things really get kicked off by his affection for Gwen Stacy, who mostly stands as a believable yet cheap love interest. She does get to become more of a character later, but the way she’s introduced isn’t enough to hook female viewers. Spider-Man is essentially worshipped as a god for everyone to submit their identities to, but this movie also tries to make us feel sad for the “humanized” villain, Kingpin, by giving him a forgettable tragic backstory. Any sadness attempted falls flat because it’s brought up using a noisy, hyper, seizure-inducing color spectrum; the worst possible method of entertaining kids.

We perhaps are getting a taste of the dark cinematic superhero era of 1995, back when its insincere cheesiness peaked by a certain director whose name rhymes with Moel Bumacher. Although in this case, it works to its advantage, as some anime influence pops up by the visual of a spider on ultraviolet hallucinogens. Other old comic book imagery makes its way in, like yellow box text projecting Miles’ thoughts. There are plenty other creative spins to make this its own distinct identity, one that sprays graffiti paint over your own eyesight of Ben Parker’s “great power, great responsibility” quote. Miles’ extra-dimensional mentor, Mister Peter B. Parker, now hates Uncle Ben’s quote, so a new uncle figure (and aunt figure) arrive for a new 2018 audience. Such new changes to the formula help deliver an important new message to learn: You can’t save everybody.

Regrettably, the screenwriters, which include Phil Lord of The LEGO Movie, couldn’t save their script. I know superhero worlds often embrace absurdity, except the logic of this superhero world matches a child’s mind, its coincidences removing justification of the ridiculous dialogue, particularly Miles’ incapacity to tell his dad he loves him. Also, Spider-Man comics exist within Miles’ world… for some unexplained reason. The poor writing goes to the unconvincing dialogue ruined all the further by overly dramatic music queueing in a surprise villain twist. These detriments to Miles’ character arc spark the numerous bad qualities of old comic books.

That doesn’t mean the good visual qualities of old comic books are useless, quite the opposite in fact. As a response to his police officer father forcing him to attend “Visions Academy,” Miles appears to imagine the entire world as a comic book. Little “peck-peck-pecks” pop out of several pigeons in a sense of comic book cheesiness done correctly. While a retro battle against a giant Green Goblin takes on an old classic feel, a snow-ridden grave under flowers suggest influence from modern graphic novels. These moments all come together with a constant implementation of little vinyl dots across the screen to match an old comic strip on newsprint. Those little details balance the harshness of the past and harshness of the present, like cartoons birthing a “millenialized” baby boomer society to redefine heroism.

Its satire of the Raimi trilogy comes full circle to be not just funny, but insightful, in what needs to change. To complete revisionist touches of the superhero icon’s maturation for our modern lens, the women get their chance to suit up, particularly Gwen Stacy and her accidentally awesome haircut; not to mention Doc Ock is now female! That means we ALL get a chance to be Spider-Man!

Now, how am I Spider-Man? For one, the many difficulties come at times when helpful people aren’t always around. Example: Several months ago, I lost my wallet at the grocery story, so then began the recovery process by ordering a replacement driver’s license… which arrived a mere days before I found my wallet in the pantry. It’s a stupid moment of unnecessary freaking out, but sums up what 2018 was all about for me: becoming 100% financially dependent on myself in the same process of self-discovery and self-help that Peter Parker went through when he needed to become Spider-Man.

And finally, I ought to point out how this movie tributes Stan Lee. Amid his recent death, Stan’s latest cameo gives the man great respect that would guarantee tears of joy.
Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
6
RetrodoxFeb 15, 2019
its good but not that great it falls into a lot of family genre movie tropes,the hero fails but there are not lasting effects on him,the supporting characters are either just comical or just romantic interest they don't have purpose theirits good but not that great it falls into a lot of family genre movie tropes,the hero fails but there are not lasting effects on him,the supporting characters are either just comical or just romantic interest they don't have purpose their extremely forgettable and obviously plot shoe ins.The third act is a Plato to say the least,its way to predictable and uninteresting I wanted the movie to end by that point which is another thing I don't like about this film it is extensively long 15 mins of the film would be nice, still the better of the batch of the family genre. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
PhuckriticksJan 8, 2019
The art is cool, the basic depiction of characters possess a great urban feel. At times it looked blurry in spots. Spider-man is my favorite in the Marvel Universe, but this plot and story just aren't that great. I was bored.
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
6
LegendaryLassDec 14, 2018
Typical superhero origin story, nothing you haven't seen before but the characterization is very well-done for Miles and Peter. However, it's bogged down by a ludicrous plot and laden with jerky, cheap animation passing as "stylistic." FailsTypical superhero origin story, nothing you haven't seen before but the characterization is very well-done for Miles and Peter. However, it's bogged down by a ludicrous plot and laden with jerky, cheap animation passing as "stylistic." Fails to capitalize on any of the spider-people other than Miles and Peter, which is a shame as they're the least interesting of the bunch. Expand
14 of 50 users found this helpful1436
All this user's reviews
5
WhateverHoweverDec 24, 2018
Diversity: the art of thinking independently together, but most of the time they aren't going to support it financially in the box office.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 26, 2018
I'm sorry, but what's the big deal?
I mean it's funny, it's colorful, it's entertaining but hardly groundbreaking.
It feels pretty much like every other Marvel superhero film, yet this one is animated, therefore the only really big change.
I'm sorry, but what's the big deal?
I mean it's funny, it's colorful, it's entertaining but hardly groundbreaking.

It feels pretty much like every other Marvel superhero film, yet this one is animated, therefore the only really big change.

It deals with the Multiverse which is actually pretty cool and opens a very interesting door for both Marvel and Sony in that terrain but while I did enjoyed this film, it never felt different or special.

It's good yes but there's nothing astonishing in it.
Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
6
AxeTDec 20, 2018
Striking breakout animation and hip urban comic book graffiti style nearly lift the also creative break the mold expanded universe narrative from the perils of dull formula.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
4
keemtJun 1, 2019
Everything is painfully average about this movie other than the art style and the villain's weaponization of multiverses. The plot sucks, the dialogue sucks, it's such a waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
deadbankMar 1, 2019
The animation and action was good, but the actual plot was pretty bland and has been done many times in the Spider-Man movies. However, this did feel a lot like a comic book, and is a good direction for Marvel movies (and really just superThe animation and action was good, but the actual plot was pretty bland and has been done many times in the Spider-Man movies. However, this did feel a lot like a comic book, and is a good direction for Marvel movies (and really just super hero movies in general) to start moving towards. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BenLinkMay 16, 2019
Even though the animation and the visuals in this movie are some of the best i've ever seen. The story is not very good at all. It's a mess honestly. They have some great characters and character designs but the story is just meh. HonestlyEven though the animation and the visuals in this movie are some of the best i've ever seen. The story is not very good at all. It's a mess honestly. They have some great characters and character designs but the story is just meh. Honestly not sure how this is being rated so high. Watch it for the visuals but not the story. The Spider Verse concept is just confusing and doesn't make sense. I wish the visuals were on a better written story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianApr 7, 2019
Great visuals and a few laughs but otherwise very lame story and dialogue. Severely overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobJul 1, 2019
Is it as good as people said it is? No, but it's watchable. The character building is good but the plot is unoriginal and I feel like we really didn't get enough of the different Spider-Mans. The humour is kind of a hit and miss and the 2Is it as good as people said it is? No, but it's watchable. The character building is good but the plot is unoriginal and I feel like we really didn't get enough of the different Spider-Mans. The humour is kind of a hit and miss and the 2 hours run time is just too much, They should have trimmed it a bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
srtafozexMar 9, 2019
Typical superhero story, nothing you have not seen before. The film is a ridiculous plot and it is not surprising
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SandyCameronAug 16, 2019
Saw this on TV. I'd had a long day and was tired, so maybe it wasn't the movie to watch...but I nodded off. Some good gags, dazzling visuals, but too dazzling. It seemed all speed and no pace - I needed more time to catch my breath.

I
Saw this on TV. I'd had a long day and was tired, so maybe it wasn't the movie to watch...but I nodded off. Some good gags, dazzling visuals, but too dazzling. It seemed all speed and no pace - I needed more time to catch my breath.

I thought Kingpin looked stylistically out of place; the plot was uninvolving; Miles seemed to "know he was ready" barely seconds after PP had told him he wasn't, compressing the ending of the story as if the writers knew they had already gone on too long.

Not just another Spidey movie, but not quite as inventive a take as critics claim.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bzagerJul 9, 2019
Spiderman was a disappointment.The movie has some big names but little excitement. Teenagers hold hands but that's it.There's no chemistry between Tom Holland and singer, Zendaya. Even the evil "Mysterio" played by Jake Gyllenhaal couldn'tSpiderman was a disappointment.The movie has some big names but little excitement. Teenagers hold hands but that's it.There's no chemistry between Tom Holland and singer, Zendaya. Even the evil "Mysterio" played by Jake Gyllenhaal couldn't elevate the movie. Strictly a pre-teen flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews