Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 21, 2018
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 390 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
242
Mixed:
99
Negative:
49
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
OdinMovieBlogMar 5, 2019
Yet another sequel that is mostly unnecessary. Though there are a few entertaining moments throughout, it seems they cared more about beating a world record for product placement rather than telling the best story possible. They sadly alsoYet another sequel that is mostly unnecessary. Though there are a few entertaining moments throughout, it seems they cared more about beating a world record for product placement rather than telling the best story possible. They sadly also spend too much time breaking Disney canon for the sake of a feminist message. The fact that the end message to this film is that you can leave everything behind and forsake people who depend on you all to pursue your dreams is a terrible message for our kids and especially young women everywhere. Let this be the end of it. C- Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonApr 3, 2019
An ok movie, but no more than that. The first one was full of video game references, however this one was full of internet references - basically advertising large companies such as facebook, amazon, ebay, etc. I didn't like the way theyAn ok movie, but no more than that. The first one was full of video game references, however this one was full of internet references - basically advertising large companies such as facebook, amazon, ebay, etc. I didn't like the way they developed the female character who became really selfish towards the end whereas poor Ralph was reduced to a sidekick. Best scenes were with the Disney princesses, but of course as this is Disney they were there to push a feminist agenda. Gender/Race politics is all over Disney these days. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
kuehnauMar 27, 2019
I think the biggest issue I have with Wreck it Ralph 2 is the fact that the first movie pushed as many game recurrences as possible into the film and the second film pushed as many advertisements as possible into the game.

I hope we see a
I think the biggest issue I have with Wreck it Ralph 2 is the fact that the first movie pushed as many game recurrences as possible into the film and the second film pushed as many advertisements as possible into the game.

I hope we see a third film that focuses on gaming and less on advertising like the second film did.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
WargearsApr 2, 2019
I love how the first movie teaches you about acceptance, contentment, and loving yourself for what you are, now throw everything the first movie taught you out the window because now going turbo and abandoning your kingdom with theI love how the first movie teaches you about acceptance, contentment, and loving yourself for what you are, now throw everything the first movie taught you out the window because now going turbo and abandoning your kingdom with the possibility of being shut down permanently is now ok and without consequences whatsoever. Storywise the movie just basically revolves around ralph and ven trying to save her game while fan favorites like fix it felix and sgt calhoun are just relegated to sideline characters with no special purpose in the movie other than push an agenda that having kids are bad. We also have newcomers like shank and yesss which was introduced out of nowhere with barely any proper character development and they're basically just there to advance the story. The movie also has disney princesses which made the movie a bit interesting but mostly they were just there to also push an agenda that they don't need men to tell them what to do. Lastly there was really no proper villain in the movie other than the virus which only shows near the end. But all in all I can still say the movie is still ok but compared to the first movie this was a bit of a disappointment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Voodoo123Feb 25, 2019
+Looks great in 4k HDR
+I laughed
+Great voice cast +Interesting characters/designs -Poor use of video game genre -Forgettable animated movie plot -Tropey tropes mctrope I had very low expectations going in but enjoyed this far more than I
+Looks great in 4k HDR
+I laughed
+Great voice cast
+Interesting characters/designs
-Poor use of video game genre
-Forgettable animated movie plot
-Tropey tropes mctrope

I had very low expectations going in but enjoyed this far more than I expected to. If you're a fan of the animated movie genre you will probably find something to enjoy here.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Daniel11Jun 15, 2019
Another feminist agenda movie by Disney! Why all the movies have to be a bad ass girl who try to show that she is stronger and independent than anyone’s else. And the Disney princes, yess and Shank remains you every moment of the movie if theAnother feminist agenda movie by Disney! Why all the movies have to be a bad ass girl who try to show that she is stronger and independent than anyone’s else. And the Disney princes, yess and Shank remains you every moment of the movie if the message it’s not clear enough. It’s the same formula for Disney that it’s getting boring and predictable. It’s like the friend who tells you a joke over and over again. Fist time its original and funny, but later on it becomes annoying. Disney please, change your formula. most of the people want original movies that it’s made by passion. Not a political agenda. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
thatguywhoshereNov 25, 2018
Wasn't bad, although the most interesting part of the movie for sure was a 6 year old kid sitting behind me in the theater asking his mom if they could leave halfway through because he was bored.
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
4
KurschNov 29, 2018
Ralph Breaks the Internet starts gamely, but quickly bogs down in the 2nd act with story decisions based on product placement for iconic Disney products. The key to all animated Disney (Pixar) films is the dynamic relationship, and Ralph'sRalph Breaks the Internet starts gamely, but quickly bogs down in the 2nd act with story decisions based on product placement for iconic Disney products. The key to all animated Disney (Pixar) films is the dynamic relationship, and Ralph's and Vanellope's is lost in the barrage of Disney merchandising. The average episode of "Rick and Morty, Big Mouth, or One Punch Man" packs in five times the laughs. The first film was delightful, but "Ralph Breaks the Internet" always plays it safe, settling for family friendly mediocrity in an effort to build brand loyalty. Kids may enjoy it, but adults will find most of the jokes falling flat, disappointing for a big release feature. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
4
RidleayRomeroNov 24, 2018
Wreck-it Ralph was an uplifting movie based around video games. Ralph Breaks the Internet is.... something. Video games are just kinda somewhere in all this, not really any focus or anything. Of course they throw the Internet stuff around,Wreck-it Ralph was an uplifting movie based around video games. Ralph Breaks the Internet is.... something. Video games are just kinda somewhere in all this, not really any focus or anything. Of course they throw the Internet stuff around, but I don't think they did much research on some of the sites either. It's kinda mediocre at best. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
6
lebronchainzNov 22, 2018
This movie did not have the same heart as the original. The motivation to keep the story going fell a little flat. The relationship between Vanellope and Ralph take on a cringe inducing path. The new characters were lacking any substance andThis movie did not have the same heart as the original. The motivation to keep the story going fell a little flat. The relationship between Vanellope and Ralph take on a cringe inducing path. The new characters were lacking any substance and the overall story was a little boring. I had high hopes for this movie because the original was fantastic. The movie relied too much on the established characters and never fleshed out anything more worthwhile. I give it a soft 6. I loved wreck it ralph btw. Expand
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
6
spongeswiftNov 23, 2018
The title should've spoiled it for me but yes Ralph doesn't only break the internet, He wrecks EVERYTHING! The movie's first 2 acts went along pretty good even if there wasn't much behind the gags but when it made it into its final act thingsThe title should've spoiled it for me but yes Ralph doesn't only break the internet, He wrecks EVERYTHING! The movie's first 2 acts went along pretty good even if there wasn't much behind the gags but when it made it into its final act things started to turn for the worse. I really liked Gal Gadot's and Taraji P. Henson's roles, Shank and Yesss respectively. They both supported the movie but didn't take too much screen time away from Ralph and Vanellope. But that "Slaughter Race" game is what causes the 3rd act to fall so sharply. I think it was dragged on too far. It was almost 2 hours and that is entirely too long for a movie with not that much subject matter. It moved so quick in the first two acts that it's slow down in the third act was so much worse than it should've been. They also really had no idea what to do with Felix and Calhoun who have such a brief and non consequential addition to the story. The Disney part was cool but it was not very prevalent. At least if you watched the trailers. They shoved it down your throats and gave you little new things to discover. The princess's inclusion was very well sought out though. Overall Ralph and Vanellope work better as a duo which is why the third act fell so hard. Leaving the arcade was not the sweetest choice after all. It was gloriously pointless but hey at least this is gonna be a 2010s time capsule! Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
5
miccaelDec 2, 2018
Disappointed. Unworthy & unnecessary sequel. This is not RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET, this is RALPH BECOMES A YOUTUBER. I was interested in how would they use their own properties to present this movie, and they totally blew it. I am not sureDisappointed. Unworthy & unnecessary sequel. This is not RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET, this is RALPH BECOMES A YOUTUBER. I was interested in how would they use their own properties to present this movie, and they totally blew it. I am not sure who leaves 9 or 10/10 reviews here (maybe parents or blind fans?) but this movie was not OK. I really liked first one, heck I give 10/10 to Wreck it Ralph 1 right now, but this movie just used characters to re-create Emoji Movie, which was total crap.
Beginning was rushed.
Ralph was annoying.
Product placement - the movie.
Cringy YouTube video remakes and fortnite references.
RALPH ONLY GOES INTO 1 game! This movie about video game characters and yet we only see 1 game! WTF
The "Disney princess song" was bad too.
Woke-ass feminists princesses tried to "joke about a man saving them" which ironically comes from Rapunzel who was saved by a man... so what's the point?
The message was good but badly done. Why Disney shows dark web so badly? Like it's a place where you can viruses? kids will google it after the movie. it's so wrong.
It's sad how this movie wasn't good, i was hoping for it.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
6
foxgroveDec 9, 2018
The concept is quite simply brilliant, but after about an hour it seems to have played itself out. Adults may enjoy it more than children as it is too sophisticated for young kids to really understand. Let's face it isn't the Emoji MovieThe concept is quite simply brilliant, but after about an hour it seems to have played itself out. Adults may enjoy it more than children as it is too sophisticated for young kids to really understand. Let's face it isn't the Emoji Movie which was generally more enjoyable and probably easier for kids to digest. Flashes of brilliance abound, however. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
johnlemon04Dec 3, 2018
I expected more from this movie. The first one its much better and this just looks like a cash grab with fan internet service and poorly written story. Got funny moments, but honestly, i didnt laugh at anything in the first 20 min of theI expected more from this movie. The first one its much better and this just looks like a cash grab with fan internet service and poorly written story. Got funny moments, but honestly, i didnt laugh at anything in the first 20 min of the movie. Everything is so bland. No great characters, no villian and the plot is just, boring. just disney ads everywhere. And when they enter the disney place is so cringe and so boring. Im mad how disney is just milking marvel and star wars franchises with their boring gags. The only funny thing on this movie was the post credits scenes. What a big letdown. Disney is not the same company that peaked years ago. their in a downfall. in quality and writing. Movies like finding dory, frozen, monsters U, cars etc are prime examples. and i could add more to the list. including this one. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
BullishDec 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wreck It Ralph is my favorite computer-animated film of all time.

With that said, the sequel is a complete let down. It has no where near the story of the original. There isn't even a main villain. The villain is Ralph's insecurities. I know, pathetic right?

While there are some funny nods to the internet most of us will pick up, there is no denying how 2018-Disney-progressive this movie feels from start to finish.

The story structure with its twists and turns is what made the original Wreck It Ralph so phenomenal. This sequel has none of that.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeNov 25, 2018
Ralph Breaks The Internet is an easier script than the previous one and without any polishing around the edges, the material is often chalky.

Ralph Breaks The Internet Johnston and Moore's surf through the internet is free but definitely
Ralph Breaks The Internet is an easier script than the previous one and without any polishing around the edges, the material is often chalky.

Ralph Breaks The Internet

Johnston and Moore's surf through the internet is free but definitely time consuming. Picking up from where we left these two characters, they had to create an almost newer dimension to fill in. And boy, did the writers came up with one. To capture an internet into a physical dimension itself scares you. It is a double edge sword though. It can be really easy as much as you are distracting the viewers. And since the glossy distraction in here is something that the audience is familiar- or in fact lives in it- it gets immensely effortless for them to hold us. Having said that, if not taken proper care of, and not worked on the details, it might come off as a one big hocum, which is what exactly happens in here.

The script is definitely gripping and thoroughly entertaining. But the rich details that such animated feature usually contains, it lacks in aplenty. Aforementioned, the narration just surfs through the storyline and never digs deep, either the writers were afraid to open the vortex or just couldn't grasp it all in. Nevertheless, it still would have worked, if had better conversations, compelling arguments and genuine morale conflicts to bedazzle us.

But what was once explored by Disney movies is left untouched in here. And with very little surface to walk on, it is still a smooth ride. In fact the concept has so much heart and potential in it, that the first hour of the narration is boost off by just visiting characters only. The structure of the script too is familiar to your usual Disney features. The performance cast though, ups the ante of the game. Revisiting their characters, Reilly and Silverman both are equally challenging on the screen. Their duo is a force to be reckoned with.

His overprotective nature and her rebellious carefree attitude bodes well for the equation. And once again, the visual effects are jaw dropping, the artists do work a lot into it and it does pay off; this internet world projected in here is much more welcoming than the internet itself. Silverman's deep dive on mocking or updating the Disney princesses' sequence, is definitely the show stealer. One of the best bits of the storytelling is how it depicts both side of the range that this internet goes to. It shows you all the power there is by offering all the "heart" there is, within a snap. And it can also take all of it away with that snap itself.

On that note, on that very message that is conveyed in here, the movie is a sure shot win. It also has possibly the least enthralling final acts of all. Where it was supposed to fiddle intellectually with the viewers, it instead puts up a behemoth physical stature to climb upon. It is not the most mature script ever to come across in a Disney world, but it surely is an entertaining one. Ralph Breaks The Internet is an easier script than the previous one and without any polishing around the edges, the material is often chalky.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
clarkaddisonNov 26, 2018
A slighlty better version of the Emoji Movie. A group of adults wanted to make a movie about the internet too many years to late. With outdated jokes and ideas that were not researched to make the jokes really hit. Without the DisneyA slighlty better version of the Emoji Movie. A group of adults wanted to make a movie about the internet too many years to late. With outdated jokes and ideas that were not researched to make the jokes really hit. Without the Disney Princess` and the Disney style this movie would tank in score and box office. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryDec 8, 2018
John C. Reilly is back in the title role and he's joined by the spunky racer from last time (Sara Silverman). They venture outside of their safe video game world into the expanse of the internet, where numerous brands get their logos inJohn C. Reilly is back in the title role and he's joined by the spunky racer from last time (Sara Silverman). They venture outside of their safe video game world into the expanse of the internet, where numerous brands get their logos in animation. While the visuals are bright, colorful and dense, the extended one-on-one conversations between the 2 main characters drag down the fun. Some of the most enjoyable comic moments come from the bevy of Disney princesses as they play to and against stereotype. When there's action, the movie's entertaining, but there's too much slow, relationship development trying to instill positive messages. Stay thru the credits for 2 bonus clips. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
EludiumQ36Feb 28, 2019
This is mostly for the kids, pretty dumbed down, they even define Wifi and "the internet", but I continued watching because I wanted to see how they represented the internet. Would Facebook dominate? Would all the big names - Apple, Amazon,This is mostly for the kids, pretty dumbed down, they even define Wifi and "the internet", but I continued watching because I wanted to see how they represented the internet. Would Facebook dominate? Would all the big names - Apple, Amazon, Google, Microsoft, Netflix - be represented, parodied? As it turns out, the internet was depicted as a space-age cityscape. It looks like Ebay bought the biggest sponsorship since they figured prominently in the story, though later, Disney got its play, mainly in the Disney Princess realm, so let me just say it now, this film seems really aimed at the daddy-daughter set. Google was represented as a high-rise office bldg where Ralph thought you got goggles. And I'm sure, much to Google's chagrin, "The Search Bar" was powered by fictional KnowsMore, and they used BuzzzTube vs YouTube (though the latter was referenced), so it looks like you only see a real-world representation if they paid the movie's production company for the ad-space, and the big names mentioned before were barely seen in the background if at all. Back to the story or rather the theme. As noted before, the key demographic for this is daddy-daughter and the prominent theme was the vicissitudes of kiddie friendship. A letdown for me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
GrantD243Dec 12, 2018
Ralph Breaks the Internet suffers from a lot of the same problems that I had with Wreck-It Ralph. There is more exploration of the world (which is something I wanted more of in the first one) and the inclusion of various brands and websitesRalph Breaks the Internet suffers from a lot of the same problems that I had with Wreck-It Ralph. There is more exploration of the world (which is something I wanted more of in the first one) and the inclusion of various brands and websites is awesome, but once again the story is just too simple and surface level for me. I get it; it's made for kids, but I was hoping for more. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
DerekSCriticJan 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From first impression, the internet concept worried me until watching the film. After watching the film, I can definitely say that it was not even close to as good as the first film. Ralph Breaks the internet is an average sequel to a fantastic Disney film. Fortunately, this film has fantastic animation as the internet looks great with very creative design and all the characters are full of life. I love how this film played around with most of its concepts. Although forced upon the audience, the message of friendship has a strong point.


Unfortunately, this movie has several problems in the writing and characterization that ruin the film from being great. First, the story is a mess that becomes very predictable and completely breaks everything established in the first film by the third act. The film has an awful ending as Vanellope ditches Sugar Rush to be in Slaughter Race. This makes no sense and the character does not fit the tone of the game. Most of the humor is also weak with the exception of the princess scenes. A whole part of the plot has to do with Ralph making money off of stupid videos on a YouTube parody site made for the movie. In the first film, the use of video game characters lead to several great cameos, but nobody knows if these viral videos are going to be relevant in the next few years. While I did say the point of the message was strong, it feels like this film forces its message to its audience. I get that the film is about friendship, but the amount of times Ralph and Vanellope use the term "best friend" throughout the film is annoying. Also, Felix and Calhoun from the first film are completely forgotten here.


Ralph Breaks the Internet is a disappointing sequel to one of my favorite Disney films. While the animation is excellent, the film has poor writing, bad characterization and a message forced upon the audience. This is definitely not one of the best films from Disney and it's a painfully average sequel.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
ThatOneNerdyGuyDec 12, 2018
Going into this movie i already knew this would be the emoji movie 2, wow look it's wreck it Ralph doing a funny fortnite dance, haha funny. what happened? the movie has amazing animation and overall the first half of the movie i found veryGoing into this movie i already knew this would be the emoji movie 2, wow look it's wreck it Ralph doing a funny fortnite dance, haha funny. what happened? the movie has amazing animation and overall the first half of the movie i found very enjoyable, but then ralph (without trying to spoil anything) he becomes a youtuber, and then it becomes one of the worst segments to ever exist in a disney movie, the second half becomes another emoji movie and feels like its 2 hours long, it has a good lesson in its story but man, they really push it out there, play a drinking game, every time they say "insecurity" take a shot, you would be in a coma, well scratch that you would be dead. bummer that this is a sequel to a near masterpiece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
ChiddyJan 2, 2019
Paid Promotion: The Movie.
It wasn't awful, but not nearly as well made as the first.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
Scottsmi8Feb 8, 2019
Ralph's sequel moves almost entirely away from games and explores a visualized internet in the same way Inside Out visualized an emotional brain. I left feeling worse about the state of the internet, as the movie largely props up someRalph's sequel moves almost entirely away from games and explores a visualized internet in the same way Inside Out visualized an emotional brain. I left feeling worse about the state of the internet, as the movie largely props up some somewhat sad trends: 1) Kids obsession with superficial fun (emoji's and silly shareable things, which is mostly fine) and 2) Kids idolization of internet popularity and fame, and the goal of gaining it through whatever means possible.

I left feeling a mix of 'blah' and 'I've seen this before' - The finale, while computationally a feat, seemed more creepy than cool.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
pineappleprinceNov 26, 2018
The pros: It is beautifully animated and the improvements in fluidity and range for our main characters is a sight to behold. The cons: Most of the film feels pointless and meandering. The references to the internet and Disney IP areThe pros: It is beautifully animated and the improvements in fluidity and range for our main characters is a sight to behold. The cons: Most of the film feels pointless and meandering. The references to the internet and Disney IP are cringe-worthy, the jokes didn't land, and worst of all, the message that the film tries to promote in the third act goes against the established rules of the first film and feels out-of-character for Ralph and Vanellope. It pains me to write this because the first film holds such a big place in my heart, but this sequel is unfortunately, all dust. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 3, 2018
I will not deny that this film still has all the Disney quality all over it. After all we're talking about Disney and this is a huge film for them, but frankly although I was entertained and I wasn't disappointed, this sequel feels disposableI will not deny that this film still has all the Disney quality all over it. After all we're talking about Disney and this is a huge film for them, but frankly although I was entertained and I wasn't disappointed, this sequel feels disposable and with that word I don't mean that its quality is bad or that its quality is disposable
The problem is that I failed to see or feel any relevance in the story. It feels quite forced and reached a certain point the film becomes just a mere product placement exercise even beyond the emotional message behind it.

The film is fun, the kids will definitely love it. Mainly because kids now know perfectly the internet world and all its ways, but the truth is that to me it didn't feel superior to the first one in any department or level and in the end it only remains as what it's now: A novelty but ultimately I think it will become a irrelevant sequel within the Disney catalogue.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
LajaleaaDec 3, 2018
( 53/100 )
.
No estoy enojado para nada, he tenido el honor de conocer el gusto a través del descaro que puede tener una película para impulsar la poca voluntad en los espectadores de exigir calidad en vez de contenido. Pero ¡Hey! También se
( 53/100 )
.
No estoy enojado para nada, he tenido el honor de conocer el gusto a través del descaro que puede tener una película para impulsar la poca voluntad en los espectadores de exigir calidad en vez de contenido. Pero ¡Hey! También se necesita ingenio para qué, hasta su público más crítico, sucumba ante los cariños de una sátira bien hecha. No lo digo por mi, la mayoría lo confirma: Metacritic le da 71, IMDb 76 y Rotten Tomatoes, en medio de su chanchullo, le da 88, o 73, depende de donde se vea, y 63 por parte del público.
Créanme, no soy ningún hater, ya confesé que me gustó la película, pero esa no es mi opinión total. Les advierto, los siguientes párrafos no serán totalmente amenos a éste nuevo proyecto de Disney.
Ralph regresa con Vanellope a una aventura auto-impuesta y de una forma algo absurda en la que la pareja de amigos se ve en la necesidad de visitar el vasto mundo del Internet. Su gran diversidad y espacio seducirá y obstaculizará la fortaleza de la amistad que Ralph y Vanellope lograron en la película anterior.
La decencia que tiene Ralph Breaks The Internet está en su sátira. El permiso que Disney le otorga a la película para burlarse de sí mismo es lo que le da formalidad, no solo a la película, sino a la transición moral que ha buscado y logrado la compañía en toda su historia. El dialogo y la presencia de las princesas de Disney generó una auto-crítica y una sátira con suficiente éxito como para aplaudir el hecho de que Disney no es solo una empresa productora de contenidos y experiencias, sino que también es un ente que crece poco a poco junto a su público; y el hecho de que se burle de sí mismo y le de paso a los personajes más icónicos de la historia de la animación a adaptarse, lo demuestra como una empresa que ha madurado y que no le molesta jugar con los errores de su pasado, pues ha aprendido de ellos y aspirará a ser lo más correcto posible.
Sin embargo es triste que haya decidido hacerlo junto a una de sus formulas, ya, más añejas. La historia es un reciclaje más de las aventuras que tanto Disney como cualquier otra productora masiva ha presentado en sus historias más comerciales. Ese reciclaje presenta una historia que no solo ya es muy usual, sino que ya hasta parece tonta: El viaje de los protagonistas para salvarse que pone a prueba su amor o amistad para luego presentarlos como sus propios enemigos gracias a que se dejan llevar por el impulso personal y sin reflexionar en sus decisiones para que, al final, aprendan uno sobre el otro; dejar de tomar decisiones irresponsables, vencer los miedos o inseguridades propias y que la relación se fortalece por la distancia sino por la voluntad. No considero ésto un spoiler, pues son tantas las veces en las que los estudios cuasi monopólicos nos han presentado esta trayectoria. Tampoco estoy molesto, repito, el ingenio de la película está en que supo colocar una sátira bien realizada en un mal montaje, lo disfruté, pero no negaré que sin ese lado cómico, probablemente me hubiera enojado. En fin.
Visualmente tampoco hay mucho espectáculo, pero sí mucho mercado. La animación de Walt Disney Animation Studios ha evolucionado inmensamente, y podrá no tener las mismas habilidades y valores que Pixar, pero nadie podrá dudar de su esfuerzo. Sin embargo una parte de mi quiere ser suficientemente cruel como para decirles "Oigan, dejen de animar, hay quienes lo están haciendo mucho mejor, ayúdenles. O sorpréndanos. Hagan algo increíble e imprevisto que se gane el respeto de su público. Pero si se quedan en medio, estarán condenados a ser parte de un tumulto gigantesco de ideales imposibles de ubicar e innecesarios de recordar; la otra parte de mi prefiere solo ser indiferente a su existencia.
En resumidas cuentas, Ralph Breaks The Internet es un juguete de cereal. Si escoges al cereal por el juguete, entonces el producto está haciendo algo mal. Pero vean el lado positivo, ¡lanza agüita! (el juguete).
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
YoloSwag4DogeMar 6, 2019
Overall I quite enjoyed this movie, but I found Ralph's obsessiveness to be too extreme and consequentially off putting. His compulsive desire to control the kid is outright abusive and the 180 he does at the end is so abrupt that it portraysOverall I quite enjoyed this movie, but I found Ralph's obsessiveness to be too extreme and consequentially off putting. His compulsive desire to control the kid is outright abusive and the 180 he does at the end is so abrupt that it portrays the extent of his unhealthy infatuation, (and manipulativeness), as an easily corrected misstep. In reality it's the kind of toxic behavior that'd warrant a cessation of their relationship in order for Ralph to work out his issues. I get that it's a kids movie, but the way they present Ralph's behavior imbues the movie with an insidious message that abusive behavior like Ralph's isn't as big of a deal as it really is in an actual relationship. They could've made conflict out of a less intense issue. Unfortunately, the climax, (based around Ralph's obsessiveness), really soured an otherwise impressive movie for me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TrevorsViewDec 27, 2018
Since first getting a Facebook account on August 2008, immediately before sophomore year of high school, my social media history has been an interesting one as it helped me tremendously with friendships. With ten years’ worth experience inSince first getting a Facebook account on August 2008, immediately before sophomore year of high school, my social media history has been an interesting one as it helped me tremendously with friendships. With ten years’ worth experience in the communal web, I can easily say Ralph Breaks the Internet can barely understand friendship, nor decide whether it prefers to sustain friendships in person or over technology. While there’s a place for it, the internet is also an easy place to start heated pointless arguments over whether Angelina Jolie or Alicia Vikander portrayed Lara Croft better.

The problem is that this mega surface-level feature celebrates the fake glory of the impersonal digital saturation, giving greater development to the flat Disney princesses amplified by the trailers. The lack of real characterizations is covered up by blaring Demi Lovato’s “Let it Go“ rendition for the kids and throwing around pop culture gags for the parents. It isn’t always successful however, as some jokes, such as one 1960s Batman transition into princess pajamas, may bore parents with the inconsistent personality, while other pieces of dated media will confuse kids ten years from now. Other efforts to satisfy everyone with an otherwise fun musical number is less imaginative than any Disney classic readily available on Amazon Prime.

While both Vanellope and Ralph do wind up tarnishing each other’s wobbly story arcs, everyone behind the microphones still express a new immersive side to social media, packed with one climactic animation achievement after another. While constant, the modern trends are still utilized to the best of the directors’ ability to push the plot forward, most effectively being the realistic graphics of modern online games that promise money. It sounds exactly how a civilized internet city would sound, including a “Which Disney Princess Are You” personality test interpreted as a game show, alongside some lickity-split live auctions at eBay. In between, the terrific Taraji P. Hensen, voice of the dysfunctional head running BuzzTube’s algorithms, graces the ears. It makes me anxious to see what LinkedIn would look like!

These clever setups are all used to say that blocky video games ought to fear the internet, like how any common experience on Facebook starts wonderous, then defies expectations after going deeper. It’s demonstrated by Ralph and Vanellope’s first cheery impressions past the WiFi, the scariest the public web gets being a couple of Stormtrooper guards inside Oh My Disney dot com. Needed humanity furiously breathes in the always happy static web, particularly an “Ask Groot Anything” panel that even then isn’t nearly as hilarious as a post-credit scene that serves as a punchline to various humans controlling these tacky cube-headed avatars. With that level of passion in creativity, it’s forgivable that Disney fails to point out more of their own princess clichés without briefly embracing some racist stereotypes.

Now, just one last tidbit of praise before getting to the meat of this movie’s issue: Sarah Silverman’s adorable liveliness as Vanellope allows the sweet moments between her and Ralph to shine, especially when she starts nervously glitching. It contrasts Bill Hader’s quickly paced newspaper boy voice of a spam bot, which is just one of many details that springs the vast world to glowing life.

Okay now, back to my Facebook account, I would still be lost today without its convenience of helping me acquire better interpersonal sympathy. Hence, my understanding of people far surpasses how these screenwriters understood the logic of their script, which I would argue even matches the logic of that weird 1993 live action Super Mario Bros. adaptation. For the sake of plot convenience, Vanellope successfully drives a new car for the very first time, a level of carelessness that removes depth from the newer characters. Not to mention Disney’s familiar emotional beats are here without any genuine screenwriting risks taken.

Laws seem pretty loosey-goosey around the world of Ralph and Vanellope’s arcade, with the sole security between them and the WiFi being a few police lines. Heck, the whole reason the two must go into the web in the first place is because the Sugar Rush track drove itself, causing the wheel to break, a fracture that has never happened before in the history of arcade games. There’s also a virus creator with a tumor-twin who becomes a butt for predictable tumor puns, and can simply conjure up viruses on a whim; shouldn’t dangerous virtual threats then happen more frequently? While we’re at discussion about our own world, which seems to be the subject of this movie, how is it Wreck-It Ralph doesn’t exist… yet all other Disney properties do? Somebody please explain the confusion!
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
DenXJul 11, 2019
They already did a terrible job on the first movie trying to build a video-game based world and here it's just the same with internet. It's just a cameo-fest with no purpose and terrible storytelling.
Why chose such particular subjects and
They already did a terrible job on the first movie trying to build a video-game based world and here it's just the same with internet. It's just a cameo-fest with no purpose and terrible storytelling.
Why chose such particular subjects and not use it at all just to end up in all this cheesy old fashioned Disney crap ?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HappyspellingApr 18, 2019
It wasn't a bad movie, but when compared to the amazing first movie, this one is an embarrasement...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
bataguilaMay 6, 2019
No da risa, el unico personaje chistoso e sun ojon chiquito, todo lo demas apesar de ser caricatura es bien absurdo y pasa por que si, las princesas solo salen para hacer reir de manera boba
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PepsiJamieDec 10, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not sure what all the fuss is about. Ralph Breaks The Internet was average at best. The repetitive apologizing was just too much for me. Sarah Silverman and Gal Gadot were the highlight of this movie. In fact, leave out Ralph and give Vanellope and Shank their own flick, that would be a much better adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MironCrane22Feb 20, 2019
This is 64/100, I love the first original movie, it was pretty good, but this sequel it’s not horrible, but a little mediocre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Magpie1991Dec 6, 2018
Ralph Breaks The Internet is an enjoyable sequel bringing back many of our most loved characters from the original, but also featuring a large number of brand references which left certain parts of the film feeling bloated. While some wereRalph Breaks The Internet is an enjoyable sequel bringing back many of our most loved characters from the original, but also featuring a large number of brand references which left certain parts of the film feeling bloated. While some were plot related, other aspects played like advertisements, in particular, the segments featuring other Disney characters. Though Ralph Breaks The Internet has a lot more heart, at times I had flashbacks to "The Emoji Movie" where brand awareness took a prominent role. While it would have been difficult to create an internet world without brands like Twitter or Amazon, their presence left me wondering "Are kids really using eBay?" and "Why are they using a generic video sharing site when Youtube is a thing?" (especially when Youtube's parent company Google is directly referenced in the movie).

Despite these flaws, the plot flowed well, and taught important lessons about friendship, letting go, and overcoming jealousy. While many sequels feel the need to tread the same path as the first instalment, this movie is not afraid to walk new ground. Well acted throughout with good use of humour and emotion especially during the latter half of the movie.

In summary, a light-hearted and entertaining movie that is well worth a watch, but features a little too much gratuitous product placement to keep the pace it desperately needed to compete with its predecessor. 6/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Iann22Mar 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They didn't break the internet but the relationship between Ralph and Vanellope. Didn't expect such an miserable ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SteprockMay 23, 2019
Dreary and wandering, I'm pretty sure this film is an ad for YouTube that ends up praising scammers and pop-up ads. Yaaay.

Literally the only moment worth watching here is the bit with the princesses. The rest of it just undoes the progress
Dreary and wandering, I'm pretty sure this film is an ad for YouTube that ends up praising scammers and pop-up ads. Yaaay.

Literally the only moment worth watching here is the bit with the princesses. The rest of it just undoes the progress of the first film while engaging in "in" jokes and memes that haven't been current for a good long while. If you want blinking lights to entertain the kids, I guess they'll like this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews