A24 | Release Date: July 3, 2019
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 370 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
59
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
loadingrandeJul 4, 2019
saw it 2 times and i can now say - perfectly written, perfectly acted, perfectly directed, perfect cinematography. it's an instant classic, my favorite movie of the year, probably my favorite since Call Me By Your Name - and i've though a lotsaw it 2 times and i can now say - perfectly written, perfectly acted, perfectly directed, perfect cinematography. it's an instant classic, my favorite movie of the year, probably my favorite since Call Me By Your Name - and i've though a lot about this and i've decided that thos one is my new favorite horror film. has aot of details so i recommend watching it more than once. but it's really perfect Expand
16 of 43 users found this helpful1627
All this user's reviews
10
EduardoMoyaOct 5, 2019
A unique experience. I was in a trance the whole movie, absorbed by this weird world and what it made me feel. At the end of the movie I wasn’t thinking about the story or plot or characters,I was just thinking how it made me feel and it wasA unique experience. I was in a trance the whole movie, absorbed by this weird world and what it made me feel. At the end of the movie I wasn’t thinking about the story or plot or characters,I was just thinking how it made me feel and it was great (I didn't sleep well that night, tho). On the technical side, composition, cinematography and art are amazing, Audio wrap it all. Best movie 2019 in my opinion. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
WD7335Jul 17, 2019
This movie might be too smart for the average viewer. Most people who said it was unnecessarily gory or that the violence was too random don’t understand what they are observing. While not a documentary by any means, it was a movieThis movie might be too smart for the average viewer. Most people who said it was unnecessarily gory or that the violence was too random don’t understand what they are observing. While not a documentary by any means, it was a movie interpretation of a belief system that really existed. It’s a pretty solid interpretation of pre-Christian Scandinavian beliefs and customs. Maybe a little extreme compared to modern sensibilities, but not fantastical at all. Even the Swedish friend said “we only do this every 90 years”. I was invited to the movie because someone said I would like it. (I studied culturaI anthropology) I had absolutely no idea what the movie was about. By the name I knew it likely took place in Sweden. That’s it. About five minutes into them arriving at the commune, I said “those aren’t hippies, those are vikings”. I think that is where people that didn’t like the movie got lost. The movie was about the modern view of life, love, and loss compared to an interpretation of how they were viewed hundreds of years ago. Look up the term cultural relativism. There is more to it than that, but I think that is the part that is sailing way over a lot of people’s heads. I really enjoyed the “what if that culture had survived into modern days” aspect of the movie. The movie was nearly perfect. I feel like the protagonists were a little too oblivious to what was going on for too long. Especially considering two were supposedly anthropology students. For the most part, my feeling is that the people that didn’t like the movie wanted more fart jokes or that the movie “needed more Spider-Man”. It was a little too artsy for some people. “Ow, my balls!” from Idiocracy might be your speed if you “didn’t get” this movie. It makes me a little sad for society when people can’t get a movie like this. A lot of study and thought went into this movie. It’s not absolutely perfect, but I definitely loved it. Expand
11 of 23 users found this helpful1112
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJul 3, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They should have added more items to the Rated-R warnings: “Massive Head Wounds, Dead Skin Mask, Forcible Bear Suit, Unconventinal Suicide (or murder) Machines.” I tend to agree with Mick LaSalle at the Chronicle – it’s really brilliant stuff, with incredibly beautiful shots, but it’s got some of the most twisted content I think I’ve ever seen. This is one of those films that if you happen to see before you’re a teenager, you’ll probably be screwed up for years. I mean, gore is one thing, but repeatedly showing you close-up gore without any notice – so you can’t avoid it – is a little cruel. All that being said, this Ari Astor sure loves his cult movies. And he ties them into the banalities of western civilization in really creative ways. Wow, that was a whopper. My open question is whether the Swedish guy who was responsible for “recruiting” the outsiders for the festival actually killed the main characters family, or whether he was simply opportunistic in reacting to the deaths. Maybe we’ll never know! Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
7
LamashtarJul 8, 2019
Not scary at all, unless you have a weak stomach. Mostly hilarious. Explicit sex and nudity, graphic gore.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Sep 25, 2019
Ari Aster excels himself now with a shocking daylight pagan experience. The 150 minutes have not any dull moment; it´s resourceful for cause shivers the viewer, specially for the score, the photography and a punching finale. A surprise ofAri Aster excels himself now with a shocking daylight pagan experience. The 150 minutes have not any dull moment; it´s resourceful for cause shivers the viewer, specially for the score, the photography and a punching finale. A surprise of autumn 2019. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
JustinJ1214Jul 18, 2019
Beautifully shot, well acted horror drama worth seeking out if you enjoy your horror with a bit more class
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
8
every1acriticJul 3, 2019
The opening sequencing of this film is especially disturbing... The cinematography is top notch, and the set design alone makes this movie worth the price of admission. The humor found in the more absurd moments was much needed. I'mThe opening sequencing of this film is especially disturbing... The cinematography is top notch, and the set design alone makes this movie worth the price of admission. The humor found in the more absurd moments was much needed. I'm personally glad these types of movies are being made, and I hope it finds enough of an appreciative audience that we get more of these types of films from A24. I certainly get why some people wouldn't care for this (although I can't see the justification of scoring this a zero), but if you read up on the traditions that some of the themes were based off then I feel like you can find an appreciation on some level. To be honest, for me I kind of want to go see this thing again because I haven't stopped thinking about it all day today. Expand
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
8
callmenoxJul 19, 2019
If you're looking for a more conventional, run-of-the-mill horror flick, you might want to skip this one. But! If you can appreciate things like amazing cinematography, acting, practical/special effects, score composition, and don't mind aIf you're looking for a more conventional, run-of-the-mill horror flick, you might want to skip this one. But! If you can appreciate things like amazing cinematography, acting, practical/special effects, score composition, and don't mind a pretty bizarre story, then this is a must-see and is easily a top contender for best horror film of the year. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Jul 4, 2019
Last summer, a little-known director by the name of Ari Aster came out of nowhere with a horror film called 'Hereditary', and in the eyes of many audiences and critics alike, he greatly revitalized the horror genre with it's effective slowLast summer, a little-known director by the name of Ari Aster came out of nowhere with a horror film called 'Hereditary', and in the eyes of many audiences and critics alike, he greatly revitalized the horror genre with it's effective slow burn and dark, ominous atmosphere. And believe it or not, while I initially panned that film upon its release, it wasn't until a couple of repeat viewings at home that I finally started to acknowledge its clever scares and genuine creepiness that I failed to recognize in it at the theater (I had the misfortune of an obnoxious audience that ruined any potential tension or scares for me, so that was likely the reason.) So I was very much looking forward to this next effort from him, which follows a young couple in the aftermath of a tragedy that makes their already rocky relationship all the more tense. Soon after, they find themselves traveling with some college friends to a summer festival in Sweden held only once every 90 years. However, upon arriving there, they start slowly but surely realizing that the people and festivities there are anything but innocent, and that they're among an evil and ritualistic cult. Wow... where do I even begin with this one? Well, I suppose I could begin by straight up saying that this film is Bizarre, with a capital B! It contains scenes and imagery that I won't soon forget, for better or worse. Furthermore, the film is quite interesting and full of unique, albeit shocking moments and ideas, and was enough to make even me cringe and squirm at times. However, like 'Hereditary', the film does burn a bit slow at two and a half hours and takes its time in terms of pacing and setup, leading me to believe that the film would deliver a bit of a bigger punch or impact by the end, but the way it went instead left me feeling slightly underwhelmed. The story also felt scattershot and random at times. However, when looked at a little deeper, it's interesting to see what it has to say about relationships, breakups, etc. and how it conveys those things. Overall, it's pretty graphic and memorable in some unique ways, but the story's a bit muddled while trying to juggle being gruesome/violent and having a fully focused story at the same time (that also has slightly mixed results in preaching the undertones of relationships and breakups.) Expand
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
7
msl555Jul 6, 2019
This movie grew on me as I had time to chew it over. I was probably at a 5 right after. One day later I'm at a seven. Who knows, by tomorrow I might be higher still.
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
Djape1992Jul 3, 2019
Go and see this movie, Something You will never see again !!! Fantastic Master-piece !!!
8 of 25 users found this helpful817
All this user's reviews
9
matthewmirlianiJul 20, 2019
A feast for the eyes and senses, Midsommar is more than it seems - from its jaw-dropping opening to its genius finale. It dives deeper than you think it would, both emotionally and cinematically, with gorgeous visuals, a strong ensemble, andA feast for the eyes and senses, Midsommar is more than it seems - from its jaw-dropping opening to its genius finale. It dives deeper than you think it would, both emotionally and cinematically, with gorgeous visuals, a strong ensemble, and a well-spun story. I thought it was simply brilliant. Expand
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
9
mr_blonde75Jul 20, 2019
I don't know what people rating this movie a 0 expected to get out of it when they walked into the theater.

The trailers were pretty apparent that this wasn't going to be a traditional horror movie.
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
9
tomcoatesJul 12, 2019
Wonderful, slow, bizarre, creepy, unsettling movie that is also exceptionally funny and asks you to do something absolutely extraordinary - gradually explore the appeal and attraction and value of lunacy and insane ritual.
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesJul 24, 2019
Some of the writing is suspect, but this film is insane and bonkers, I dug most of it.
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsJul 20, 2019
Apparently, Ari Aster wrote Midsommar after going through a bad break-up. ...Can someone please check on him and make sure he's okay? Because this is some of the most disturbing and gory film-making I have ever seen in my life.

This movie
Apparently, Ari Aster wrote Midsommar after going through a bad break-up. ...Can someone please check on him and make sure he's okay? Because this is some of the most disturbing and gory film-making I have ever seen in my life.

This movie does have some incredible cinematography and art design. Seriously, every frame is bursting off the screen. Even the gore is superbly executed. If you don't like gore, this will turn you off.

Midsommar is a very slow burning film. The story really takes its time to get weird and disturbing. Once it reaches peak horror, it will stick with you. That being said, I do think it's less accessible than even Hereditary, Aster's last movie. However, if you are a die-hard horror fan like I am, or if you really like weird horror or gore-or, then you will enjoy Midsommar.
Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
8
HashemiJul 30, 2019
It's not a Horror or scary movie actualy, but rather sad, disgusting and funny movie!
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
GrachechkovskiJul 23, 2019
This film is brilliant and I can honestly say that Ari Aster is genious like Kojima but in the cinematic. The movie has a one deep, uncovered, prescribed and dramatical story with a masterpiecable sound and horror's notes
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
9
paulhuntertenorJul 21, 2019
This is my type of movie. I went in mostly blind, only seeing the trailer once several months ago, and came out of the theater with my head spinning. Everything that I like in a movie was superbly executed: pacing, acting, casting, score,This is my type of movie. I went in mostly blind, only seeing the trailer once several months ago, and came out of the theater with my head spinning. Everything that I like in a movie was superbly executed: pacing, acting, casting, score, writing, symbolism, aesthetics, shock, foreshadowing. Ari Aster has solidified his rank as a polarizing visionary, and I'm happily in the camp of fan boy. The only reason I can't give this ten stars (well, besides the fact that I don't think I've ever loved something 100%) is due to a few moments which seemed unintentionally ham-fisted. Midsommar still succeeds, though, delivering a horrifically beautiful film with a devastating sense of the extreme. Special shoutouts to the lead actor, Florence Pugh, and to the practical effects team. Aster's sophomore slam dunk is certainly not for everyone, but for the right horror enthusiast, it's an instant classic. Bravo! Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
10
Serenityinaz12Jul 10, 2019
Best horror movie in a decade or more for me. Even better than Hereditary. It's a slow burn but there is no corney supernatural **** or jump scares, just atmosphere and at times disturbing and horrifying on a level rarely seen.
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
9
Evic21Jul 10, 2019
Even though it may lack the scares you'd expect you typical horror movie, you'll still walk out of the theater feeling unsettled and disturbed. There is truly nothing else like it. The film's eternal sunshine mixed with impending dread andEven though it may lack the scares you'd expect you typical horror movie, you'll still walk out of the theater feeling unsettled and disturbed. There is truly nothing else like it. The film's eternal sunshine mixed with impending dread and unexpected plot devices will hold your interest even if you can't see the movie as a work of art. Many will hate it, but if you give it time, you'll realize that it's an incredible feat of creativity that pushes film into richer and wilder territory. Expand
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
10
AryamanJul 3, 2019
A big improvement over Hereditary! I would say that this movie does an excellent job of leaving you with something to think about in retrospect. I was surprised at how good the movie was and I really liked the artistry of it all.
7 of 25 users found this helpful718
All this user's reviews
10
jasharkowalskiJul 21, 2019
This film is a masterpiece, in one word ! Absolutely totally different from anything an average Joe ever watched at the movies, this is as artistic as Bergman, as scary as Psycho and as funny as Discovery channel ! Beautiful photography,This film is a masterpiece, in one word ! Absolutely totally different from anything an average Joe ever watched at the movies, this is as artistic as Bergman, as scary as Psycho and as funny as Discovery channel ! Beautiful photography, intensive folk music and the creepiest atmosphere ever filmed in the movie, if YOU don't watch this movie better KILL yourself as written in the Hagra's walls ! Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
10
milkbudJul 20, 2019
I really love this movie, everything from the tiny details to the beautiful scenery to the way the scenes are shot. It really isn't a horror movie (which is how it was advertised) but it's still incredible.
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
9
FelicityFenwickJul 4, 2019
If you're into films that make you think - stuff like Upstream Color, Twin Peaks Fire Walk with Me, The Cook, The Thief, etc. - you'll be into this. It's a pretty amazing clash of cultures, and Frances Pugh is amazing in the lead role. AriIf you're into films that make you think - stuff like Upstream Color, Twin Peaks Fire Walk with Me, The Cook, The Thief, etc. - you'll be into this. It's a pretty amazing clash of cultures, and Frances Pugh is amazing in the lead role. Ari Aster is one messed up individual, but I do enjoy seeing his movies! But holy moly is this sucker bloody. Expand
7 of 26 users found this helpful719
All this user's reviews
10
PRPonyJul 8, 2019
Best movie I've seen in 20 years. Finally a movie with some originality! Don't miss this one.
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
10
AffableJul 10, 2019
Thought it was a perfect, surreal and tense movie. The movie does a great job of eliciting responses from the viewer - namely anxiety. Could really identify with some of the more psychedelic moments of the film in a way that couldn’t be doneThought it was a perfect, surreal and tense movie. The movie does a great job of eliciting responses from the viewer - namely anxiety. Could really identify with some of the more psychedelic moments of the film in a way that couldn’t be done in other films with similar themes. Expand
5 of 20 users found this helpful515
All this user's reviews
10
judahjsnJul 5, 2019
Masterful. Somehow even more inspired and assured than Hereditary. I know these films aren't for everyone but he's one of the few directors working today that gives me Kubrikian satisfaction.
5 of 22 users found this helpful517
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleJul 4, 2019
No, you won't want to see this film 3 or 4 times like a "horror" classic, but you go to the movies hoping for something unique and different - something that will challenge and surprise you - maybe disgust you. And this film delivers on allNo, you won't want to see this film 3 or 4 times like a "horror" classic, but you go to the movies hoping for something unique and different - something that will challenge and surprise you - maybe disgust you. And this film delivers on all of those fronts. It's meticulously and creatively shot, and the supporting cast feels so authentic. It feels like we've graduated from those Hostel flicks 10 years ago - torture pics - to these creepy cult flicks which feel more accomplished and mature. Absolutely worth seeing. Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
10
MateulkaJul 7, 2019
Instant classic. I know that this movie will be underrated, it is not your typical movie and definetely not a typical horror. Even if you didn't understood the meaning and brilliance behind this masterpiece, you can't deny that it isInstant classic. I know that this movie will be underrated, it is not your typical movie and definetely not a typical horror. Even if you didn't understood the meaning and brilliance behind this masterpiece, you can't deny that it is absolutely top notch from technical side. Ari Aster outdid himself. Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
8
CaptainHowdyJul 5, 2019
This movie makes a lot more sense if you look at it from the perspective of writer/director Ari Aster's own description, which is that it is a breakup film. Yes, there are some gruesome parts. Yes, sometimes the characters' decisions don'tThis movie makes a lot more sense if you look at it from the perspective of writer/director Ari Aster's own description, which is that it is a breakup film. Yes, there are some gruesome parts. Yes, sometimes the characters' decisions don't make sense. Yes, the "horror" isn't particularly gripping. Yes, the movie is deeply, deeply strange.

However, if the entire Sweden trip is taken metaphorically as the emotional journey of a woman (in this case, the protagonist Dani) who has just been dumped from a bad relationship, it comes together beautifully. She's in a strange mental place, and she has to let go of the past in order to enjoy the ample sunshine. The film takes her through the steps of grief, confusion, betrayal, commiseration, and ultimately presents her with a choice that will determine whether she is able to reconvene with the world that always existed outside of the one she built with her ex.

From this perspective, it makes sense that ALL of the members of the main group are his friends, not hers. It makes sense that their characters are all drawn a little flat, while she is easily the most complex of the whole group. It makes sense that they make uncanny decisions and choose not to see what is going on. It makes sense that they all stick around instead of hightailing it out of there once things get bad.

Definitely looking forward to a second watch for this one.
Expand
4 of 19 users found this helpful415
All this user's reviews
8
ColginatorJul 6, 2019
We're currently entering a new renaissance in horror, one which has largely been brought on by the many great filmmakers bringing their own unique voices to the genre. There's Jordan Peele who infused the genre with his own brand of socialWe're currently entering a new renaissance in horror, one which has largely been brought on by the many great filmmakers bringing their own unique voices to the genre. There's Jordan Peele who infused the genre with his own brand of social commentary in Get Out, Robert Egger's ability to explore the darker sides of human nature in The Witch and Ari Aster using the genre as a pretense to show us a dysfunctional family dynamic in Hereditary. And Aster continues to keep his horror anchored by his characters in his follow up film, Midsommar.

From the start of the film we're instantly thrown into an uncomfortable situation with Dani (Florence Pugh) and Christian (Jack Reynor) clearly living in a broken relationship. Dani fears that she has become too emotional and overbearing to him regularly calling him in tears, whilst he is just trying to find a way to easily end the relationship and is becoming more distant to her. But when she experiences a tragedy he decides that he can't leave yet and at the objections of his friends invites her to come with them on their planned trip to a Sweedish village.

When they arrive they're embraced by the locals who are about to begin a special festival celebrating life and rebirth and enjoy the scenery where there's always light which causes the days to blend in to one another. At first it seems pleasant, but very quickly this constant light switches from being beautiful to unsettling, to the point where we feel as if we're being drowned in light. It also becomes very clear that these pagan rituals are far more sinister and dangerous than they originally thought they would be and every person in the village is part of it. It's an environment similar to the Wicker Man, where there's a feeling that the threat is so encompassing that there's no way that anyone would be able to escape even if they realise they're in danger.

Ari Aster's strong attention to detail is on display throughout the film with each shot constantly conveying information to us. Shots early on are filled with so many hints as to what is to come, including a mosaic at the start of the film which seems to subtly outline the entire plot of the film. He also shows us so much through just the body language of the characters, with Christian constantly looking to the door whenever he's in the room with Dani always looking for a time to escape.

But one of my favourite touches was early on in the film during a strange drug trip a character mentions how he can feel the world around him breathing. Then throughout the rest of the film, there are moments where it feels the world around starts to move unnaturally like a lung inhaling oxygen. At times it was so subtle I wasn't sure whether it was really happening or if my eyes were just playing tricks on me.

Considering the constant sense of horror which looms over the entire film, there's also a surprising amount of humour throughout. A lot of this humour is brought in by Will Poulter, who seems to be one of the actors with an ability to improve every film he's in. Though there's also a lot of moments during the festivities where I was unsure whether it was being unintentionally funny with the film walking across that thin line between awkward humour and abject horror.

Though unlike Hereditary, which was well paced throughout with the story and character dynamics constantly evolving, the last third of this film does seem to stagnate. We already know exactly what's going to happen to these characters, but it's still stretched out by another 30 minutes of slowly going through the motions of these slow rituals. But even in the films slower moments it's still carried by Aster's distinct visual style and a fantastic lead performance from Florence Pugh, whose traumatic screams capture the same sense of complete anguish that Toni Collette did in Hereditary.

Oddly enough the film does technically have very positive undertones being a story about coming to terms with loss, understanding the cycle of life and the importance of having a strong emotional support structure. It's just that these lessons are told to us through creepy rituals and horrific acts of violence. It's a strange and unsettling film which definitely won't be for everyone, but if you're a fan of Hereditary and want another film which leaves you with a sense of dread then you should give this film a chance.
Expand
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Jul 28, 2019
Incredible film on every level. Disturbing, heart wrenching, blackly comic at times and uncompromising in it's brutality. So much so that I'm even weary of watching it again and stomaching some of that imagery. In a way that's my only gripe.Incredible film on every level. Disturbing, heart wrenching, blackly comic at times and uncompromising in it's brutality. So much so that I'm even weary of watching it again and stomaching some of that imagery. In a way that's my only gripe. I have a tolerance for those things too. But I won't mark it down for that. The brutality is completely in line with the narrative and it's not gratuitous for the sake of it. Masterful stuff. And that music....man. Don't listen to the negative reviews. Sure you may hate it, but give it a go. It's looks to me like one of those films people will either love or hate, a bit like Hereditary. It's always the case when a Director is more of a visionary. People struggle a bit with stuff outside of the norm. Sure it's influenced in part by the Wickerman. But it's so much more. It's really an unflinching and accurate portrayal of how how cults indoctrinate new recruits. Educational stuff if you can concentrate and read between the lines. Expand
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
9
rlovellJul 25, 2019
Midsommar is a very well-executed slow burn of a horror movie. Ari Aster shows he is a up and coming master at his craft with this movie.
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
7
Bertaut1Jul 24, 2019
Poorly advertised as something it isn't; will frustrate and impress in equal measure

Much like his debut, Hereditary (2018), writer/director Ari Aster's Midsommar has been well received by critics but not so much by audiences. And, really,
Poorly advertised as something it isn't; will frustrate and impress in equal measure

Much like his debut, Hereditary (2018), writer/director Ari Aster's Midsommar has been well received by critics but not so much by audiences. And, really, it's not hard to see why; both were disingenuously promoted as horrors, drawing in audiences who were disappointed they didn't get what they were expecting. Whereas Hereditary was a study of grief, it did have horror elements, but in Midsommar, there's little resembling a horror trope. Whereas Hereditary dealt with emotional pain, Midsommar is more interested in what happens when the initial pain of bereavement starts to wear off. And whilst the characters are underwritten, and it's painfully predictable, it's beautifully crafted, brilliantly shot in glaring sunlight, and vastly ambitious. And much like Us (2019), it avoids the sophomore slump without knocking it out of the park.

When Dani (Florence Pugh) suffers an unimaginable tragedy, she turns for support to her boyfriend Christian (Jack Reynor), unaware that he finds her overly needy, and wants to break up. The following summer, she learns that he and his friends Josh (William Jackson Harper) and Mark (Will Poulter) have been invited by Swedish student Pelle (Vilhelm Blomgren) to his ancestral pagan commune in Hårga, where a midsummer celebration that occurs once every ninety years will be taking place. Dani joins the group, but it doesn't take long to learn that something isn't right in the commune.

According to Aster, Midsommar is really a breakup movie, and in this sense, Christian is a classic manipulator; after Dani learns about the trip, she's upset that he didn't tell her, but he manipulates her into apologising to him. The core of the story is Dani slowly coming to realise that he isn't the man she thought he was, and in this sense, it's primarily an allegory for the process of a young woman's emotional awakening. Indeed, one can read the character names as symbolic; Dani Ardor is denied love, and in the paganism of the commune, she's offered something she can't get from a self-serving Christian(ity).

Aesthetically, the film looks terrific. Whereas the US scenes are dark and confined, taking place in small poorly lit rooms with the characters wearing drab costumes, once the film shifts to Sweden, Henrik Svensson's production design emphasises an open-plan vastness, Pawel Pogorzelski's cinematography drenches everything in glaring sunlight, and Andrea Flesch's costume design focuses on brilliant white.

There are also some nice individual moments. For example, the choral singing with which the film begins is harshly interrupted by a telephone ringing, suggesting the clash between tradition and modernity; a superb single-take shot takes Dani from heading to her apartment bathroom to entering the bathroom of an airplane; a high altitude shot showing a car travelling along a country road is imbued with malevolent undercurrent as the car passes under the camera, and the camera follows it by turning downwards, ending up upside-down.

As for the acting, Midsommar belongs entirely to Pugh. For most of the film, she's on the precipice of a nervous breakdown, with her performance redolent of Shelley Duval in The Shining (1980). This is easily her best and most layered performance thus far, especially the gamut of contradictory emotions she runs in the last 20 minutes. As Christian, Reynor does do a decent job of getting the audience to loathe his passive-aggressive persona. Poulter plays Mark as the kind of ignorant sex-crazed loudmouth that seems to only exist in the movies. As Josh, Harper barely registers, whilst Blomgren's Pelle is so obviously untrustworthy that it pushes suspension of disbelief to breaking point.

As this might suggest, one of the biggest problems is the underwritten characters. Another issue is that even aside from Pelle, the film pushes suspension of disbelief too far. There are multiple moments when the goings-on should prompt the visitors to leave immediately, but they repeatedly accept the most ridiculous of situations based upon the most tenuous of explanations. In a lot of ways, they're no different from the idiots who get picked off one by one in so many cheap slasher films. Additionally, there are few surprises here. Aster is obviously a big fan of folk horror, especially The Wicker Man (1973), but he allows reverence to the tropes supersede narrative inventiveness, leading to predictability.

That said, however, I did enjoy Midsommar. Aesthetically impressive, and built on a terrific central performance, Aster's mastery of tone sees him through. The script could use some work, but the ominous sense of dread is palpable throughout and the depiction of a toxic relationship is penetrating and emotionally honest. Unnerving and audacious, Midsommar is an exceptionally confident piece of filmmaking, if not necessarily an exceptional piece of filmmaking.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
7
ImaginaryCriticJul 28, 2019
I liked Hereditary so I thought I'd give Ari Aster my support. 'Midsommar' was pretty good in my opinion. The violence and disturbance was there for sure. There isn't much to say about this film just the fact that its strange and weird. ButI liked Hereditary so I thought I'd give Ari Aster my support. 'Midsommar' was pretty good in my opinion. The violence and disturbance was there for sure. There isn't much to say about this film just the fact that its strange and weird. But also very eye opening and I like that. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
9
shpostalJul 8, 2019
Another film by Ari Aster, his second actually that follows on the heels of "Hereditary", one of the most truly creepy movies about quasi-religious practices, and takes us to a very remote Swedish village that annoyingly to me and hence oneAnother film by Ari Aster, his second actually that follows on the heels of "Hereditary", one of the most truly creepy movies about quasi-religious practices, and takes us to a very remote Swedish village that annoyingly to me and hence one star deduction is completely out of the public and law enforcement eye, where the people are free to carry on a very strange Pagan (i.e., not Christian) religious ceremony that turns gruesome and macabre as the film progresses. After losing her family in a terrible suicide/murder, the heroine is taken along on supposedly a vacation/field trip with friends working on ph.d thesis' and one a resident of this weird community. And it doesn't take long to see where this is going. Anybody who has ever read the legendary short story by Shirley Jackson "The Lottery" will immediately relate that horror tale with the premise of "Midsommer". Aster seems genuinely interested in Pagan lore and their various religions and rituals. That in itself is interesting. But inevitable questions of mind control, the ability to resist or escape surface quickly and are not really addressed. Nonetheless, the film allows the story to progress without pesky law enforcement ever wondering about disappearances of some of the "volunteers" the villagers "pick" for the ceremonies for a good harvest and whatever else at a really gruesome climax. But it can be viewed as a cautionary tale. People are infamous for cognitive dissonance capabilities, and here it's especially strong. But it applies to religion as well as politics and other forms of mass mental control of the species as well, as impressionable and naturally frightened and/or gullible seek solace and comfort in artificial constructs, and with the mental block necessary to achieve the effects desired allow themselves to be programmed into perfect participants in a myriad of social activities. "Midsommar" is a very black sometimes even very darkly humored film that will appeal to those who like having their minds played with for a few hours, but could come across as deeply disturbing to others. But it's splendidly acted, the scenery beautiful and a good addition to people who like their horror to be of the mind melting type as opposed to cliched idiotic slasher flicks. Expand
3 of 17 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Jul 9, 2019
First of all, this film is two-hours and twenty-seven-minutes and for the first hour you don’t really feel the time but towards the end, you could definitely feel it as it starts to drag on. I will admit that all of the scenes in this filmFirst of all, this film is two-hours and twenty-seven-minutes and for the first hour you don’t really feel the time but towards the end, you could definitely feel it as it starts to drag on. I will admit that all of the scenes in this film were necessary for the film but just dragged on far too long. This could be because the director, Ari Aster, wanted to show off the sets but it still doesn’t need to be that long. I will say though that all of the sets were gorgeous, and you could tell the set designers got to have fun with this movie. This film only takes place in one location which without good set design would get boring after a bit but because everything was beautiful to look at, I didn’t mind. Also, the cinematography was outstanding in this film. You can easily see in both of Ari Aster’s films that he really cares about cinematography and how it can help show the story and change the way people feel. I will say there are some cool transition techniques that were used in this film to help change from one location to the next. Now, I’m not going to roast the actors because it’s obvious that they all were giving it their all in this movie but at the same time I just couldn’t get invested into these characters at all. They all pretty much seemed like the exact same character trait just changed slightly a bit. But really throughout the entire film, they just remained that same flat kind of character. In the end, this film may not have been for me but for others, it might be worth checking out. At least watch clips of it to see the stunning scenery and cinematography. Expand
3 of 17 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
10
dcstonesJul 28, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worth it just for the incredible set design but also the sound design, costume, special effects. The artists, stylists and craftspeople must have absolutely loved working on this film. I left the cinema feeling like I shared the psilocybin trips with the cast and it took a few hours to get back to normal. I can’t understand how anyone could say this film was an irretrievable waste of 2 1/2 hours of their lives. The story, themes and imagery were incredibly rich with allusions and meaning to everything from contemporary pop culture to biodynamics to a Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
10
Exlee3000Jul 9, 2019
I had to create an account to combat some of the absurd reviews. First off if you thought this movie was long or slow. Then you have the attention span of a caffeinated gerbil and should probably switch to decaf. It was a perfectly pacedI had to create an account to combat some of the absurd reviews. First off if you thought this movie was long or slow. Then you have the attention span of a caffeinated gerbil and should probably switch to decaf. It was a perfectly paced movie imo. You needed all the stuff in the first 3rd of the movie to happen to explain why Dani would be susceptible to the cult's intentions. The movie was intentionally darkly humorous in places and yes you were meant to laugh. To those in the commenters who think they are groovy know it all movie bluffs and that this is just a wicker man RIP off. Ignore them. This movie has plenty of Original ideas. Overall the movie is super well done but gruesome in some parts. Also the soundtrack was perfect. Dont miss this movie! Expand
4 of 27 users found this helpful423
All this user's reviews
9
SWM5814Jul 28, 2019
Horror as fulfillment. The two leads give themselves over to precisely the things that consume them whole. That almost all of the movie is in daylight only makes it more unsettling. Not a perfect movie - the dueling doctoral theses, designedHorror as fulfillment. The two leads give themselves over to precisely the things that consume them whole. That almost all of the movie is in daylight only makes it more unsettling. Not a perfect movie - the dueling doctoral theses, designed as a metaphor, are still annoying - but an experience so realized, it'll be panned. A lot. Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
10
groptimumSep 16, 2019
This is simply a very powerful, masterfully made film, from a writer/director that has an astoundingly sure vision and command of all aspects of filmmaking. The setting, cinematography, shot choices, acting, writing and music / set pieces areThis is simply a very powerful, masterfully made film, from a writer/director that has an astoundingly sure vision and command of all aspects of filmmaking. The setting, cinematography, shot choices, acting, writing and music / set pieces are impressive and the whole thing really packs a punch. I didn't even know anything about the film when I chanced it at an arthouse pub/theater in Phoenix AZ and I was knocked right out of my seat. I'm not normally a "horror" guy but this movie is so smart, fierce, honestly suspenseful, weird and meticulously made- I told a bunch of friends to please go see it. People who are knocking any aspects of this film- I don't know what world of mindblowing masterpieces they're used to seeing in the theaters to make this one not great. It is super unique and undeniably powerful. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
artardmosheaJan 2, 2020
I think the idea that these people would be so afraid of offending a foreign culture that they fail to notice obvious danger; that's really the only way this movie works and if you can buy that, then you'll enjoy the movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TrentReyAug 1, 2019
A very well written-directed movie by the director, Ari Aster. It's a very strange movie that you might not make sense until the very end of it. There are so many little details in the production design that the audience has to pay attentionA very well written-directed movie by the director, Ari Aster. It's a very strange movie that you might not make sense until the very end of it. There are so many little details in the production design that the audience has to pay attention to in order to fully understand the movie. The cinematography in this film is very beautiful and strange at times. The audience might notice that some scenes might be a little over-exposed. The style of the cinematography fits the story well. The music for this film is amazing. The Haxan Cloak did an amazing job of scoring this film. Going into this movie the audience may not know about the main actress, Florence Pugh, but after the movie end, the audience will want to see her in more films. She did an amazing job of playing Dani in this movie. Overall, there isn't much to dislike about this movie. It's suspenseful, thrilling, funny a few times, and strangely scary. Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
7
TejasNairOct 3, 2019
Ari Aster's Midsommar (Midsummer) is weird, wild, outrageous, and straight-off bang-on film material (about a couple's deteriorating relationship narrated through an atmospheric setting set in a green valley off Sweden) that you watch withAri Aster's Midsommar (Midsummer) is weird, wild, outrageous, and straight-off bang-on film material (about a couple's deteriorating relationship narrated through an atmospheric setting set in a green valley off Sweden) that you watch with your partner before going to bed and then schedule a debate with them the following morning about the rationale of joining a pagan cult based in Western Europe and if the world really needs religion at all. TN. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
bartcbemSep 26, 2019
Just like in the case of Hereditary, creators went in to great length in to researching the source material. Movie if fantastic, beautifully shot, with great acting and fantastic soundtrack. Again, just like with the Hereditary, if you dontJust like in the case of Hereditary, creators went in to great length in to researching the source material. Movie if fantastic, beautifully shot, with great acting and fantastic soundtrack. Again, just like with the Hereditary, if you dont fully understand the source, you can easily miss just how much detail is in this film. Eagerly awaiting third movie from this creator. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
egoBorderOct 11, 2019
This movie depends entirely on your willingness to be hypnotized. If you are willing, the movie is a great horror slow-burn. If not, this will likely come off as pretentious crap. Still coulda lost 15 minutes somewhere, but fans of thisThis movie depends entirely on your willingness to be hypnotized. If you are willing, the movie is a great horror slow-burn. If not, this will likely come off as pretentious crap. Still coulda lost 15 minutes somewhere, but fans of this kind of horror will want more not less. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeAug 27, 2019
It is another home run by Aster with his unique filmmaking style, the misinterpreted celebration is the key to this film.

Midsommar Aster makes horror real. While other filmmakers, other films are desperately trying to fantasize about this
It is another home run by Aster with his unique filmmaking style, the misinterpreted celebration is the key to this film.

Midsommar

Aster makes horror real. While other filmmakers, other films are desperately trying to fantasize about this beloved concept, Aster is never into that make-believe attitude while dealing with his content. It could be a documentary and you wouldn't know the difference. And this concept, the bizarrely head spinning idea that the writer and director, Ari Aster has dug out is something he values above all. And you can see that easily on both of his films. Even in his debut film Hereditary, Aster keeps the philosophized idea of his above any other character or the world they live in. And if you think about it, THAT is scary.

For an audience responds to characters. They are constantly looking for an image of themselves within these array of characters listed in the film. They are ready to give in, on even the least amount of empathy oozed by any of those bodies floating around. Aster understands this completely and hence hands over that box of chocolate within the first act of the film. Then, the sadistic language of his starts running soon after you get comfortable.

For this host that you are investing in, the box of chocolate that you have just received, is never given any opportunity to redeem itself. You are left not only dissatisfied but vulnerable. The movie experience that you went out to have is what actually is terrifying, now. All you can do is just experience it. And that very dissatisfaction is satisfying. He brings alive the horror genre that he claims. No 3d, no special effects, pure visual storytelling at its best. Aster also makes annoyance his ammo to torture us. Little things like a cry or a scream, sung in unison or in high pitches, in the middle of the day, in Midsommar, contradicting the environment, the behavior is rude and non-social, not particularly odd.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Hugi09Aug 4, 2019
Hyper bizarre !!! Trop chelou ce film mais intéressant. Je suis assez partagé mais les acteurs sont quand même parfait alors...
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
8
LajaleaaOct 7, 2019
"You're gonna love it."
.
( 87/100 ) . Ari Aster es innegable, promesa visionaria, maestro y poeta singular. Personalmente le tengo cierto disgusto a la película. La experiencia es realmente magistral, reveladora y siniestra. Aster es un amo
"You're gonna love it."
.
( 87/100 )
.
Ari Aster es innegable, promesa visionaria, maestro y poeta singular.
Personalmente le tengo cierto disgusto a la película. La experiencia es realmente magistral, reveladora y siniestra. Aster es un amo de la voz visual y usa la geometría, la semiotica, la simbología, la psicología, antropología y un sin fin de elementos para construir cada una de sus tomas y nutrir el progreso de la película. Es hermoso, magnifico y un ver para creer. ¿Pero porqué el disgusto? Porque es prohibido. Tanto narrativa como visualmente se desarrolla y explora una cultura con practicas polémicas y ajenas a la moral común, tan bien producidas, que no es difícil que el público tenga un sentimiento de participación y presencia dentro del film: Al ver la película sentí que entré a la catedral más hermosa e interesante de mi vida, la cual incidentalmente resultó ser una iglesia satánica. Ver tanta sangre, el olor de las drogas y vapores, los cánticos nauseabundos, las pinturas tétricas y el lúgubre sol que cae imparable sobre un ritual enfermizo me hizo salir mareado y con pocas ganas de volverla a ver. Si lo hago sería para estudiarla mejor y en contra de mi voluntad. Hay tanto que rescatar, revisar y admirar, pero el precio puede ser un agobio tan grande e intenso como su belleza.
A excepción de Florence Pugh, que actúa con talento, el cast principal es algo mediocre, pero el verdadero valor dramático está en la comunidad, pues el elenco comparte y expresa el alma de la cultura con unidad y fortaleza. Ari también capta las varias capas visuales de su universo y permite que la música, que también sorprende, sea un elemento visible en el escenario. "Midsommar" no es tan excelente como "Hereditary" (2018), y no es difícil notar las coincidencias narrativas que agilizan las cosas aunque provoquen cierta disonancia, pero es un ejercicio de cinematografía que te reta a considerar que "si no sientes cuan hermoso es este horror, entonces no estas sintiendo con el corazón".
-
Ari Aster is undeniable, visionary promise, singular master and poet.
Personally, I kind of dislike the movie. The experience is truly masterly, revealing and sinister. Aster is a lord of the visual voice and uses geometry, semiotic, symbology, psychology, anthropology and an endless list of elements to build each one of his takes and feed the progress of the movie. It's beautiful, magnificent and a see to believe. But why the dislike? Because it's prohibited. Narratively and visually there's a culture being explored with polemic and alien practices to the global moral, so well produced, that is difficult that the public doesn't share a sense of participation and presence inside the movie. While seeing the movie I felt like going into the most beautiful and interesting cathedral of my life, which incidentally turned out to be satanic. Seeing that much blood, the smell of the drugs and the steam, the nauseating sings, the dismal paintings and the baleful sun that falls unstoppable over a sickening ritual made me exit dizzy and with little intentions of watching it again. If I do it, it would be to study it again and against my will. There's so much to rescue, investigate and admire, but the price can be a burden as big and intense as its beauty.
Excluding Florence Pugh, who acts with talent, the main cast is kind of mediocre, but the real dramatic value is in the community since the cast shares and expresses the soul of the culture with unity and strength. Ari also captures the several layers of his universe and allows the music, which is also surprising, to be a visible element in the scenery. "Midsommar" might not be as excellent as "Hereditary" (2018), and is not difficult to notice the narrative coincidences that speed up things even if they induce some dissonance, but it's a cinematography exercise that challenges you to consider that "if you don't get to feel how beautiful is this horror, then you’re not feeling with your heart".
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ThatFilmGuy20Oct 7, 2019
Midsommer is a beautiful exercise in madness. It takes you on a carefully selected mind trip that will envoke a spectrum of emotion out of you, and it is both weirdly satisfying and disturbing at the same time. Although the story is patchyMidsommer is a beautiful exercise in madness. It takes you on a carefully selected mind trip that will envoke a spectrum of emotion out of you, and it is both weirdly satisfying and disturbing at the same time. Although the story is patchy here and there, it makes for an excellent narrative that is both piercing and poignant, Ari does a great job of creating a looming evil feeling without being over the top, which I loved a lot.

Midsommer is of course not for everyone, but it is a beautiful work that thinks differently and feels very refreshing, I loved it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
UncleWillardOct 7, 2019
I loved it. Its beautifully shot and soul crushingly tragic, but also funny and shocking in unexpected ways. I adored Florence Pugh before I saw this, and it only cements my appreciation for her. I rewatch very few movies, especially so soonI loved it. Its beautifully shot and soul crushingly tragic, but also funny and shocking in unexpected ways. I adored Florence Pugh before I saw this, and it only cements my appreciation for her. I rewatch very few movies, especially so soon after the first viewing, but was happy to rewatch this. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MasadaAug 9, 2019
Ari Aster is the master of horror. Not only does he know how to make a bright spring day feel haunted and creepy, he's an expert at bending space and time for his transitions. It will be a while before something catches me off guard like thisAri Aster is the master of horror. Not only does he know how to make a bright spring day feel haunted and creepy, he's an expert at bending space and time for his transitions. It will be a while before something catches me off guard like this movie did. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
7
PhilipBlakeOct 10, 2019
2000 Maniacs meets The Wicker Man. Very well done and directed even if the story and events are really predictable and some passages are relatively boring. Overall a enjoyable experience and deserves to be seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FlixReviewsAug 4, 2019
Splendid and beautifully made, this cinematic wonder is a worthy follow up to Ari Aster's Hereditary. Balancing geniune horror with modern "in your face" unsettling horror, this film is powered by Florence Pugh's wonderful performance thatSplendid and beautifully made, this cinematic wonder is a worthy follow up to Ari Aster's Hereditary. Balancing geniune horror with modern "in your face" unsettling horror, this film is powered by Florence Pugh's wonderful performance that will leave a lasting mark on the horror genre, as Ari Aster rises to the occasion with another hit. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
8
MarshallCavalliAug 15, 2019
After watching Hereditary, I was curious to know what was to come next. Boy, was I amazed. Midsommar is the story of Dani, a young woman who's friend killed her own parents and committing suicide by carbon monoxide poisoning. Her grief hasAfter watching Hereditary, I was curious to know what was to come next. Boy, was I amazed. Midsommar is the story of Dani, a young woman who's friend killed her own parents and committing suicide by carbon monoxide poisoning. Her grief has manifested with in herself as she tries to get over it. But when her boyfriend is going to Sweden to experience the midsommar festival in a local commune, which happens every 90 years. Look, before I say anymore, I must preface this by saying that you should see this film. It is fantastic. No seriously it is. It is one of the best films of the year. I will avoid spoilers if possible, but I make no promises.

With that said, there are some problems I personally have with the film as a whole. The script needed to be tighter, just like with Hereditary. There are some extremely goofy lines that shouldn't been in there. Most of them come from the character of Mark, played by the fantastic Will Poulter. Others just are tonally dissonant, such as the Austin Powers line. Moments of this film reminded me of Hereditary and it has a tenuous connection of loss and how one can deal with it. Ari Aster should have connected them in theme, to give the film an interesting dichotomy of loss of a family member versus a loss of a friend and how that can affect a person and their life. While the acting is phenomenal, the camera and direction feels at times meandering. Struggling to conclude in the last stretch of the feature. The first half was great and built tension, so why go in such a different direction than what was started. It isn't that it comes completely out of left field, but I don't see why you should end it the way it does. There is a scene in the film that will shock you very early on, when the older characters have to a ritual that will shock the protagonists. To me, I started to notice that he was making more of a exploitive angle to what he's trying to do. I don't mind personally, because I love movies that are provocative such as Caligula, Death Race 2000, and Antichrist. For this film, it doesn't work with the tone its trying to set. This is a serious art house horror film that deals with cults, do we really need close ups of the aftermath?

Say what you want about Natural Born Killers, the tone was all over the place and made sense to have a random animated sequence in the film. Midsommar is far better than that, but the tone is crucial to making a horror film work or any other type of film for that matter. Midsommar is an excellent feature by Ari Aster, with stellar performances and production behind it making it great. But it honestly needed another writer to make the story grounded in reality, some minor editing choices changed and a tone correction would give the film an iconic status as one of the greats. As it is, this film is excellent and you should see it.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
zerochaSep 20, 2019
Stunning, bright and overwhelming.
Midsommar has messed up with my sleep, it really gets under your skin as you start questioning traditions and customs.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
CristoParadoSep 21, 2019
A gloriously disturbing juxtaposition of religions and their influence on the societies derived from them, of the rural and the urban, of sustainability and consumerism, of resistance and surrender, of the male and the female principles, ofA gloriously disturbing juxtaposition of religions and their influence on the societies derived from them, of the rural and the urban, of sustainability and consumerism, of resistance and surrender, of the male and the female principles, of the beast and the human, of disdain and reverence, of the new and the archaic. A tale that disturbs both with its imagery and the thoughts it provokes, the notions it challenges. A long, excruciating movie that invites the audience to ask themselves who’s really sane and really right. Those looking for cheap scares will hate it, those looking to get really scared and stimulated will love it. A wonder. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Alonso_123Sep 24, 2019
Ari Aster Te introduce a la Aldea contándote una brutalidad de la manera más hermosa te hace sentir bien con todo lo que hacen, pero nada está bien lo ves en la cara de ella al final
Una completa locura una obra maestra.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
RaefNov 2, 2019
چله تابستان یا نیمه تابستان یا همان میدسامر، اثر کارگردان جوان و خوش آتیه آری استر، یکی از بهترین تجربه‌های ژانر وحشت برای من بود.
از همان لحظات ابتدایی فیلم و رویارویی با اولین حادثه و بازی باورپذیر نقش اصلی فیلم، "فلورنس پاف"، احساسات و
چله تابستان یا نیمه تابستان یا همان میدسامر، اثر کارگردان جوان و خوش آتیه آری استر، یکی از بهترین تجربه‌های ژانر وحشت برای من بود.
از همان لحظات ابتدایی فیلم و رویارویی با اولین حادثه و بازی باورپذیر نقش اصلی فیلم، "فلورنس پاف"، احساسات و دلهره‌ای عجیب در من به وجود آورد. مسیری که شخصیت اصلی در آن قرار می‌گیرد، از همان ابتدا به شدت رمزآلود و مرموز است و این امر اگرچه کلیشه‌ به نظر می‌آید اما به خوبی در این فیلم به کار گرفته شده.
آری استر بار دیگر در فیلم خود قواعد و قوانین ژانر وحشت را به چالش می‌کشد. در این فیلم از به قول معروف "جامپ اسکیر" های معمول در این ژانر خبری نیست و یا به ندرت دیده می‌شود، در عوض، کارگردان سبک و امضا خود را در ترس و دلهره تماشاگر دارد و گاهی اتفاقات به حدی عجیب و دلهره‌آور است که تا مدتی در ذهن می‌مانند.
شاید خیلی از تصمیمات شخصیت‌ها پیرامون اتفاقات، مضحک و احمقانه به نظر آید (هرچند این موضوع نیز در این ژانر معمول است) اما ماندن و پذیرش شرایط توسط شخصیت‌ها، آن‌قدرها هم آزاردهنده نیست و این امر به این دلیل است که تماشاگر نیز به اندازه شخصیت‌های فیلم علاقه دارد به پاسخ برسد.
موسیقی و صداسازی، طراحی صحنه، قاب‌ها و تصاویر بی‌نظیر، از نقاط قوت این فیلم به شمار می‌آید.
در کل بعد از "جادوگر" اثر "رابرت بگرز" و "موروثی" اثر همین کارگردان، این سومین فیلم ترسناکی بود که طی این چند سال از دیدنش لذت بردم.
دیدن این فیلم را به همه‌ی علاقه‌مندان به این ژانر توصیه می‌کنم.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
hnestlyontheslyOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Friend said to me half way through that the movie felt like it was paced like a television show, no dead time, and unlike other, thirstier horror films, it contains no jump scares. Midsommar is aware of its eccentricities, is willing to split the audience between laughter and gasps (the moment when William Jackson Harper goes to bed with his tennis shoes on, some hero behind me told his girlfriend, “Dude’s ready to bounce,” and everyone in the theater laughed, despite our misgivings. The humor and drama of every high impact scene are skillfully regulated. Aster puts a lovely twist to the moment in every horror film when the main characters take it upon themselves to escape their present circumstances, when we the audience derive joy from their newfound agency and newfound horror from their failed attempts at escape as a result of that agency. Instead of escape, Dani’s form of agency comes from her falling deeper down the rabbit hole, giving our plot a different shape than usual.

Friend and I saw this last minute on Wednesday after getting back from showing Niece Stanford U. It is well-documented that I love Florence Pugh in all her glorious forms, even especially as an unwieldy flower dinosaur in this film. The trailer is pretty (&) trippy, and, after having seen the movie, does an excellent job of withholding details while showing everything. Director Ari Aster, who debuted last year with the memorably ambitious and uneven Hereditary, describes it as Wizard of Oz (my favorite film) on acid, which is all I needed to hear to be on board.

The flexibility of the horror metaphor is something that I’ve written about before as a quality of horror worth watching, and Aster’s Midsommar is of the top tier in this respect, a canny mix exploration of loss in both the extreme and mundane (suicide and relationship troubles). It has a more explicit interest in the psychology of the everygirl. Hereditary was a lot of things, but it leans hard on Mother-Daughter character tropes and doesn’t do much investigation into the goings on of twenty-something sexually active modern women. Midsommar by contrast seems engrossed in the different masks those women wear (sometimes literally and made of skin!), their hopes and dreams and fears, and the way that their anxieties bounce around and echo in other bodies. An empathic small town cult seems like a kind of perfect metaphor for social media without any of the clunkiness of actually portraying texting or swiping or sharing.

Speaking of leaning hard on things: if there is one indulgent vice of Midsommar, it is it’s reliance on a couple of shocking images that you’ll recognize when you see them for their shock factor. Rather than deluge the audience with fresh new horrors as discoveries multiply, the film circles back on the grotesque as a means of heightening emotional contrasts and indicating growth through time and imagery.

Midsommar successfully tops Hereditary, feels a lot more complete and contained than the sprawling plot of that first film. And where Hereditary really falls off the rails in the last fifteen minutes or so, Midsommar is more disciplined about its controlled blaze, its tone, and marking its choices. There are some moments when one needs to willfully turn off their brain in order to plow through to interesting moments: the commentary on depression and suicide is pretty **** (which isn’t to say that Ari isn’t entitled to an elevated depiction of mental health, he clearly understands how to do nuanced). Much more satisfying is the way in which he removes and isolates our emotional lives from their cultural context, removes technology and Americana, and lets the characters forge ahead with more primal instincts. The director seems to have a knack for playing with the mundanity of our everyday demons, the ones we’re one pill away from.

**** Jack Reynor for telling you not to laugh. Go and laugh at whatever you want. It’s beautiful and scary and fun and funny.

Recommended reading: Dame Rebecca of Slate has written about the “mundanity of horror” we were talking about.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BobCDec 16, 2019
If you can handle creepy, very creepy this is a great film. Florence Pugh is exceptional and you should see her in Lady Macbeth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tonyGreenJan 7, 2020
Great looking film, with some clever cuts and techniques employed. Thematically rich, touching on religion, cultural relativism spirituality. Strong body horror / gore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxDec 3, 2019
Midsommar is stylish, visually charming, paradoxally visceral and innovating, a kind of movie unseen nowhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulNov 23, 2019
Una excelente película, para mi, junto con Joker, las mejores películas de todo el año, Florence Pugh hace un trabajo increíble en su papel protagonista, lo hace tan bien que sientes profundamente todo lo que a ella le pasa y Ari Aster loUna excelente película, para mi, junto con Joker, las mejores películas de todo el año, Florence Pugh hace un trabajo increíble en su papel protagonista, lo hace tan bien que sientes profundamente todo lo que a ella le pasa y Ari Aster lo hace de maravilla como escritor y director en su segundo largometraje, la fotografía y banda sonora son sublimes, un ritmo lento pero que te atrapa desde el comienzo y te tiene ansioso por seguir indagando más y más, para mi fue toda una experiencia ver esta película, terminé yendo a verla tres veces y podría seguir haciéndolo, es simplemente magnífica.

No es una película para todos, no es cine convencional, no es terror ni horror tradicional, este es retorcido, intrigante, lleno de locura y pesadilla, tiene imágenes bastante fuertes y es bien explícita, quizás ese sea un punto no tan positivo, ya que al ser explícita en todo sentido, no deja nada a la imaginación ni nada que sea de libre interpretación a diferencia de Hereditary que si tenía por donde interpretarse de varias formas, o es eso, o es que yo simplemente supe absorber la película al 100% en la primera visualización, en fin, para mi estuvo excelente y espléndida.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DeanomiteJan 15, 2020
Best horror movie of 2019. This review is for the 3 hour director's cut, it was excellent but could have been a little shorter. I like movies where a collective defines then consumes individuals, it's like a Jungian nightmare. This is AriBest horror movie of 2019. This review is for the 3 hour director's cut, it was excellent but could have been a little shorter. I like movies where a collective defines then consumes individuals, it's like a Jungian nightmare. This is Ari Aster's 2nd movie, Hereditary being very popular but I thought a little overrated. The photography was very good, like a beautiful vacation. There were some amazing characters, relationships evolved naturally. Horror elements threaded in gradually, almost subliminally. Something about a grizzly bear in a cage was a great image. Very good insights into characters. Florence Pugh was the best performance, but all were excellent. She reminds me of Kate Winslet a little, and Jack Raynor reminds me of Chris Pratt. This movie flew by, it was amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
theredskyNov 26, 2019
Midsommar has stapled A24 as my favorite production and distribution studio. Midsommar is one of those weird movies where I don’t really have any issues with the film but I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece but it is just shy of being one. TheMidsommar has stapled A24 as my favorite production and distribution studio. Midsommar is one of those weird movies where I don’t really have any issues with the film but I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece but it is just shy of being one. The acting is pretty fantastic from everybody. Florence Pugh and Will Poulter are amazing in this movie while everybody else did a great job. Pugh’s performance though was genuinely terrifying. What her character goes through and how she ends up at the end of the film is intriguing to watch. The script definitely helps these performances. It’s very clever and well written and adds many different layers to this film. The cinematography is pretty great too. Each shot has a purpose and adds to the story and most of the shots are colorful and vibrant while the film has an incredibly dark tone and story. There are a lot of shots of some random things that come back into play later which I appreciated. There were also many great sequences. There is a dream sequence that was great and a sequence where the female characters have a dancing contest/ritual which was also great. Watching these characters watch and participate in different rituals was terrifying and the film isn’t afraid to show everything and I mean everything. The film is incredibly gory and there were moments in this film where I was genuinely horrified by what I was witnessing. This is a film that will stick in your mind long after you watch it. Ari Aster definitely nailed it when it came to making a truly uncomfortable film. I really enjoyed the sets and colors they decided to use. It made the film look really pretty while all this really horrible stuff was going on. There was a temple set that looks absolutely beautiful. Overall, Midsommar may not be a masterpiece but its great acting, fantastic cinematography, and disturbing story make this film come so close to being one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ajzeg01Nov 30, 2019
This movie was freaking awesome! It’s interesting, it’s beautiful, it’s intense, it’s really well-made and it is super gory! I really liked all the characters, the tone and pace of the movie is really enjoyable, it has some really creativeThis movie was freaking awesome! It’s interesting, it’s beautiful, it’s intense, it’s really well-made and it is super gory! I really liked all the characters, the tone and pace of the movie is really enjoyable, it has some really creative cinematography with many long takes, and a very messed up story about a happy and peaceful Swedish commune. There isn’t much that I can say about this movie without giving things away, so just give this movie a watch if you like slow, messed-up, artsy horror movies. It’s soooooooooooooo good!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SoyHenryVNov 24, 2019
Aster maneja el tema de la enfermedad mental de una manera brillante totalmente metafórica y artísticamente bella. El talento de Aster con su gran dirección y un equipo talentoso detrás de cámara que cautivan con gran fotografía y un belloAster maneja el tema de la enfermedad mental de una manera brillante totalmente metafórica y artísticamente bella. El talento de Aster con su gran dirección y un equipo talentoso detrás de cámara que cautivan con gran fotografía y un bello díseño de producción no es lo suficientemente fuerte para sostener las más de dos horas de duración. La idea se sostiene por momentos, pero la ambientación no es lo suficientemente incómoda durante todo el trayecto si no fuera por la violencia y las imágenes desagradables y perturbadoras. No es sobre de qué va Midsommar, sino de la experiencia que vas a sentir al ver esto, tiene detalles fascinantes, pero también algunos elementos de sobra. Advierto que esta película tiene la escena de sexo más divertida e incómoda que he visto en mucho tiempo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SrGusJan 6, 2020
I confess that I became a big fan of the director when I watched Hereditary and was very anxious to know what his next job would be.
I put a lot of expectation on your new movie and I can say that it did not disappoint me. Ari Aster handed me
I confess that I became a big fan of the director when I watched Hereditary and was very anxious to know what his next job would be.
I put a lot of expectation on your new movie and I can say that it did not disappoint me. Ari Aster handed me a movie that deals, between the lines, the relationship is worn out. I like the beginning of the movie, because it uses time well to establish the relationship of the characters, both the main and the supporting.
The movie is also in no hurry to start acting like a thriller and horror.
The scenes that claim to be shocking take time to happen, but when they happen it is chilling.
While in Hereditary the dark environment prevails, here in Midsommar we have daylight remaining for much of the film.
For thinking that in horror movies bad things happen only at night, in this movie, it doesn't matter if it's clear.
Things happen the same way and have the same impact if it were overnight.
I loved the final scene and found it a bit like the Hereditary ending.
The triangular geometric form appears again here and the symbology it may have is quite understandable.
An ending that may not be seen as a happy ending, but in the eyes of the protagonist, is a perfect ending.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews