A24 | Release Date: July 3, 2019
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 370 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
59
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JLuis_001Sep 21, 2019
There's a latent problem in Midsommar. A serious problem in my point of view and is that despite its ambition and enormous pretention, Midsommar is a film unable to provoke and I say that that's a problem because that's precisely what itThere's a latent problem in Midsommar. A serious problem in my point of view and is that despite its ambition and enormous pretention, Midsommar is a film unable to provoke and I say that that's a problem because that's precisely what it tries to achieve.

Nowadays there's a new wave of horror separated from the most basic and commercial aspect of it. In many occasions some great stuff comes out of it and on other occasions is just what you would call ''artistic garbage'' Midsommar walks between both sides of that spectrum and it's surprising to say so but there's no point or catalyst that makes you believe there's something more relevant about what you're seeing.
Once you analyze what you saw if you compare it with what it's supposed to be trying to say, well that's where the huge imbalance appears.

You could say it shouldn't be taken so seriously. After all, the purest essence of the film deals with a bad relantionship and the urges of breaking up but that's also a great inconvenience because that's what makes you wonder, what is it all about?

And above all, and I can't say how much I should emphasize this, what the hell happened to the atmosphere?
What Aster achieved in Hereditary completely vanishes here and everything is due to its own environment.
Yes the commune is strange and bizarre. Their customs are disturbing and brutal and violent and you're experiencing those oddities like the main characters. You also feel like and outsider and a foreigner but you have an extra knowledge: You know that something bad will happen and therefore what you have left is simply to wait for it, therefore all the suspense goes out the window and the only thing that Midsommar has left is not what it can still try to build but to at least try to get you interested in knowing where it will eventually lead to.

And getting to the ending, understanding that like the commune, Dani purges her own evil by condemning her boyfriend to death, the void that remains is enormous given the little satisfaction the story provided me. And so it's inevitable to ask why it lasted so long.

With 147 minutes, Midsommar over-extends its stay, consequently I cannot think what can be added with the director's cut, which I will inevitably end up seeing but consider my emotion and interest considerably diminished.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
movieaterSep 25, 2019
The photography is beautiful, but the story is even poorer than The Heritage. The pace is as slow as a a powerpoint.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SirDidymusSep 10, 2019
Interesting, weird and more than a little disturbing. Great performances and cinematography but ultimately this is not a movie for everyone. Graphic violence warning for the squeamish.

C+
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
FabrizioMaffeiJul 31, 2019
One year after the excellent debut, Paul Asay directed his second film. Is a year enough for an artist to create a good movie? We know that production companies try to make more and more money by exploiting the phenomenon of the moment andOne year after the excellent debut, Paul Asay directed his second film. Is a year enough for an artist to create a good movie? We know that production companies try to make more and more money by exploiting the phenomenon of the moment and this seems to me one of those cases. Unfortunately midsommar is a failed film. I say unfortunately because Asay has some directorial (and writing) qualities out of the ordinary, with an exceptional ability to create tension. But if the beautiful first short part of the film makes you think you are at the consecration of an artist, the second part, that takes a completely different path from what we saw earlier, is lackluster and takes refuge in situations seen in too many films and to become more and more a bad copy of "The wicker man", with an ending that makes you smile rather then letting the viewer think, or put anxiety. It would seem almost as if two different scripts had been joined. The photography is beautiful but points excessively to aesthetics and symmetry even when there is no need for it, ending only in a mannerism. Too bad, because I repeat, the first half hour left us thinking about another great film Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
Truthhappens316Jul 10, 2019
This is without a doubt the weirdest movie I have seen this summer. It starts off making you feel like it's going in a direction, and then totally goes off the rails. I still don't know what I watched. 5 out of 10, because I don't know if itThis is without a doubt the weirdest movie I have seen this summer. It starts off making you feel like it's going in a direction, and then totally goes off the rails. I still don't know what I watched. 5 out of 10, because I don't know if it was good or bad. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
stezo2kJul 7, 2019
Weird and gory for the sake of being weird and gory. Drags on too long and I didn't care for the characters at all. Strangely predictable as well. It was directed well but that's the only positive I can give it. Very overrated
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
6
GinaKJul 4, 2019
I found this movie frustrating to watch and VERY long. It is certainly not a horror film, but rather a kind of quasi-religious experiment. The actors did a fine job with what little they had to work with, but the lack of clarity (notI found this movie frustrating to watch and VERY long. It is certainly not a horror film, but rather a kind of quasi-religious experiment. The actors did a fine job with what little they had to work with, but the lack of clarity (not necessarily a bad thing in a movie) was irritating. Ari Aster telegraphed right from the start that things were not going to end well, but the problem was I didn’t really care about the characters and kept trying to guess if I was watching some kind of sociological experiment gone wrong or just a failed film. I kept hoping the film would get better (or shorter). It didn’t. It just ended to everyone’s relief. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
4
Rebecca31Jul 10, 2019
If any of you out there would like to experience the sensation of being on drugs without actually taking any drugs well then is Midsommar the movie for you! Thank you Ari Aster for the nightmares, thank you for the distressing images embeddedIf any of you out there would like to experience the sensation of being on drugs without actually taking any drugs well then is Midsommar the movie for you! Thank you Ari Aster for the nightmares, thank you for the distressing images embedded in my brain forever, you’re definitely one of the most unique filmakers out there but I’m honestly frightened of what you’ll make next because I can’t take much more of this. Sorry Ari Aster but between this and Hereditary I feel I’m done with your films, no doubt there is an audience for Midsommar (though I have to question their sanity) but I’m not part of it.

Dani (Florence Pugh), her boyfriend Christian (Jack Reynor) and his friends travel to a remote part of Sweden for the fabled mid-summer festival. What’s that? A rural village out in the middle of nowhere? Why yes that does sound like we’ve got a cult on our hands doesn’t it? And you know what that means, eerie singing, some ritualistic sacrifices and lots of scenic shots of people dancing through the fields with flowers and pretty white garments. Call it whatever genre you want because it certainly doesn’t limit itself to only one. It feels like it wants to be a horror, though the result is not a conventional one but it’s pretty damn horrifying at times. Florence Pugh gave everything to this performance, it’s the one good thing I can take away from Midsommar. Jack Reynor simply shows up to read his lines and Will Poulter is the only damn person reacting the way you would expect someone to react in this scenario. He is a genuine mood in this film and adds some much needed comic relief.

As with Hereditary the first half plays out much stronger than the second. The set up was great but afterwards it starts to lose itself. I didn’t hate it and it’s not Mother! levels of bad but at some point I could tell where it was going and lost interest in the plot completely. I felt it didn’t have the atmosphere of a true horror movie but found a way to use graphic violence to unsettle you. I should also note that the way this film and indeed Hereditary portrays grief is really unlike anything else I’ve witnessed onscreen, largely due to Florence Pugh and Toni Collette. Their performance is so raw it’s almost unbearable to watch. And that pretty much sums up Midsommar in a sentence, almost unbearable to watch. That’s what it’s like to endure an Ari Aster movie, you know you should look away but you just can’t, it will push you to your limits and if you thought you didn’t have a limit then maybe Midsommar will help you find it. That’s not to say I didn’t get anything out of it. I laughed on more than one occasion, now whether I should have been laughing or not is up for debate. Yes one should not purchase a ticket for Midsommar without seriously considering if you’re going to want to see it, I know I could have happily gone the rest of my life without seeing it. Recommended for fans of Hereditary, this film is not for everyone, I repeat if you did not like Hereditary then you probably won’t like Midsommar either so you’ve been warned.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
5
brettroseyJul 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I mean, at what point in a film are you simply unable to look past the abundance of C- horror movie decisions? It's a beautifully shot film, with an intriguing story line, but the positive elements get completely overshadowed by the fact that red flags are presented to each of the characters early on into the film, and yet they choose to continue on as if everything's cool. And we're supposed to believe that because there's tension within the group? It just doesn't cut it. I mean, seriously -- your friends go missing for 24 hours, following one of the characters witnessing the girl whose fiance left her out of nowhere running and screaming for her life. While some random dude interjects and is just like, "If I may, there was a misunderstanding and I drove her to the station myself." And then Christian is missing his friends, sees his girlfriend hoisted up like a God, is all alone and is like, "Screw it, I'm so vulnerable right now I might as well drink this random concoction and trip my balls off while this freaky redhead tries to take advantage of me." And Dani is so drugged up at the end that she concludes Christian's actions of cheating on her, clearly performed under complete duress, warrant his execution by immolation? Yeah, I get it, she was the perfect candidate with the loss of her family. But shock value with Ari Aster can only get you so far. I saw it with Hereditary's limitations, and it was front and center again in Midsommar. Slow paced scenes of brutal depictions of death isn't always artsy, sometimes it just looks as an attempt to make up for a more profound effort at creating an unsettling vibe. Anyway, Aster clearly watched The Witch right before getting to work on this one, because you could have seen this plot play out from a mile away. I'm hopeful that he doesn't keep recycling old material involving vivid scenes of brutality and people staring for inordinate amounts of time in shock. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
5
DudeManGuyJul 8, 2019
The first half of the movie builds tension in a satisfying way. It lays down the groundwork for a bunch of surprises... that never come. It all ends up being incredibly straightforward and feels like it takes far too long to get there. WatchThe first half of the movie builds tension in a satisfying way. It lays down the groundwork for a bunch of surprises... that never come. It all ends up being incredibly straightforward and feels like it takes far too long to get there. Watch it when it becomes available to stream. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
5
Compi24Jul 9, 2019
"Hereditary" director Ari Aster follows up his 2018 stunner with "Midsommar," another twisted jaunt through the world of paganism and the occult. On a technical level, everything that made "Hereditary" so memorable is retained. The shot"Hereditary" director Ari Aster follows up his 2018 stunner with "Midsommar," another twisted jaunt through the world of paganism and the occult. On a technical level, everything that made "Hereditary" so memorable is retained. The shot composition and camera movements are incredibly well-executed and vibrant. The effects are horrific and indelible. The acting is superb, featuring Florence Pugh's finest work to date. But what separates "Midsommar" from "Hereditary" is something a bit more intangible -- the stories vary too different in terms of efficiency. Even at two hours long, "Hereditary" feels as though no moment is wasted, with every scene building to some sort of reveal or twist. "Midsommar" suffers mightily from an excess number of scenes, elements, and even plot threads and characters that needn't be there, ultimately dragging the pacing down and inflating the running time to at least a half-hour longer than I feel it needed to be. Aster also goes AWOL a few too many times here, which was a trifling blemish in "Hereditary" that's evolved into a full blown blister ailing the entire third act of this movie. Whereas "Hereditary" featured only a couple of scenes/moments that made my audience chuckle or scratch their proverbial heads, "Midsommar" has at least a good handful or so that had my theater rolling in laughter at what I'm not even sure are intentionally comedic beats. I know that comparing a filmmaker's movie to their prior work is a bit unfair, but it's all I have to go off of at present. This could have benefitted from a thorough rewrite, in my opinion, but I still thank God there are studios like A24 to champion the unique visions of filmmakers like the one at hand here. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
MadMaxFuryRoadJul 5, 2019
Having seen the trailer numerous times, Midsommar was easily my most anticipated movie of the summer. However, I went in with a somewhat neutral feeling given the negativity surrounding the film from audiences. As I saw the film today, I mustHaving seen the trailer numerous times, Midsommar was easily my most anticipated movie of the summer. However, I went in with a somewhat neutral feeling given the negativity surrounding the film from audiences. As I saw the film today, I must say that Midsommar was a pretty big letdown for me. The movie starts off really slow and pretty much never gets faster. Midsommar was predictable from the start, and a lot of the great scenes were spoiled from the trailer and an early script I had read online. Personally, I felt the movie was overhyped, and it wasn’t as disturbing or scary as critics have described. Yet the visuals were stunning as expected, and the movie did have fantastic acting. At nearly 2.5 hours, Midsommar felt really long, but there were enough amazing scenes to keep me entertained. (55/100) Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
jayanJul 15, 2019
I liked the film because I could identify the protagonist, like me. It is an extra ordinary movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
ZeetesJul 26, 2019
Fantastic unless you have no appreciation for masterpiece horror cult movies
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
6
nickycertoAug 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film was very original and gorgeous visually. I enjoyed the subtle details within most shots. That being said, the story could've used more focus to support the stylized film. There should've been a clearer and deeper progression of Dani's arc in order to make her final decision more impactful as a moment. AND/OR there should've been a deeper dive into the culture of this Scandinavian society by expanding on the meaning of this grand ceremony and focusing on the idea of life-cycles which drive these people to murder and mutilate their guests. By cutting some of the unnecessary scenes addressing the dynamic of Christian's friend group there would be room to expand on Dani and this twisted, but somehow, beautiful culture; sharpening the focus of the film. I am all for having the audience make connections and inferences, but I felt as though we had to guess about too many things. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
kuhtneezAug 4, 2019
My Facebook friends catalyzed my hype for the movie, which is shown for a limited time on very few theaters in my country. I was very excited to watch the late night screening four cities away from mine but, darn, the movie was too boring andMy Facebook friends catalyzed my hype for the movie, which is shown for a limited time on very few theaters in my country. I was very excited to watch the late night screening four cities away from mine but, darn, the movie was too boring and slow-paced.

The characters were great, so was the editing, but the marketing was too good to be true. The movie trailer set the audience's expectation too high that it just fades when you start focusing your eyes on the movie screen for two hours and a half. Not worth it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
tibzoidOct 6, 2019
Predictable, dull, seen it a million times before. Everything is telegraphed a million miles in advance, and the characters don't behave like real people. We could have had fun here, played around with expectations. Instead it's just emptyPredictable, dull, seen it a million times before. Everything is telegraphed a million miles in advance, and the characters don't behave like real people. We could have had fun here, played around with expectations. Instead it's just empty and uninteresting. Maybe it will scare some frail, unsocialized millennials. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
thomcNov 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie starts out underlining how bad of a boyfriend Jack is for having the audacity to even considering his own mental health and lifegoals amidst his girlfriends(Dani) breakdowns, and need for his constant support, regardless of his own needs, and capacity. Love is a two way street right? Not according to this movie, which it plainly states during a phone between Dani and her friend.

In the end they torch Jack, because he was selected by Dani as a sacrifice. It was his own fault for being an unfaithful **** I guess. The movie is trying to send a message about community, and togetherness, in today's individualistic oriented society, which I can appreciate, but I could've been without the typical tropes of masculin ambition versus female sensitivity, which is an extremely simplistic way of looking at relationships and the way we interact with each other in modern society.

Watching this movie, I kinda felt I was being force fed a "woke" manhating statement.

Great acting though, especially by Florence Pugh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PendalfSep 29, 2019
I don't know why critics loved it so much, yes the photography in film is amazing, but the plot and final is predictable. All that the director is trying to do is show that the film is not horror, but something more, only nothing more besidesI don't know why critics loved it so much, yes the photography in film is amazing, but the plot and final is predictable. All that the director is trying to do is show that the film is not horror, but something more, only nothing more besides a simple idea Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AdamNasserOct 14, 2019
The 9.5 (now changed to 6) I gave was quasi-subjective. I have just read the negative user reviews of this movie but all those comments should apply to Black Dynamite, which has those objective complaints. As for the cult, it was almostThe 9.5 (now changed to 6) I gave was quasi-subjective. I have just read the negative user reviews of this movie but all those comments should apply to Black Dynamite, which has those objective complaints. As for the cult, it was almost propaganda to me. If I were a character from the movie, I would have easily been suspicious, but eould still be sold for the well-implemented aesthetics. This capitalist world has been so bland, and this movie just rekindled a childhood thought from me. As a psychedelic enthusiast, I got nearly mesmerized by the tunes the cultists were celebrating to. However, the "paganism" presented in this movie is bastardized like in The Wicker Man. To see what I mean, watch Thulean Perspective's Wicker Man review on Bit Chute. This movie couldve been complete utter garbage but its beautiful craft has saved the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AxlValedNov 23, 2019
Me and my wife just saw this movie. I was the one that proposed to watch it cause I heard so many good things from critics that I actually care about their opinion. The movie is pretty. This movie has amazing music. Every actor is on theMe and my wife just saw this movie. I was the one that proposed to watch it cause I heard so many good things from critics that I actually care about their opinion. The movie is pretty. This movie has amazing music. Every actor is on the spot. I didn't expect to see something different from this movie but I was hoping for a better feeling. It's a slow pace movie with goodish character building (some of them are just there with no explanation). But it's predictable as hell. From the start of the movie (around 30 minutes in) you know what will happen and you just expect it. For me this is the worst thing that you can do to your audience. The gore is there just to shock you.
in the last hour I was distracted by other things in my room and that means that the movie lost my attention. Finishing my humble opinion about this. Watch the movie and have fun with it. If you are easily shocked then expect some good Moments. If you are a gore expert you will probably get bored pretty fast.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DMLYxCriticDec 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Are we not supposed to get this movie? "Midsommar" had its moments of shock, terror and disgust, as is Ari Aster's style of film making, but fails to deliver just about everything, story-wise. The characters' motivation (especially the cults) if not vague, is simply non-apparent. Judging from its lack of clear motive, the film could be viewed as pointless, with too many unnecessary scenes that only add up to its length, which was also problematic. A few strong moments/ scenes emerged from the film, only to be followed by more boring bits of ritualistic crap that is almost unbelievable. The only takeaway I had for this film is the cinematography, and how the director superbly uses color in his film. Everything else falls under satisfactory, bad, and mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ullmjdJan 1, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Midsommar is a very pretty movie, but overall it's bland and frustrating to watch. I'll try to get into this without too much spoilers.

So the story's main focus and villain is a cult (obviously). In a genre that is already oversaturated with cults Midsommar does basically nothing new or interesting with it's run of the mill, "connected with nature", religious fanatics. That itself is unfortunate but certainly not enough to make a movie inherently bad, what really makes this movie so frustrating to watch is the lack of conflict.

So why was there barely any conflict? Because the entire main cast is incompetent. In fact, there was one character who was genuinely likable because he was the most unapologetically incompetent and disrespectful. The only character that seemed to have a normal reaction to the situation and may have proved to be competent later on died very early in the movie. There was one moment quite far in the movie when I genuinely thought things were heading in a good direction, a main character had (finally) caught on to the fact that he was being drugged and refused to drink the "tea" he was given. The way he boldly declared he didn't want to have a bad trip as he handed the tea back gave me hope he was going to put up some sort of resistance, but about 10 seconds later without any coercion he changed his mind and drank the tea. Throughout the entire movie there wasn't a single scene that didn't go as the cult had planned. Honestly I dont think that alone would make the movie bad either, but a generic villain that ALSO faces no conflict is just not that interesting to watch. The entire movie felt like it was leading up to some great revelation only to be predictable and boring, granted, it had a little bit of gross factor. I did like the soundtrack, and although I didnt find a single moment of the movie to be the least bit creepy or scary, the music helped create high tension. There was some beautiful cinematography that makes it difficult to rate this movie so poorly, but all things considered, Midsommar was mediocre at best.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BukyxJan 13, 2020
No me convenció mucho el desarrollo de la trama, en una parte culean y se ve bien feo asco asco fuchi
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews