A24 | Release Date: July 3, 2019
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 369 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
59
Negative:
80
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
clichedpioneerJul 18, 2019
There's nothing original in this film, Ari Aster is a hack, the only thing missing is the large wicker man burning at the end. If the first 2 hours doesn't bore you to death or you haven't walked out, you'll then endure a further 30 minutesThere's nothing original in this film, Ari Aster is a hack, the only thing missing is the large wicker man burning at the end. If the first 2 hours doesn't bore you to death or you haven't walked out, you'll then endure a further 30 minutes of gratuitous violence, gore & sex. Disturbing viewing for all the wrong reasons. Expand
35 of 44 users found this helpful359
All this user's reviews
1
goggomobileJul 17, 2019
Ari Aster is a talented cinematographer but should leave the script writing to someone else. The story in this film has been done before The Wickerman comes to mind, but added drugs, sex and cheap shock value gore. Grim, grisly and downrightAri Aster is a talented cinematographer but should leave the script writing to someone else. The story in this film has been done before The Wickerman comes to mind, but added drugs, sex and cheap shock value gore. Grim, grisly and downright sickening. Everyone literally laughed at the sex scenes in the theatre and at inappropriate times... Expand
34 of 43 users found this helpful349
All this user's reviews
0
plsbehonestpplJul 18, 2019
God awful movie, 2 1/2 hours I won't get back....................................
26 of 34 users found this helpful268
All this user's reviews
1
UmmmJul 17, 2019
This is the one time you really should save yourself wasting 2 & 1/2 hours of your time and take heed of the many negative reviews listed here......
32 of 42 users found this helpful3210
All this user's reviews
1
m0neysh0tJul 22, 2019
A second big thumbs down from me, Aster is an awful writer, hopeless at character building, where you don't care about them. You get enough psychedelic mushroom drinking in this trash to put you off for life, gruesome shock gore for the sakeA second big thumbs down from me, Aster is an awful writer, hopeless at character building, where you don't care about them. You get enough psychedelic mushroom drinking in this trash to put you off for life, gruesome shock gore for the sake of gore. Predictable & slow. The only good point is its visual design. I won't be paying to watch any more of his movies again... Expand
24 of 32 users found this helpful248
All this user's reviews
0
JAFOJul 17, 2019
This movie is 2 hours of boredom, then 30 minutes of absurd pretentious sex & gore...
26 of 35 users found this helpful269
All this user's reviews
1
alekyJul 5, 2019
super slow, after everything is said an done you are left feeling cheated out of being scared.
19 of 27 users found this helpful198
All this user's reviews
0
Daniel_EndureJul 3, 2019
Midsommar is absolutely nauseating from the start of act two onward. There's no reason to care for anyone in the film, nor does it go anywhere interesting. It's eerie, loud, stagnant, and dare I say, a complete misfire on behalf of myMidsommar is absolutely nauseating from the start of act two onward. There's no reason to care for anyone in the film, nor does it go anywhere interesting. It's eerie, loud, stagnant, and dare I say, a complete misfire on behalf of my favorite company in the film business - A24. The scariest part of this film is that there's those who are crazy enough to recommend it to others... Standards out of whack, I suppose... Expand
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
3
Brent_MarchantJul 4, 2019
Although beautifully filmed and chock full of surprisingly grabbing humor, this meandering, overlong, frequently predictable smart horror offering tries the viewer's patience early on in the first act, relentlessly carrying through to theAlthough beautifully filmed and chock full of surprisingly grabbing humor, this meandering, overlong, frequently predictable smart horror offering tries the viewer's patience early on in the first act, relentlessly carrying through to the end. While presented as a story about psychological health and well-being painted on the canvas of an allegedly suspenseful thriller, the picture comes up woefully short in the fright department (even though it tries to compensate for that with ample gratuitous gore), largely because, at a 2:20 runtime, it takes far too long to reach its final destination (which is easily visible from miles away). Florence Pugh's often-overwrought performance in this "Wicker Man" knock-off becomes tiresome, almost laughable, as the story wears on...and on...and on as it inches toward its wholly unfulfilling conclusion. Save your money. Expand
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
0
Pcox65Jul 13, 2019
Well definitely two hours of our lives that we will never get back!!! Most bizarre movie we have ever saw in our lives! My husband said that, “I will NEVER EVER EVER get to pick out a movie again!” We literally laughed as we were walkingWell definitely two hours of our lives that we will never get back!!! Most bizarre movie we have ever saw in our lives! My husband said that, “I will NEVER EVER EVER get to pick out a movie again!” We literally laughed as we were walking out, shaking our heads and asking ourselves, “What the hell did we just watch?” Bloody, gory, disturbing.. Don’t waste your time, unless you are truly are disturbed. Expand
16 of 24 users found this helpful168
All this user's reviews
3
gimmedatsammichJul 5, 2019
A horribly tedious and derivative film that falls far short of the director’s first effort. Not one surprise in store here. It is obvious what is going to happen the second they arrive at the commune. There is not one person in this movie whoA horribly tedious and derivative film that falls far short of the director’s first effort. Not one surprise in store here. It is obvious what is going to happen the second they arrive at the commune. There is not one person in this movie who does not come across as either annoying, repugnant, or both. The American college students are universally awful characters, particularly Dani’s hateful dolt of a boyfriend Christian. It is also far too long (2 h. 27 min.) This is simply undercooked torture porn that, unforgivably, puts on the pretense of being something better than torture porn. It is not scary or interesting in the slightest. If you’re in the mood for some good horror revolving around bizarre pagan rituals, just watch the Wicker Man. Expand
21 of 32 users found this helpful2111
All this user's reviews
0
ChewilewiJul 6, 2019
Another film bashing traditional european pagan culture and heritage. Also the theme of codependency is so overplayed in modern culture where we are told to be hyper atomised individuals. Never explores the positives of our natural need forAnother film bashing traditional european pagan culture and heritage. Also the theme of codependency is so overplayed in modern culture where we are told to be hyper atomised individuals. Never explores the positives of our natural need for reliance on our loved ones or community. Expand
17 of 26 users found this helpful179
All this user's reviews
2
ChrisCrossedJul 5, 2019
Ugh, such a film school project. And painfully long. Cinematography is great, but so much detail is ripped off from the original version of The Wicker Man that Ari Aster should get a lawyer. Clueless, soulless young friends making ridiculousUgh, such a film school project. And painfully long. Cinematography is great, but so much detail is ripped off from the original version of The Wicker Man that Ari Aster should get a lawyer. Clueless, soulless young friends making ridiculous choices, zero dramatic tension--yeah, bring a book. Midsommar may fuel a new Oscar category, though--the "Woulda Coulda Shoulda." Really, if you like grownup creepy without being bludgeoned by the filmmaker's unoriginality, go find that TWM 1973 cult classic, which also has a great soundtrack by Paul Giovanni. Expand
17 of 26 users found this helpful179
All this user's reviews
0
thenukeofnukesJul 3, 2019
This film was absolutely gross and disturbing. It is just a more gruesome version of The Wicker Man.
19 of 32 users found this helpful1913
All this user's reviews
1
ElisammyJul 13, 2019
Trying to be provocative but really just perverted. Left with a headache. Slow
16 of 27 users found this helpful1611
All this user's reviews
0
twall3Jul 3, 2019
What is WRONG with these filmmakers? Seriously. Something is wrong with them. Why pay $ to observe their twistedness?
17 of 30 users found this helpful1713
All this user's reviews
1
Lite_em_upAug 4, 2019
Movie dragged on & on & on, none of the characters are likable and it's weird & gory for the the sake of being weird & gory. Very predictable & very overrated, the only good thing about it is, it's cinematographer but even that's not enough,Movie dragged on & on & on, none of the characters are likable and it's weird & gory for the the sake of being weird & gory. Very predictable & very overrated, the only good thing about it is, it's cinematographer but even that's not enough, poorly written & I'm dumbfounded by the 10 scores, this movie is so far from perfect it's laughable and you do laugh, not with the movie but at the movie. It also explains why I had to go the other side of town to watch it as only one theater was showing it in my state - says it all really, no one's watching this garbage. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
0
CanucallmejokerOct 12, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely terrible. Never have I seen a director show so much potential (Hereditary) and fall so flat the 2nd time around. Boring. Uninteresting. Slow. All the things about movies you do not want are here on full display. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
imthenoobSep 28, 2019
The movie looks great, The cast does an excellent job but there are a lot of negative things about it too. The pacing is so crippling slow, The premise is too similar to the Wicker Man to ignore and not once while watching it did I feelThe movie looks great, The cast does an excellent job but there are a lot of negative things about it too. The pacing is so crippling slow, The premise is too similar to the Wicker Man to ignore and not once while watching it did I feel interested or even intrigued at what was going on. It felt quite predictable at times and that is a big negative for me.

Honestly, Save your time and watch the Wicker Man instead. It's vastly superior.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
tp122Oct 10, 2019
This movie is an inspiration you young, untalented film makers. Apparently, no matter what derivative, poorly written, poorly acted garbage you produce, you can find someone to finance it. I was literally laughing at this by the end. AnThis movie is an inspiration you young, untalented film makers. Apparently, no matter what derivative, poorly written, poorly acted garbage you produce, you can find someone to finance it. I was literally laughing at this by the end. An incompetent brazen ripoff of movies like 'Harvest Home', 'The Wicker Man' and many more, only more pretentious. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
JonnybyrnesOct 12, 2019
Honestly, where do I begin. The entire start scene has absolutely nothing to do with the movie, the movie was so slow it felt like 4 or 5 hours, at no point was it really scary, at no point does it really draw you in, the characters are justHonestly, where do I begin. The entire start scene has absolutely nothing to do with the movie, the movie was so slow it felt like 4 or 5 hours, at no point was it really scary, at no point does it really draw you in, the characters are just moronic .... the only genuine death from this movie would have been me dying from boredom but somehow I made it through. Please watch this movie just so you can marvel at how bad it is. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
jakechOct 6, 2019
Liked Hereditary so was looking forward to this. Very disappointing. Cue lots of disjointed violin music and unsubtle, repetitive and unconnected vignettes of unsettling, bizarre behaviour with no escalation of tension. Don't know what to do?Liked Hereditary so was looking forward to this. Very disappointing. Cue lots of disjointed violin music and unsubtle, repetitive and unconnected vignettes of unsettling, bizarre behaviour with no escalation of tension. Don't know what to do? Insert weird behaviour. Plot going nowhere? Create shocking visual. With some terrible acting from extras; unlikeable main characters; predictable plot - and unintended laugh-out moments - this is a film that feels forced, lost and doesn't know how to end. Oh, I know! Insert an unsettling visual. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
callmericardoNov 5, 2019
Kinda like Nicolas Cage’s Wicker Man remake...but for hipsters. And it goes on forever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
hydemikeJul 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I 've not laughed so much internally since watching "Carry On Screaming". I say internally because I was watching it in an arthouse cinema and an "arthouse" crowd is too polite and too emotionally controlled to respond honestly when viewing trash. I should have guessed by the way this film disappeared quickly from the multiplexes that the general viewing public had been warned off this film through word of mouth and I think the money men who backed it might be worried that word had got around that this self-indulgent, vanity project written and directed by Ari Aster was never going to get much affection from the viewing public.
Sadly, the film carried a reputation before it that equated it with the horror classics such as "The Shining", "The Wicker Man" and the more recent "Kill List" - a high bar that a fast-paced,quickly-told prologue implied might be happening here.
But no, weirdness and predictability of the "look behind you" type takes over and the standard horror beats had me mentally betting who was going to go first. Much has been made by the critics of the film being set in daylight and being full of springtime colour. For me this was a novelty that quickly wore off. This is a long film - 140 minutes - and the director has plenty of opportunities to satisfy the true horror fan. But when the level of spending on plastic flowers outweighs the amount spent on prosthetic makeup, you know you won't be jumping out of your seat too many times.
I wish I'd been there when Aster pitched this movie to the money men - that would have made an interesting film in its' own right. I'm sure he used the phrases "horror", "isolated pagan cult" "Sweden", "drugs", "sex", "blond Nordic types", "naive young Americans", "sunshine", "strange forbidden buildings", etc... to beguile them into parting with their money. For me this is his second strike. "Hereditary" had a couple of decent shocks but never achieved the level of quality given to it by the critics. The same thing has happened here. I hope that by participating in it , the careers of Will Poulter, Jack Reynor and even the "bombproof" Florence Pugh are not going to go down the plughole - anyone remember Milly Shapiro or Alex Wolff?
If you expect a horror film - don't go. If you expect a gory thriller - don't go.If you expect a travelogue about the way isolated communities can develop in the manner of a National Geographic film - this is the film for you !!
Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
3
garmonboziaAug 2, 2019
Another film from Ari Aster which I didn't like that much. The only thing that works in this movie is the visual part. The pagan village looks beautiful and is created with the attention to detail. The music, dances and singing are alsoAnother film from Ari Aster which I didn't like that much. The only thing that works in this movie is the visual part. The pagan village looks beautiful and is created with the attention to detail. The music, dances and singing are also great. The horror part is grotesque to the point of only laughable. People laughed at the absurdity of the scenes during my screening. Tonally this movie sucks. It tries to be a pointless ironic horror entertainment, psychological drama and initiate deep philosophical conversations - all in one. It achieves only the first goal - pointless entertainment. "Midsommar" is too ridiculous to start a more serious conversation about anything. And I think Ari Aster tried to say here something about ego/individuality culture vs collective culture. Criticise and ridicule organised religion and comfort people find in rituals and false ideas of belonging to "the family". Something about adult children subconsciously wanting the death of theirs parents as a form of liberation. But all those ideas fall flat because the plot of this movie is so ridiculous that it doesn't encourage that kind of discussion. It is just to weak of a movie even on the superficial level to start a conversation about deeper meanings. I also don't understand the praise that Florence Pugh receives for her performance in this movie. Yes, at the beginning she's great, but with the progression of the plot, her character becomes less and less real or interesting. All the characters in this movie act like ideas of people and not real people. I've read reviews which said that the main character's boyfriend is a jerk. Well, Dani also was very unlikable (all the characters in the movie were). She was very needy and she was as toxic in their relationship as her boyfriend. If it comes to her psychological trauma I think the director forget to show us what was her family like. That would perhaps create the ground for some kind of pay off in the finale and the ideas behind her sister's decision. "Midsommar" looks beautiful at times, but the plot is too weak, ridicules and laughable to provoke viewers to dive deeper. Very shallow and pointless movie. As an entertainment is a pointless B-movie. And it's not that original. It's derivative of Robert Eggers' "The Witch", Ari's own first movie "Hereditary", and many more. Only the superficial folk aspect of it is kinda new and interesting. Very pretentious artsy-farsty movie. I say "no" to Ari Aster and "Yes" to Robert Eggers. From those two Eggers is a far more focused director. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
1
CoolHandKookJul 29, 2019
I was excited for this movie going in and quickly it became apparent that I would be let down. For someone that can enjoy a slower pace horror film, I had to force myself to stay in my seat and not evacuate the theater. Everyone in theI was excited for this movie going in and quickly it became apparent that I would be let down. For someone that can enjoy a slower pace horror film, I had to force myself to stay in my seat and not evacuate the theater. Everyone in the theater, including myself, were laughing at parts that were meant to be gruesome. Midsommar is the worst, most drawn out, boring, overrated "horror" movie I've ever seen. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
1
atouchofspiceAug 31, 2019
This movie only lasted 2 weeks in theatre's here, what more do you need to know - No one is paying to watch it!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
BarnyAug 4, 2019
The only reason why this movie is considered horror, is because it has been reviewed by emotionally immature (also very sheltered from life and the brutal nature of reality) people. It is very bright and colorful, but that's about it. TheThe only reason why this movie is considered horror, is because it has been reviewed by emotionally immature (also very sheltered from life and the brutal nature of reality) people. It is very bright and colorful, but that's about it. The characters are simply shallow beyond belief, caricatures of stereotypes at best. Very pretentious, unoriginal, uses clichés and all too common tropes. Far too long and boring. Another movie that can be summed up in the trailer without loosing much. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
0
OliverargiresAug 3, 2019
The distortion of the so-called pagan tradition is outrageous in this film. The production wrote that did thorough research on it and the result is quite disturbing. Making a horror type of movie is one thing but distorting so much and putThe distortion of the so-called pagan tradition is outrageous in this film. The production wrote that did thorough research on it and the result is quite disturbing. Making a horror type of movie is one thing but distorting so much and put the cult label like this is just not ethical whatsoever Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielSep 27, 2019
Not only is the movie extremely arrogant and stupid, it is not beautifully shot as some claim. It runs 2h30 long and scenes are extended for the purpose of making it look "recherché".
It is hard to believe that Aster really attacks the
Not only is the movie extremely arrogant and stupid, it is not beautifully shot as some claim. It runs 2h30 long and scenes are extended for the purpose of making it look "recherché".
It is hard to believe that Aster really attacks the Nibelungen hippie commune as much as he despises our decadent civilisation. We are left with the smile of our protagonist who overcome her fears, humiliation and grief by murdering ex-boyfriend and random people. Aster claims to worship Lars von Trier and Bergman, however I think he totally misunderstands them both. I didn't see any of the intelligent musings on violence and art in his work, just basic, literal, violent will-to-power.... Nietzsche was totally misunderstood by the national-socialists back in the day, mind you.

What is concerning is that such a nadir of nihilism is feted by "professional" critics while they despise Lars Von Trier's work, which is not only vastly superior but, more importantly, healthy.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
rehfor3Oct 10, 2019
The trailer was very well done but had nothing to do with this boring unoriginal trash movie. The story is so predictable you wouldn't even believe.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
TrueONE1290Jul 17, 2019
Worst movie I have seen in the last 5 years. I've read several explanations of the movie and it still remains zero for me. Whoever rated it above a 5 must be bots.
13 of 20 users found this helpful137
All this user's reviews
0
StacylbJul 28, 2019
This has got to be one of the worst movies I've seen in 5 plus years. There were so many hidden innuendos and pictures in the movie that never quite made sense and we're never clarified. I truly feel like I wasted two and a half hours of myThis has got to be one of the worst movies I've seen in 5 plus years. There were so many hidden innuendos and pictures in the movie that never quite made sense and we're never clarified. I truly feel like I wasted two and a half hours of my life. I totally feel like I was left out of the fact that you had to be under some mind-altering drug to even remotely sit through this crap. Even if you have a chance to see this movie for free take a pass and do something else!!! Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
2
lenny68Jul 11, 2019
As someone else commented 'a film school project'. Trash is one thing. Trash masquerading as something profound, even art is something else. Like Aronofsky's dire mother! Midsommar is just style and no real substance whatsoever. Avoid.
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
1
jportillo1975Jul 17, 2019
This movie was horrible. I'm not about to go into some trivial reach to dig deep about why this movie should be good. It's not. Critics honestly owe me the 2 1/2 hours back that I spent watching this garbage. If someone wasn't crying inThis movie was horrible. I'm not about to go into some trivial reach to dig deep about why this movie should be good. It's not. Critics honestly owe me the 2 1/2 hours back that I spent watching this garbage. If someone wasn't crying in the film, then they were basically yodeling, or getting led off to get killed... And nobody made a big deal about that because apparently, missing people are normal when on foreign soil miles from normal civilization. SMH. The film is garbage. Save yourself and do something better with the time you would waste watching the crap. Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
0
Jrpk9600Jul 9, 2019
Perfectly summed up by a fellow viewer walking out of the cinema at the same time as me: ”well that’s two and a half hours of my life I’m you’re never going to get back”. I have never been so dissatisfied by a movie that I wasn’t even surePerfectly summed up by a fellow viewer walking out of the cinema at the same time as me: ”well that’s two and a half hours of my life I’m you’re never going to get back”. I have never been so dissatisfied by a movie that I wasn’t even sure what to expect from it. It’s not that it’s poorly acted (mostly) or that it’s poorly directed; because it’s not. The problem with the movie is that, for a film sold on its ability to make the viewer feel creeped out, it never feels creepy it just feels strange... and laughably so. This is by far one of the funniest movies I have ever watched, not because it was trying to be but because I, and a lot of the others in the cinema, were laughing AT the movie. There is no character development, no sensical plot and no need for half of the scenes to even be included or as long as they are. I am baffled by the critical success that this movie has become as it’s just a bad movie. I could remove scenes or characters and it wouldn’t make a difference to the movie. The things the movie did well it didn’t do enough with and there is no resolution or repercussions for the things that happens over the course of the movie. I can imagine people that enjoyed the movie will read this and say “you just didn’t understand” or “it’s trying to be confusing and vague because that’s how the main character is feeling through the movie” but that doesn’t make a good movie. In fact there was nothing to enjoy in this movie, nobody to route for and not enough happening over the 146 minute run time to get really engaged in the film and this is why this is the closest I have ever came to walking out of a movie over an hour in and the only time I have ever written a review of a movie as to warn people to not bother going to see this one. Expand
13 of 21 users found this helpful138
All this user's reviews
0
SamuelvSJul 19, 2019
It is stupid as what... I wish I had spent my time better then watching this...
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
1
DynamiteCoyotesJul 13, 2019
Midsommar is a movie that tries to claim it's deep while swimming around in a puddle of blood. It is overly graphic for the sake of being so and has so many subplots that eventually end up leading nowhere that you might question the two and aMidsommar is a movie that tries to claim it's deep while swimming around in a puddle of blood. It is overly graphic for the sake of being so and has so many subplots that eventually end up leading nowhere that you might question the two and a half runtime. It has an overwhelming sense of dread throughout but it isn't rewarding. Far too on the nose for any of the foreshadowing to feel paid off and is just in your face about it. The director is so self indulgent in everything he does that watching it I kept wondering when scenes would end. That being said art direction and cinematography were really well done but they couldn't save the movie from this disaster of a script. Expand
14 of 23 users found this helpful149
All this user's reviews
0
1MoviemanJul 19, 2019
Makes Wicker Man look like a kids movie. If you want watch disturbing scenes of murder then you will love this movie. Also if you like the Alarma TV show then you will like this one also.
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
1
marco34laJul 6, 2019
Folks - look at the USER reviews. It's pretty much a divided crowd -- you will either love this movie or hate it. For me, the movie should have been categorized as "Absurdity, Pretentiousness, Gore" there is very little suspense or thrills.Folks - look at the USER reviews. It's pretty much a divided crowd -- you will either love this movie or hate it. For me, the movie should have been categorized as "Absurdity, Pretentiousness, Gore" there is very little suspense or thrills. Basically it's an overbloated film where the director is in love with himself and every shot and scene. You sit through basically 2 hrs of NOTHINGNESS until things turn to horror and absurdity. Imagine going to a movie that was about a wedding and in the movie EVERY BORING DETAIL was presented i.e., the cake cutting, every dance, every speech, every boring bit of the ritual. THAT'S WHERE the 2 hr 25mins comes from!!!! This is NOT a horror movie until the last 30mins. My advice read the synopsis and then just sneak in and watch the last 30mins of the flick. You missed NOTHING. Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
1
x2OhSevenJul 13, 2019
I hate everyone that rated this movie favorably. I should have listened to the bad reviews. This movie was a pile of steaming poo. Save your money.
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
3
LunalalaJul 22, 2019
Ok... I understand the good reviews but this movie is not for the average moviegoer. This movie is slow... And when I say slow, I mean very slow. So slow in fact that my brother left half way through to go sleep in the car... The story startsOk... I understand the good reviews but this movie is not for the average moviegoer. This movie is slow... And when I say slow, I mean very slow. So slow in fact that my brother left half way through to go sleep in the car... The story starts like your typical horror movie, Kids go on a trip to a mysterious place where bad things happen. Which I was fine with because I’ve been wanting a good cult movie for a while. The cult in this movie is interesting too see what they do and how they live but I feel they put too much of an emphasis on it because sometimes shots last forever that should only last a minute or two. When stuff actually does happen the film is great, but that is overshadowed by boring stuff that didn’t need to happen, if this film was an hour shorter I probably would’ve gave it a 7 or an 8. I will say that the cinematography is perfect in this film, If this film has one great thing, it’s the camera shots, they are beautiful and Ari Aster should win awards for that alone, but other than that, this movie was disappointing, especially after the great “Hereditary”. Hopefully one day their will be a good cult movie. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
0
TruthTeller1Jul 13, 2019
THIS IS NOT A Horor Film but more an adaptation of “cult-culture” (There I said it first. Copy-protected lol). There are disturbing images in this film but NO monsters or spooky things. The storyline is a 3 star and the picture quality is a 4THIS IS NOT A Horor Film but more an adaptation of “cult-culture” (There I said it first. Copy-protected lol). There are disturbing images in this film but NO monsters or spooky things. The storyline is a 3 star and the picture quality is a 4 star. However, I give this Film a 1 Star because it wasn’t what I was expecting. AND next time I will do a better job checking reviews before wasting $13 on a ticket and $14.99 on popcorn/soda. I would ask for my money back if I wasn’t embarrassed and already moved on, an hour after leaving early. Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
3
defdog99Jul 5, 2019
Replace ‘swedes in sweden’ with ‘pygmies in the congo’ and this movie goes from “horror movie” to “national geographic”. Really theres nothing scary and if this is just what they do every 90 years so be it. Super boring till the end. IdReplace ‘swedes in sweden’ with ‘pygmies in the congo’ and this movie goes from “horror movie” to “national geographic”. Really theres nothing scary and if this is just what they do every 90 years so be it. Super boring till the end. Id have trimmed the whole mushroom scene for something like a bonding bear hunt. Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
3
thatdannerJul 18, 2019
God, this movie was slow. The 2.5 hour runtime is crazy long for what it is. Though the acting is good, the only relief is Will Poulter's clever one-liners and decent acting. The rest of the movie is steaming garbage. Everybody in the theatreGod, this movie was slow. The 2.5 hour runtime is crazy long for what it is. Though the acting is good, the only relief is Will Poulter's clever one-liners and decent acting. The rest of the movie is steaming garbage. Everybody in the theatre laughed at what scenes were meant to be horrifying, and the weird premise is so off-putting. There is no plot twist that isn't foreseeable from the beginning. This film is not nearly as good as Hereditary and should be skipped. If the boredom doesn't get you first, the laughable writing will. Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
0
PaolaivettesoyJul 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is 2.5 hours of my life that were wasted. I kept saying No, no, no and NO when I left. Don't waste your time. Badly done, so slow and there is no connection with the audience to the screen and vice versa. Nothing will pull you in, there is no climax, it's a wanna be badly made if there was a worst comparison to Standly Kubrick in weird and different this would be it and that would be an insult to Stanley. This movie was absolutely terrible. TERRIBLE. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
0
capt_morganSep 26, 2019
The boyfriend was so shallow and annoying... I'm sorry.... I'm sorry... I'm sorry as this PhD major walks on egg shells for his annoying girlfriend.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
EasygeniusOct 12, 2019
I want to punch the retard that made this movie. Some **** watched the original Wicker Man, got a hard on, and now the rest of us have to put up with this horse **** Just like his last movie, this is garbage.

I've taken better **** than this.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
Jmed985Oct 20, 2019
This was not entertaining at all. There were too many scenes that contributed absolutely nothing to the structure of the plot. In fact, the movie felt so long that it’s easy to forget what the plot even is.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
AthanasiosTOct 30, 2019
Once again I fell for a critics' hyped "horror" flick and surprise surprise, it sucked. Ok, it is well shot and directed, with good photography, but it is also slow and dragging, with quite a few story holes and really boring. It is certainlyOnce again I fell for a critics' hyped "horror" flick and surprise surprise, it sucked. Ok, it is well shot and directed, with good photography, but it is also slow and dragging, with quite a few story holes and really boring. It is certainly not "horror" and please people, do not compare it with the epos of modern horror, "The Witch". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
qbaseSep 30, 2019
Σημαντικές πτυχές του σεναρίου μένουν μετέωρες, ενώ οι απορίες αυξάνονται αντί να μειώνονται, ακόμη κι αν στο τέλος καραδοκεί μια αξέχαστη, εμπρηστική κορύφωση.Σημαντικές πτυχές του σεναρίου μένουν μετέωρες, ενώ οι απορίες αυξάνονται αντί να μειώνονται, ακόμη κι αν στο τέλος καραδοκεί μια αξέχαστη, εμπρηστική κορύφωση.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariNov 15, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
Paleoanthropological and also biological pathology (including flora and fauna) of love life, driven by endogenous and exogenous drugs (chemical key stimuli): does Aster have something new to say? Let alone. Does he have his own
(Mauro Lanari)
Paleoanthropological and also biological pathology (including flora and fauna) of love life, driven by endogenous and exogenous drugs (chemical key stimuli): does Aster have something new to say? Let alone. Does he have his own expressive peculiarity? But for goodness sake: he plunders the cinematic imagery of the sectarian or bucolic community of "Village of the Damned" (1960), "The Wicker Man" (1973) with its remake (2006), "The Village" (2004), "The Sacrament" (2013) re-evaluating the video for "Burn the Witch" by Radiohead, which at least synthesizes the agony from 147 minutes to 4 scarce. And he does even worse: as the Italian subtitle of his previous film "Hereditary" states, he investigates "the roots of evil". Woe to seek whether there is even only the possibility of good and its roots. "And sweet to me is shipwreck on this sea of nihilism".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
mulisharobboJan 6, 2020
1. The scenes dragged out for so long which left you sighing. 2. The movie was soooooo boring except for the last 10 minutes and one 5 minute scene in the middle. 3. Its obviously made by soft people for soft people who get creeped out1. The scenes dragged out for so long which left you sighing. 2. The movie was soooooo boring except for the last 10 minutes and one 5 minute scene in the middle. 3. Its obviously made by soft people for soft people who get creeped out easily. 4. Did I mention it was boring? 5. Made no sense whatsoever, absolutely pathetic story. 6. They tried to spice it with genitalia, intercourse and gore but totally failed. 7. Total waste of my life watching it, so angry from being mislead by the reviews, it was hands down worst movie ive seen in a long time. 8,9,10.BORING BORING BORING HIPSTER MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CronofireJan 2, 2020
Es una película aburridora está entre las peores películas que he visto en los últimos año que decepción y perdida de tiempo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews