A24 | Release Date: July 3, 2019
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 370 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
59
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
clichedpioneerJul 18, 2019
There's nothing original in this film, Ari Aster is a hack, the only thing missing is the large wicker man burning at the end. If the first 2 hours doesn't bore you to death or you haven't walked out, you'll then endure a further 30 minutesThere's nothing original in this film, Ari Aster is a hack, the only thing missing is the large wicker man burning at the end. If the first 2 hours doesn't bore you to death or you haven't walked out, you'll then endure a further 30 minutes of gratuitous violence, gore & sex. Disturbing viewing for all the wrong reasons. Expand
35 of 44 users found this helpful359
All this user's reviews
1
goggomobileJul 17, 2019
Ari Aster is a talented cinematographer but should leave the script writing to someone else. The story in this film has been done before The Wickerman comes to mind, but added drugs, sex and cheap shock value gore. Grim, grisly and downrightAri Aster is a talented cinematographer but should leave the script writing to someone else. The story in this film has been done before The Wickerman comes to mind, but added drugs, sex and cheap shock value gore. Grim, grisly and downright sickening. Everyone literally laughed at the sex scenes in the theatre and at inappropriate times... Expand
34 of 43 users found this helpful349
All this user's reviews
0
plsbehonestpplJul 18, 2019
God awful movie, 2 1/2 hours I won't get back....................................
26 of 34 users found this helpful268
All this user's reviews
1
UmmmJul 17, 2019
This is the one time you really should save yourself wasting 2 & 1/2 hours of your time and take heed of the many negative reviews listed here......
32 of 42 users found this helpful3210
All this user's reviews
1
m0neysh0tJul 22, 2019
A second big thumbs down from me, Aster is an awful writer, hopeless at character building, where you don't care about them. You get enough psychedelic mushroom drinking in this trash to put you off for life, gruesome shock gore for the sakeA second big thumbs down from me, Aster is an awful writer, hopeless at character building, where you don't care about them. You get enough psychedelic mushroom drinking in this trash to put you off for life, gruesome shock gore for the sake of gore. Predictable & slow. The only good point is its visual design. I won't be paying to watch any more of his movies again... Expand
24 of 32 users found this helpful248
All this user's reviews
0
JAFOJul 17, 2019
This movie is 2 hours of boredom, then 30 minutes of absurd pretentious sex & gore...
26 of 35 users found this helpful269
All this user's reviews
1
alekyJul 5, 2019
super slow, after everything is said an done you are left feeling cheated out of being scared.
19 of 27 users found this helpful198
All this user's reviews
0
Daniel_EndureJul 3, 2019
Midsommar is absolutely nauseating from the start of act two onward. There's no reason to care for anyone in the film, nor does it go anywhere interesting. It's eerie, loud, stagnant, and dare I say, a complete misfire on behalf of myMidsommar is absolutely nauseating from the start of act two onward. There's no reason to care for anyone in the film, nor does it go anywhere interesting. It's eerie, loud, stagnant, and dare I say, a complete misfire on behalf of my favorite company in the film business - A24. The scariest part of this film is that there's those who are crazy enough to recommend it to others... Standards out of whack, I suppose... Expand
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
3
Brent_MarchantJul 4, 2019
Although beautifully filmed and chock full of surprisingly grabbing humor, this meandering, overlong, frequently predictable smart horror offering tries the viewer's patience early on in the first act, relentlessly carrying through to theAlthough beautifully filmed and chock full of surprisingly grabbing humor, this meandering, overlong, frequently predictable smart horror offering tries the viewer's patience early on in the first act, relentlessly carrying through to the end. While presented as a story about psychological health and well-being painted on the canvas of an allegedly suspenseful thriller, the picture comes up woefully short in the fright department (even though it tries to compensate for that with ample gratuitous gore), largely because, at a 2:20 runtime, it takes far too long to reach its final destination (which is easily visible from miles away). Florence Pugh's often-overwrought performance in this "Wicker Man" knock-off becomes tiresome, almost laughable, as the story wears on...and on...and on as it inches toward its wholly unfulfilling conclusion. Save your money. Expand
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
0
Pcox65Jul 13, 2019
Well definitely two hours of our lives that we will never get back!!! Most bizarre movie we have ever saw in our lives! My husband said that, “I will NEVER EVER EVER get to pick out a movie again!” We literally laughed as we were walkingWell definitely two hours of our lives that we will never get back!!! Most bizarre movie we have ever saw in our lives! My husband said that, “I will NEVER EVER EVER get to pick out a movie again!” We literally laughed as we were walking out, shaking our heads and asking ourselves, “What the hell did we just watch?” Bloody, gory, disturbing.. Don’t waste your time, unless you are truly are disturbed. Expand
16 of 24 users found this helpful168
All this user's reviews
3
gimmedatsammichJul 5, 2019
A horribly tedious and derivative film that falls far short of the director’s first effort. Not one surprise in store here. It is obvious what is going to happen the second they arrive at the commune. There is not one person in this movie whoA horribly tedious and derivative film that falls far short of the director’s first effort. Not one surprise in store here. It is obvious what is going to happen the second they arrive at the commune. There is not one person in this movie who does not come across as either annoying, repugnant, or both. The American college students are universally awful characters, particularly Dani’s hateful dolt of a boyfriend Christian. It is also far too long (2 h. 27 min.) This is simply undercooked torture porn that, unforgivably, puts on the pretense of being something better than torture porn. It is not scary or interesting in the slightest. If you’re in the mood for some good horror revolving around bizarre pagan rituals, just watch the Wicker Man. Expand
21 of 32 users found this helpful2111
All this user's reviews
0
ChewilewiJul 6, 2019
Another film bashing traditional european pagan culture and heritage. Also the theme of codependency is so overplayed in modern culture where we are told to be hyper atomised individuals. Never explores the positives of our natural need forAnother film bashing traditional european pagan culture and heritage. Also the theme of codependency is so overplayed in modern culture where we are told to be hyper atomised individuals. Never explores the positives of our natural need for reliance on our loved ones or community. Expand
17 of 26 users found this helpful179
All this user's reviews
2
ChrisCrossedJul 5, 2019
Ugh, such a film school project. And painfully long. Cinematography is great, but so much detail is ripped off from the original version of The Wicker Man that Ari Aster should get a lawyer. Clueless, soulless young friends making ridiculousUgh, such a film school project. And painfully long. Cinematography is great, but so much detail is ripped off from the original version of The Wicker Man that Ari Aster should get a lawyer. Clueless, soulless young friends making ridiculous choices, zero dramatic tension--yeah, bring a book. Midsommar may fuel a new Oscar category, though--the "Woulda Coulda Shoulda." Really, if you like grownup creepy without being bludgeoned by the filmmaker's unoriginality, go find that TWM 1973 cult classic, which also has a great soundtrack by Paul Giovanni. Expand
17 of 26 users found this helpful179
All this user's reviews
0
thenukeofnukesJul 3, 2019
This film was absolutely gross and disturbing. It is just a more gruesome version of The Wicker Man.
19 of 32 users found this helpful1913
All this user's reviews
1
ElisammyJul 13, 2019
Trying to be provocative but really just perverted. Left with a headache. Slow
16 of 27 users found this helpful1611
All this user's reviews
0
twall3Jul 3, 2019
What is WRONG with these filmmakers? Seriously. Something is wrong with them. Why pay $ to observe their twistedness?
17 of 30 users found this helpful1713
All this user's reviews
10
loadingrandeJul 4, 2019
saw it 2 times and i can now say - perfectly written, perfectly acted, perfectly directed, perfect cinematography. it's an instant classic, my favorite movie of the year, probably my favorite since Call Me By Your Name - and i've though a lotsaw it 2 times and i can now say - perfectly written, perfectly acted, perfectly directed, perfect cinematography. it's an instant classic, my favorite movie of the year, probably my favorite since Call Me By Your Name - and i've though a lot about this and i've decided that thos one is my new favorite horror film. has aot of details so i recommend watching it more than once. but it's really perfect Expand
16 of 43 users found this helpful1627
All this user's reviews
1
Lite_em_upAug 4, 2019
Movie dragged on & on & on, none of the characters are likable and it's weird & gory for the the sake of being weird & gory. Very predictable & very overrated, the only good thing about it is, it's cinematographer but even that's not enough,Movie dragged on & on & on, none of the characters are likable and it's weird & gory for the the sake of being weird & gory. Very predictable & very overrated, the only good thing about it is, it's cinematographer but even that's not enough, poorly written & I'm dumbfounded by the 10 scores, this movie is so far from perfect it's laughable and you do laugh, not with the movie but at the movie. It also explains why I had to go the other side of town to watch it as only one theater was showing it in my state - says it all really, no one's watching this garbage. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
0
CanucallmejokerOct 12, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely terrible. Never have I seen a director show so much potential (Hereditary) and fall so flat the 2nd time around. Boring. Uninteresting. Slow. All the things about movies you do not want are here on full display. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
imthenoobSep 28, 2019
The movie looks great, The cast does an excellent job but there are a lot of negative things about it too. The pacing is so crippling slow, The premise is too similar to the Wicker Man to ignore and not once while watching it did I feelThe movie looks great, The cast does an excellent job but there are a lot of negative things about it too. The pacing is so crippling slow, The premise is too similar to the Wicker Man to ignore and not once while watching it did I feel interested or even intrigued at what was going on. It felt quite predictable at times and that is a big negative for me.

Honestly, Save your time and watch the Wicker Man instead. It's vastly superior.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
tp122Oct 10, 2019
This movie is an inspiration you young, untalented film makers. Apparently, no matter what derivative, poorly written, poorly acted garbage you produce, you can find someone to finance it. I was literally laughing at this by the end. AnThis movie is an inspiration you young, untalented film makers. Apparently, no matter what derivative, poorly written, poorly acted garbage you produce, you can find someone to finance it. I was literally laughing at this by the end. An incompetent brazen ripoff of movies like 'Harvest Home', 'The Wicker Man' and many more, only more pretentious. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
JonnybyrnesOct 12, 2019
Honestly, where do I begin. The entire start scene has absolutely nothing to do with the movie, the movie was so slow it felt like 4 or 5 hours, at no point was it really scary, at no point does it really draw you in, the characters are justHonestly, where do I begin. The entire start scene has absolutely nothing to do with the movie, the movie was so slow it felt like 4 or 5 hours, at no point was it really scary, at no point does it really draw you in, the characters are just moronic .... the only genuine death from this movie would have been me dying from boredom but somehow I made it through. Please watch this movie just so you can marvel at how bad it is. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Sep 21, 2019
There's a latent problem in Midsommar. A serious problem in my point of view and is that despite its ambition and enormous pretention, Midsommar is a film unable to provoke and I say that that's a problem because that's precisely what itThere's a latent problem in Midsommar. A serious problem in my point of view and is that despite its ambition and enormous pretention, Midsommar is a film unable to provoke and I say that that's a problem because that's precisely what it tries to achieve.

Nowadays there's a new wave of horror separated from the most basic and commercial aspect of it. In many occasions some great stuff comes out of it and on other occasions is just what you would call ''artistic garbage'' Midsommar walks between both sides of that spectrum and it's surprising to say so but there's no point or catalyst that makes you believe there's something more relevant about what you're seeing.
Once you analyze what you saw if you compare it with what it's supposed to be trying to say, well that's where the huge imbalance appears.

You could say it shouldn't be taken so seriously. After all, the purest essence of the film deals with a bad relantionship and the urges of breaking up but that's also a great inconvenience because that's what makes you wonder, what is it all about?

And above all, and I can't say how much I should emphasize this, what the hell happened to the atmosphere?
What Aster achieved in Hereditary completely vanishes here and everything is due to its own environment.
Yes the commune is strange and bizarre. Their customs are disturbing and brutal and violent and you're experiencing those oddities like the main characters. You also feel like and outsider and a foreigner but you have an extra knowledge: You know that something bad will happen and therefore what you have left is simply to wait for it, therefore all the suspense goes out the window and the only thing that Midsommar has left is not what it can still try to build but to at least try to get you interested in knowing where it will eventually lead to.

And getting to the ending, understanding that like the commune, Dani purges her own evil by condemning her boyfriend to death, the void that remains is enormous given the little satisfaction the story provided me. And so it's inevitable to ask why it lasted so long.

With 147 minutes, Midsommar over-extends its stay, consequently I cannot think what can be added with the director's cut, which I will inevitably end up seeing but consider my emotion and interest considerably diminished.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
movieaterSep 25, 2019
The photography is beautiful, but the story is even poorer than The Heritage. The pace is as slow as a a powerpoint.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SirDidymusSep 10, 2019
Interesting, weird and more than a little disturbing. Great performances and cinematography but ultimately this is not a movie for everyone. Graphic violence warning for the squeamish.

C+
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
jakechOct 6, 2019
Liked Hereditary so was looking forward to this. Very disappointing. Cue lots of disjointed violin music and unsubtle, repetitive and unconnected vignettes of unsettling, bizarre behaviour with no escalation of tension. Don't know what to do?Liked Hereditary so was looking forward to this. Very disappointing. Cue lots of disjointed violin music and unsubtle, repetitive and unconnected vignettes of unsettling, bizarre behaviour with no escalation of tension. Don't know what to do? Insert weird behaviour. Plot going nowhere? Create shocking visual. With some terrible acting from extras; unlikeable main characters; predictable plot - and unintended laugh-out moments - this is a film that feels forced, lost and doesn't know how to end. Oh, I know! Insert an unsettling visual. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
callmericardoNov 5, 2019
Kinda like Nicolas Cage’s Wicker Man remake...but for hipsters. And it goes on forever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
hydemikeJul 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I 've not laughed so much internally since watching "Carry On Screaming". I say internally because I was watching it in an arthouse cinema and an "arthouse" crowd is too polite and too emotionally controlled to respond honestly when viewing trash. I should have guessed by the way this film disappeared quickly from the multiplexes that the general viewing public had been warned off this film through word of mouth and I think the money men who backed it might be worried that word had got around that this self-indulgent, vanity project written and directed by Ari Aster was never going to get much affection from the viewing public.
Sadly, the film carried a reputation before it that equated it with the horror classics such as "The Shining", "The Wicker Man" and the more recent "Kill List" - a high bar that a fast-paced,quickly-told prologue implied might be happening here.
But no, weirdness and predictability of the "look behind you" type takes over and the standard horror beats had me mentally betting who was going to go first. Much has been made by the critics of the film being set in daylight and being full of springtime colour. For me this was a novelty that quickly wore off. This is a long film - 140 minutes - and the director has plenty of opportunities to satisfy the true horror fan. But when the level of spending on plastic flowers outweighs the amount spent on prosthetic makeup, you know you won't be jumping out of your seat too many times.
I wish I'd been there when Aster pitched this movie to the money men - that would have made an interesting film in its' own right. I'm sure he used the phrases "horror", "isolated pagan cult" "Sweden", "drugs", "sex", "blond Nordic types", "naive young Americans", "sunshine", "strange forbidden buildings", etc... to beguile them into parting with their money. For me this is his second strike. "Hereditary" had a couple of decent shocks but never achieved the level of quality given to it by the critics. The same thing has happened here. I hope that by participating in it , the careers of Will Poulter, Jack Reynor and even the "bombproof" Florence Pugh are not going to go down the plughole - anyone remember Milly Shapiro or Alex Wolff?
If you expect a horror film - don't go. If you expect a gory thriller - don't go.If you expect a travelogue about the way isolated communities can develop in the manner of a National Geographic film - this is the film for you !!
Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
3
garmonboziaAug 2, 2019
Another film from Ari Aster which I didn't like that much. The only thing that works in this movie is the visual part. The pagan village looks beautiful and is created with the attention to detail. The music, dances and singing are alsoAnother film from Ari Aster which I didn't like that much. The only thing that works in this movie is the visual part. The pagan village looks beautiful and is created with the attention to detail. The music, dances and singing are also great. The horror part is grotesque to the point of only laughable. People laughed at the absurdity of the scenes during my screening. Tonally this movie sucks. It tries to be a pointless ironic horror entertainment, psychological drama and initiate deep philosophical conversations - all in one. It achieves only the first goal - pointless entertainment. "Midsommar" is too ridiculous to start a more serious conversation about anything. And I think Ari Aster tried to say here something about ego/individuality culture vs collective culture. Criticise and ridicule organised religion and comfort people find in rituals and false ideas of belonging to "the family". Something about adult children subconsciously wanting the death of theirs parents as a form of liberation. But all those ideas fall flat because the plot of this movie is so ridiculous that it doesn't encourage that kind of discussion. It is just to weak of a movie even on the superficial level to start a conversation about deeper meanings. I also don't understand the praise that Florence Pugh receives for her performance in this movie. Yes, at the beginning she's great, but with the progression of the plot, her character becomes less and less real or interesting. All the characters in this movie act like ideas of people and not real people. I've read reviews which said that the main character's boyfriend is a jerk. Well, Dani also was very unlikable (all the characters in the movie were). She was very needy and she was as toxic in their relationship as her boyfriend. If it comes to her psychological trauma I think the director forget to show us what was her family like. That would perhaps create the ground for some kind of pay off in the finale and the ideas behind her sister's decision. "Midsommar" looks beautiful at times, but the plot is too weak, ridicules and laughable to provoke viewers to dive deeper. Very shallow and pointless movie. As an entertainment is a pointless B-movie. And it's not that original. It's derivative of Robert Eggers' "The Witch", Ari's own first movie "Hereditary", and many more. Only the superficial folk aspect of it is kinda new and interesting. Very pretentious artsy-farsty movie. I say "no" to Ari Aster and "Yes" to Robert Eggers. From those two Eggers is a far more focused director. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
1
CoolHandKookJul 29, 2019
I was excited for this movie going in and quickly it became apparent that I would be let down. For someone that can enjoy a slower pace horror film, I had to force myself to stay in my seat and not evacuate the theater. Everyone in theI was excited for this movie going in and quickly it became apparent that I would be let down. For someone that can enjoy a slower pace horror film, I had to force myself to stay in my seat and not evacuate the theater. Everyone in the theater, including myself, were laughing at parts that were meant to be gruesome. Midsommar is the worst, most drawn out, boring, overrated "horror" movie I've ever seen. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
1
atouchofspiceAug 31, 2019
This movie only lasted 2 weeks in theatre's here, what more do you need to know - No one is paying to watch it!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
BarnyAug 4, 2019
The only reason why this movie is considered horror, is because it has been reviewed by emotionally immature (also very sheltered from life and the brutal nature of reality) people. It is very bright and colorful, but that's about it. TheThe only reason why this movie is considered horror, is because it has been reviewed by emotionally immature (also very sheltered from life and the brutal nature of reality) people. It is very bright and colorful, but that's about it. The characters are simply shallow beyond belief, caricatures of stereotypes at best. Very pretentious, unoriginal, uses clichés and all too common tropes. Far too long and boring. Another movie that can be summed up in the trailer without loosing much. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
0
OliverargiresAug 3, 2019
The distortion of the so-called pagan tradition is outrageous in this film. The production wrote that did thorough research on it and the result is quite disturbing. Making a horror type of movie is one thing but distorting so much and putThe distortion of the so-called pagan tradition is outrageous in this film. The production wrote that did thorough research on it and the result is quite disturbing. Making a horror type of movie is one thing but distorting so much and put the cult label like this is just not ethical whatsoever Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
5
FabrizioMaffeiJul 31, 2019
One year after the excellent debut, Paul Asay directed his second film. Is a year enough for an artist to create a good movie? We know that production companies try to make more and more money by exploiting the phenomenon of the moment andOne year after the excellent debut, Paul Asay directed his second film. Is a year enough for an artist to create a good movie? We know that production companies try to make more and more money by exploiting the phenomenon of the moment and this seems to me one of those cases. Unfortunately midsommar is a failed film. I say unfortunately because Asay has some directorial (and writing) qualities out of the ordinary, with an exceptional ability to create tension. But if the beautiful first short part of the film makes you think you are at the consecration of an artist, the second part, that takes a completely different path from what we saw earlier, is lackluster and takes refuge in situations seen in too many films and to become more and more a bad copy of "The wicker man", with an ending that makes you smile rather then letting the viewer think, or put anxiety. It would seem almost as if two different scripts had been joined. The photography is beautiful but points excessively to aesthetics and symmetry even when there is no need for it, ending only in a mannerism. Too bad, because I repeat, the first half hour left us thinking about another great film Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
Truthhappens316Jul 10, 2019
This is without a doubt the weirdest movie I have seen this summer. It starts off making you feel like it's going in a direction, and then totally goes off the rails. I still don't know what I watched. 5 out of 10, because I don't know if itThis is without a doubt the weirdest movie I have seen this summer. It starts off making you feel like it's going in a direction, and then totally goes off the rails. I still don't know what I watched. 5 out of 10, because I don't know if it was good or bad. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
stezo2kJul 7, 2019
Weird and gory for the sake of being weird and gory. Drags on too long and I didn't care for the characters at all. Strangely predictable as well. It was directed well but that's the only positive I can give it. Very overrated
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielSep 27, 2019
Not only is the movie extremely arrogant and stupid, it is not beautifully shot as some claim. It runs 2h30 long and scenes are extended for the purpose of making it look "recherché".
It is hard to believe that Aster really attacks the
Not only is the movie extremely arrogant and stupid, it is not beautifully shot as some claim. It runs 2h30 long and scenes are extended for the purpose of making it look "recherché".
It is hard to believe that Aster really attacks the Nibelungen hippie commune as much as he despises our decadent civilisation. We are left with the smile of our protagonist who overcome her fears, humiliation and grief by murdering ex-boyfriend and random people. Aster claims to worship Lars von Trier and Bergman, however I think he totally misunderstands them both. I didn't see any of the intelligent musings on violence and art in his work, just basic, literal, violent will-to-power.... Nietzsche was totally misunderstood by the national-socialists back in the day, mind you.

What is concerning is that such a nadir of nihilism is feted by "professional" critics while they despise Lars Von Trier's work, which is not only vastly superior but, more importantly, healthy.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
rehfor3Oct 10, 2019
The trailer was very well done but had nothing to do with this boring unoriginal trash movie. The story is so predictable you wouldn't even believe.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
TrueONE1290Jul 17, 2019
Worst movie I have seen in the last 5 years. I've read several explanations of the movie and it still remains zero for me. Whoever rated it above a 5 must be bots.
13 of 20 users found this helpful137
All this user's reviews
0
StacylbJul 28, 2019
This has got to be one of the worst movies I've seen in 5 plus years. There were so many hidden innuendos and pictures in the movie that never quite made sense and we're never clarified. I truly feel like I wasted two and a half hours of myThis has got to be one of the worst movies I've seen in 5 plus years. There were so many hidden innuendos and pictures in the movie that never quite made sense and we're never clarified. I truly feel like I wasted two and a half hours of my life. I totally feel like I was left out of the fact that you had to be under some mind-altering drug to even remotely sit through this crap. Even if you have a chance to see this movie for free take a pass and do something else!!! Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
2
lenny68Jul 11, 2019
As someone else commented 'a film school project'. Trash is one thing. Trash masquerading as something profound, even art is something else. Like Aronofsky's dire mother! Midsommar is just style and no real substance whatsoever. Avoid.
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
1
jportillo1975Jul 17, 2019
This movie was horrible. I'm not about to go into some trivial reach to dig deep about why this movie should be good. It's not. Critics honestly owe me the 2 1/2 hours back that I spent watching this garbage. If someone wasn't crying inThis movie was horrible. I'm not about to go into some trivial reach to dig deep about why this movie should be good. It's not. Critics honestly owe me the 2 1/2 hours back that I spent watching this garbage. If someone wasn't crying in the film, then they were basically yodeling, or getting led off to get killed... And nobody made a big deal about that because apparently, missing people are normal when on foreign soil miles from normal civilization. SMH. The film is garbage. Save yourself and do something better with the time you would waste watching the crap. Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
0
Jrpk9600Jul 9, 2019
Perfectly summed up by a fellow viewer walking out of the cinema at the same time as me: ”well that’s two and a half hours of my life I’m you’re never going to get back”. I have never been so dissatisfied by a movie that I wasn’t even surePerfectly summed up by a fellow viewer walking out of the cinema at the same time as me: ”well that’s two and a half hours of my life I’m you’re never going to get back”. I have never been so dissatisfied by a movie that I wasn’t even sure what to expect from it. It’s not that it’s poorly acted (mostly) or that it’s poorly directed; because it’s not. The problem with the movie is that, for a film sold on its ability to make the viewer feel creeped out, it never feels creepy it just feels strange... and laughably so. This is by far one of the funniest movies I have ever watched, not because it was trying to be but because I, and a lot of the others in the cinema, were laughing AT the movie. There is no character development, no sensical plot and no need for half of the scenes to even be included or as long as they are. I am baffled by the critical success that this movie has become as it’s just a bad movie. I could remove scenes or characters and it wouldn’t make a difference to the movie. The things the movie did well it didn’t do enough with and there is no resolution or repercussions for the things that happens over the course of the movie. I can imagine people that enjoyed the movie will read this and say “you just didn’t understand” or “it’s trying to be confusing and vague because that’s how the main character is feeling through the movie” but that doesn’t make a good movie. In fact there was nothing to enjoy in this movie, nobody to route for and not enough happening over the 146 minute run time to get really engaged in the film and this is why this is the closest I have ever came to walking out of a movie over an hour in and the only time I have ever written a review of a movie as to warn people to not bother going to see this one. Expand
13 of 21 users found this helpful138
All this user's reviews
0
SamuelvSJul 19, 2019
It is stupid as what... I wish I had spent my time better then watching this...
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
1
DynamiteCoyotesJul 13, 2019
Midsommar is a movie that tries to claim it's deep while swimming around in a puddle of blood. It is overly graphic for the sake of being so and has so many subplots that eventually end up leading nowhere that you might question the two and aMidsommar is a movie that tries to claim it's deep while swimming around in a puddle of blood. It is overly graphic for the sake of being so and has so many subplots that eventually end up leading nowhere that you might question the two and a half runtime. It has an overwhelming sense of dread throughout but it isn't rewarding. Far too on the nose for any of the foreshadowing to feel paid off and is just in your face about it. The director is so self indulgent in everything he does that watching it I kept wondering when scenes would end. That being said art direction and cinematography were really well done but they couldn't save the movie from this disaster of a script. Expand
14 of 23 users found this helpful149
All this user's reviews
6
GinaKJul 4, 2019
I found this movie frustrating to watch and VERY long. It is certainly not a horror film, but rather a kind of quasi-religious experiment. The actors did a fine job with what little they had to work with, but the lack of clarity (notI found this movie frustrating to watch and VERY long. It is certainly not a horror film, but rather a kind of quasi-religious experiment. The actors did a fine job with what little they had to work with, but the lack of clarity (not necessarily a bad thing in a movie) was irritating. Ari Aster telegraphed right from the start that things were not going to end well, but the problem was I didn’t really care about the characters and kept trying to guess if I was watching some kind of sociological experiment gone wrong or just a failed film. I kept hoping the film would get better (or shorter). It didn’t. It just ended to everyone’s relief. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
0
1MoviemanJul 19, 2019
Makes Wicker Man look like a kids movie. If you want watch disturbing scenes of murder then you will love this movie. Also if you like the Alarma TV show then you will like this one also.
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
1
marco34laJul 6, 2019
Folks - look at the USER reviews. It's pretty much a divided crowd -- you will either love this movie or hate it. For me, the movie should have been categorized as "Absurdity, Pretentiousness, Gore" there is very little suspense or thrills.Folks - look at the USER reviews. It's pretty much a divided crowd -- you will either love this movie or hate it. For me, the movie should have been categorized as "Absurdity, Pretentiousness, Gore" there is very little suspense or thrills. Basically it's an overbloated film where the director is in love with himself and every shot and scene. You sit through basically 2 hrs of NOTHINGNESS until things turn to horror and absurdity. Imagine going to a movie that was about a wedding and in the movie EVERY BORING DETAIL was presented i.e., the cake cutting, every dance, every speech, every boring bit of the ritual. THAT'S WHERE the 2 hr 25mins comes from!!!! This is NOT a horror movie until the last 30mins. My advice read the synopsis and then just sneak in and watch the last 30mins of the flick. You missed NOTHING. Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
1
x2OhSevenJul 13, 2019
I hate everyone that rated this movie favorably. I should have listened to the bad reviews. This movie was a pile of steaming poo. Save your money.
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
4
Rebecca31Jul 10, 2019
If any of you out there would like to experience the sensation of being on drugs without actually taking any drugs well then is Midsommar the movie for you! Thank you Ari Aster for the nightmares, thank you for the distressing images embeddedIf any of you out there would like to experience the sensation of being on drugs without actually taking any drugs well then is Midsommar the movie for you! Thank you Ari Aster for the nightmares, thank you for the distressing images embedded in my brain forever, you’re definitely one of the most unique filmakers out there but I’m honestly frightened of what you’ll make next because I can’t take much more of this. Sorry Ari Aster but between this and Hereditary I feel I’m done with your films, no doubt there is an audience for Midsommar (though I have to question their sanity) but I’m not part of it.

Dani (Florence Pugh), her boyfriend Christian (Jack Reynor) and his friends travel to a remote part of Sweden for the fabled mid-summer festival. What’s that? A rural village out in the middle of nowhere? Why yes that does sound like we’ve got a cult on our hands doesn’t it? And you know what that means, eerie singing, some ritualistic sacrifices and lots of scenic shots of people dancing through the fields with flowers and pretty white garments. Call it whatever genre you want because it certainly doesn’t limit itself to only one. It feels like it wants to be a horror, though the result is not a conventional one but it’s pretty damn horrifying at times. Florence Pugh gave everything to this performance, it’s the one good thing I can take away from Midsommar. Jack Reynor simply shows up to read his lines and Will Poulter is the only damn person reacting the way you would expect someone to react in this scenario. He is a genuine mood in this film and adds some much needed comic relief.

As with Hereditary the first half plays out much stronger than the second. The set up was great but afterwards it starts to lose itself. I didn’t hate it and it’s not Mother! levels of bad but at some point I could tell where it was going and lost interest in the plot completely. I felt it didn’t have the atmosphere of a true horror movie but found a way to use graphic violence to unsettle you. I should also note that the way this film and indeed Hereditary portrays grief is really unlike anything else I’ve witnessed onscreen, largely due to Florence Pugh and Toni Collette. Their performance is so raw it’s almost unbearable to watch. And that pretty much sums up Midsommar in a sentence, almost unbearable to watch. That’s what it’s like to endure an Ari Aster movie, you know you should look away but you just can’t, it will push you to your limits and if you thought you didn’t have a limit then maybe Midsommar will help you find it. That’s not to say I didn’t get anything out of it. I laughed on more than one occasion, now whether I should have been laughing or not is up for debate. Yes one should not purchase a ticket for Midsommar without seriously considering if you’re going to want to see it, I know I could have happily gone the rest of my life without seeing it. Recommended for fans of Hereditary, this film is not for everyone, I repeat if you did not like Hereditary then you probably won’t like Midsommar either so you’ve been warned.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
LunalalaJul 22, 2019
Ok... I understand the good reviews but this movie is not for the average moviegoer. This movie is slow... And when I say slow, I mean very slow. So slow in fact that my brother left half way through to go sleep in the car... The story startsOk... I understand the good reviews but this movie is not for the average moviegoer. This movie is slow... And when I say slow, I mean very slow. So slow in fact that my brother left half way through to go sleep in the car... The story starts like your typical horror movie, Kids go on a trip to a mysterious place where bad things happen. Which I was fine with because I’ve been wanting a good cult movie for a while. The cult in this movie is interesting too see what they do and how they live but I feel they put too much of an emphasis on it because sometimes shots last forever that should only last a minute or two. When stuff actually does happen the film is great, but that is overshadowed by boring stuff that didn’t need to happen, if this film was an hour shorter I probably would’ve gave it a 7 or an 8. I will say that the cinematography is perfect in this film, If this film has one great thing, it’s the camera shots, they are beautiful and Ari Aster should win awards for that alone, but other than that, this movie was disappointing, especially after the great “Hereditary”. Hopefully one day their will be a good cult movie. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
0
TruthTeller1Jul 13, 2019
THIS IS NOT A Horor Film but more an adaptation of “cult-culture” (There I said it first. Copy-protected lol). There are disturbing images in this film but NO monsters or spooky things. The storyline is a 3 star and the picture quality is a 4THIS IS NOT A Horor Film but more an adaptation of “cult-culture” (There I said it first. Copy-protected lol). There are disturbing images in this film but NO monsters or spooky things. The storyline is a 3 star and the picture quality is a 4 star. However, I give this Film a 1 Star because it wasn’t what I was expecting. AND next time I will do a better job checking reviews before wasting $13 on a ticket and $14.99 on popcorn/soda. I would ask for my money back if I wasn’t embarrassed and already moved on, an hour after leaving early. Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
5
brettroseyJul 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I mean, at what point in a film are you simply unable to look past the abundance of C- horror movie decisions? It's a beautifully shot film, with an intriguing story line, but the positive elements get completely overshadowed by the fact that red flags are presented to each of the characters early on into the film, and yet they choose to continue on as if everything's cool. And we're supposed to believe that because there's tension within the group? It just doesn't cut it. I mean, seriously -- your friends go missing for 24 hours, following one of the characters witnessing the girl whose fiance left her out of nowhere running and screaming for her life. While some random dude interjects and is just like, "If I may, there was a misunderstanding and I drove her to the station myself." And then Christian is missing his friends, sees his girlfriend hoisted up like a God, is all alone and is like, "Screw it, I'm so vulnerable right now I might as well drink this random concoction and trip my balls off while this freaky redhead tries to take advantage of me." And Dani is so drugged up at the end that she concludes Christian's actions of cheating on her, clearly performed under complete duress, warrant his execution by immolation? Yeah, I get it, she was the perfect candidate with the loss of her family. But shock value with Ari Aster can only get you so far. I saw it with Hereditary's limitations, and it was front and center again in Midsommar. Slow paced scenes of brutal depictions of death isn't always artsy, sometimes it just looks as an attempt to make up for a more profound effort at creating an unsettling vibe. Anyway, Aster clearly watched The Witch right before getting to work on this one, because you could have seen this plot play out from a mile away. I'm hopeful that he doesn't keep recycling old material involving vivid scenes of brutality and people staring for inordinate amounts of time in shock. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
3
defdog99Jul 5, 2019
Replace ‘swedes in sweden’ with ‘pygmies in the congo’ and this movie goes from “horror movie” to “national geographic”. Really theres nothing scary and if this is just what they do every 90 years so be it. Super boring till the end. IdReplace ‘swedes in sweden’ with ‘pygmies in the congo’ and this movie goes from “horror movie” to “national geographic”. Really theres nothing scary and if this is just what they do every 90 years so be it. Super boring till the end. Id have trimmed the whole mushroom scene for something like a bonding bear hunt. Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
3
thatdannerJul 18, 2019
God, this movie was slow. The 2.5 hour runtime is crazy long for what it is. Though the acting is good, the only relief is Will Poulter's clever one-liners and decent acting. The rest of the movie is steaming garbage. Everybody in the theatreGod, this movie was slow. The 2.5 hour runtime is crazy long for what it is. Though the acting is good, the only relief is Will Poulter's clever one-liners and decent acting. The rest of the movie is steaming garbage. Everybody in the theatre laughed at what scenes were meant to be horrifying, and the weird premise is so off-putting. There is no plot twist that isn't foreseeable from the beginning. This film is not nearly as good as Hereditary and should be skipped. If the boredom doesn't get you first, the laughable writing will. Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
0
PaolaivettesoyJul 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is 2.5 hours of my life that were wasted. I kept saying No, no, no and NO when I left. Don't waste your time. Badly done, so slow and there is no connection with the audience to the screen and vice versa. Nothing will pull you in, there is no climax, it's a wanna be badly made if there was a worst comparison to Standly Kubrick in weird and different this would be it and that would be an insult to Stanley. This movie was absolutely terrible. TERRIBLE. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
5
DudeManGuyJul 8, 2019
The first half of the movie builds tension in a satisfying way. It lays down the groundwork for a bunch of surprises... that never come. It all ends up being incredibly straightforward and feels like it takes far too long to get there. WatchThe first half of the movie builds tension in a satisfying way. It lays down the groundwork for a bunch of surprises... that never come. It all ends up being incredibly straightforward and feels like it takes far too long to get there. Watch it when it becomes available to stream. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
capt_morganSep 26, 2019
The boyfriend was so shallow and annoying... I'm sorry.... I'm sorry... I'm sorry as this PhD major walks on egg shells for his annoying girlfriend.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
EduardoMoyaOct 5, 2019
A unique experience. I was in a trance the whole movie, absorbed by this weird world and what it made me feel. At the end of the movie I wasn’t thinking about the story or plot or characters,I was just thinking how it made me feel and it wasA unique experience. I was in a trance the whole movie, absorbed by this weird world and what it made me feel. At the end of the movie I wasn’t thinking about the story or plot or characters,I was just thinking how it made me feel and it was great (I didn't sleep well that night, tho). On the technical side, composition, cinematography and art are amazing, Audio wrap it all. Best movie 2019 in my opinion. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
EasygeniusOct 12, 2019
I want to punch the retard that made this movie. Some **** watched the original Wicker Man, got a hard on, and now the rest of us have to put up with this horse **** Just like his last movie, this is garbage.

I've taken better **** than this.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
Jmed985Oct 20, 2019
This was not entertaining at all. There were too many scenes that contributed absolutely nothing to the structure of the plot. In fact, the movie felt so long that it’s easy to forget what the plot even is.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
WD7335Jul 17, 2019
This movie might be too smart for the average viewer. Most people who said it was unnecessarily gory or that the violence was too random don’t understand what they are observing. While not a documentary by any means, it was a movieThis movie might be too smart for the average viewer. Most people who said it was unnecessarily gory or that the violence was too random don’t understand what they are observing. While not a documentary by any means, it was a movie interpretation of a belief system that really existed. It’s a pretty solid interpretation of pre-Christian Scandinavian beliefs and customs. Maybe a little extreme compared to modern sensibilities, but not fantastical at all. Even the Swedish friend said “we only do this every 90 years”. I was invited to the movie because someone said I would like it. (I studied culturaI anthropology) I had absolutely no idea what the movie was about. By the name I knew it likely took place in Sweden. That’s it. About five minutes into them arriving at the commune, I said “those aren’t hippies, those are vikings”. I think that is where people that didn’t like the movie got lost. The movie was about the modern view of life, love, and loss compared to an interpretation of how they were viewed hundreds of years ago. Look up the term cultural relativism. There is more to it than that, but I think that is the part that is sailing way over a lot of people’s heads. I really enjoyed the “what if that culture had survived into modern days” aspect of the movie. The movie was nearly perfect. I feel like the protagonists were a little too oblivious to what was going on for too long. Especially considering two were supposedly anthropology students. For the most part, my feeling is that the people that didn’t like the movie wanted more fart jokes or that the movie “needed more Spider-Man”. It was a little too artsy for some people. “Ow, my balls!” from Idiocracy might be your speed if you “didn’t get” this movie. It makes me a little sad for society when people can’t get a movie like this. A lot of study and thought went into this movie. It’s not absolutely perfect, but I definitely loved it. Expand
11 of 23 users found this helpful1112
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJul 3, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They should have added more items to the Rated-R warnings: “Massive Head Wounds, Dead Skin Mask, Forcible Bear Suit, Unconventinal Suicide (or murder) Machines.” I tend to agree with Mick LaSalle at the Chronicle – it’s really brilliant stuff, with incredibly beautiful shots, but it’s got some of the most twisted content I think I’ve ever seen. This is one of those films that if you happen to see before you’re a teenager, you’ll probably be screwed up for years. I mean, gore is one thing, but repeatedly showing you close-up gore without any notice – so you can’t avoid it – is a little cruel. All that being said, this Ari Astor sure loves his cult movies. And he ties them into the banalities of western civilization in really creative ways. Wow, that was a whopper. My open question is whether the Swedish guy who was responsible for “recruiting” the outsiders for the festival actually killed the main characters family, or whether he was simply opportunistic in reacting to the deaths. Maybe we’ll never know! Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
7
LamashtarJul 8, 2019
Not scary at all, unless you have a weak stomach. Mostly hilarious. Explicit sex and nudity, graphic gore.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
5
Compi24Jul 9, 2019
"Hereditary" director Ari Aster follows up his 2018 stunner with "Midsommar," another twisted jaunt through the world of paganism and the occult. On a technical level, everything that made "Hereditary" so memorable is retained. The shot"Hereditary" director Ari Aster follows up his 2018 stunner with "Midsommar," another twisted jaunt through the world of paganism and the occult. On a technical level, everything that made "Hereditary" so memorable is retained. The shot composition and camera movements are incredibly well-executed and vibrant. The effects are horrific and indelible. The acting is superb, featuring Florence Pugh's finest work to date. But what separates "Midsommar" from "Hereditary" is something a bit more intangible -- the stories vary too different in terms of efficiency. Even at two hours long, "Hereditary" feels as though no moment is wasted, with every scene building to some sort of reveal or twist. "Midsommar" suffers mightily from an excess number of scenes, elements, and even plot threads and characters that needn't be there, ultimately dragging the pacing down and inflating the running time to at least a half-hour longer than I feel it needed to be. Aster also goes AWOL a few too many times here, which was a trifling blemish in "Hereditary" that's evolved into a full blown blister ailing the entire third act of this movie. Whereas "Hereditary" featured only a couple of scenes/moments that made my audience chuckle or scratch their proverbial heads, "Midsommar" has at least a good handful or so that had my theater rolling in laughter at what I'm not even sure are intentionally comedic beats. I know that comparing a filmmaker's movie to their prior work is a bit unfair, but it's all I have to go off of at present. This could have benefitted from a thorough rewrite, in my opinion, but I still thank God there are studios like A24 to champion the unique visions of filmmakers like the one at hand here. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
MadMaxFuryRoadJul 5, 2019
Having seen the trailer numerous times, Midsommar was easily my most anticipated movie of the summer. However, I went in with a somewhat neutral feeling given the negativity surrounding the film from audiences. As I saw the film today, I mustHaving seen the trailer numerous times, Midsommar was easily my most anticipated movie of the summer. However, I went in with a somewhat neutral feeling given the negativity surrounding the film from audiences. As I saw the film today, I must say that Midsommar was a pretty big letdown for me. The movie starts off really slow and pretty much never gets faster. Midsommar was predictable from the start, and a lot of the great scenes were spoiled from the trailer and an early script I had read online. Personally, I felt the movie was overhyped, and it wasn’t as disturbing or scary as critics have described. Yet the visuals were stunning as expected, and the movie did have fantastic acting. At nearly 2.5 hours, Midsommar felt really long, but there were enough amazing scenes to keep me entertained. (55/100) Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Sep 25, 2019
Ari Aster excels himself now with a shocking daylight pagan experience. The 150 minutes have not any dull moment; it´s resourceful for cause shivers the viewer, specially for the score, the photography and a punching finale. A surprise ofAri Aster excels himself now with a shocking daylight pagan experience. The 150 minutes have not any dull moment; it´s resourceful for cause shivers the viewer, specially for the score, the photography and a punching finale. A surprise of autumn 2019. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
JustinJ1214Jul 18, 2019
Beautifully shot, well acted horror drama worth seeking out if you enjoy your horror with a bit more class
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
8
every1acriticJul 3, 2019
The opening sequencing of this film is especially disturbing... The cinematography is top notch, and the set design alone makes this movie worth the price of admission. The humor found in the more absurd moments was much needed. I'mThe opening sequencing of this film is especially disturbing... The cinematography is top notch, and the set design alone makes this movie worth the price of admission. The humor found in the more absurd moments was much needed. I'm personally glad these types of movies are being made, and I hope it finds enough of an appreciative audience that we get more of these types of films from A24. I certainly get why some people wouldn't care for this (although I can't see the justification of scoring this a zero), but if you read up on the traditions that some of the themes were based off then I feel like you can find an appreciation on some level. To be honest, for me I kind of want to go see this thing again because I haven't stopped thinking about it all day today. Expand
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
8
callmenoxJul 19, 2019
If you're looking for a more conventional, run-of-the-mill horror flick, you might want to skip this one. But! If you can appreciate things like amazing cinematography, acting, practical/special effects, score composition, and don't mind aIf you're looking for a more conventional, run-of-the-mill horror flick, you might want to skip this one. But! If you can appreciate things like amazing cinematography, acting, practical/special effects, score composition, and don't mind a pretty bizarre story, then this is a must-see and is easily a top contender for best horror film of the year. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Jul 4, 2019
Last summer, a little-known director by the name of Ari Aster came out of nowhere with a horror film called 'Hereditary', and in the eyes of many audiences and critics alike, he greatly revitalized the horror genre with it's effective slowLast summer, a little-known director by the name of Ari Aster came out of nowhere with a horror film called 'Hereditary', and in the eyes of many audiences and critics alike, he greatly revitalized the horror genre with it's effective slow burn and dark, ominous atmosphere. And believe it or not, while I initially panned that film upon its release, it wasn't until a couple of repeat viewings at home that I finally started to acknowledge its clever scares and genuine creepiness that I failed to recognize in it at the theater (I had the misfortune of an obnoxious audience that ruined any potential tension or scares for me, so that was likely the reason.) So I was very much looking forward to this next effort from him, which follows a young couple in the aftermath of a tragedy that makes their already rocky relationship all the more tense. Soon after, they find themselves traveling with some college friends to a summer festival in Sweden held only once every 90 years. However, upon arriving there, they start slowly but surely realizing that the people and festivities there are anything but innocent, and that they're among an evil and ritualistic cult. Wow... where do I even begin with this one? Well, I suppose I could begin by straight up saying that this film is Bizarre, with a capital B! It contains scenes and imagery that I won't soon forget, for better or worse. Furthermore, the film is quite interesting and full of unique, albeit shocking moments and ideas, and was enough to make even me cringe and squirm at times. However, like 'Hereditary', the film does burn a bit slow at two and a half hours and takes its time in terms of pacing and setup, leading me to believe that the film would deliver a bit of a bigger punch or impact by the end, but the way it went instead left me feeling slightly underwhelmed. The story also felt scattershot and random at times. However, when looked at a little deeper, it's interesting to see what it has to say about relationships, breakups, etc. and how it conveys those things. Overall, it's pretty graphic and memorable in some unique ways, but the story's a bit muddled while trying to juggle being gruesome/violent and having a fully focused story at the same time (that also has slightly mixed results in preaching the undertones of relationships and breakups.) Expand
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
7
msl555Jul 6, 2019
This movie grew on me as I had time to chew it over. I was probably at a 5 right after. One day later I'm at a seven. Who knows, by tomorrow I might be higher still.
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
5
jayanJul 15, 2019
I liked the film because I could identify the protagonist, like me. It is an extra ordinary movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
Djape1992Jul 3, 2019
Go and see this movie, Something You will never see again !!! Fantastic Master-piece !!!
8 of 25 users found this helpful817
All this user's reviews
9
matthewmirlianiJul 20, 2019
A feast for the eyes and senses, Midsommar is more than it seems - from its jaw-dropping opening to its genius finale. It dives deeper than you think it would, both emotionally and cinematically, with gorgeous visuals, a strong ensemble, andA feast for the eyes and senses, Midsommar is more than it seems - from its jaw-dropping opening to its genius finale. It dives deeper than you think it would, both emotionally and cinematically, with gorgeous visuals, a strong ensemble, and a well-spun story. I thought it was simply brilliant. Expand
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
9
mr_blonde75Jul 20, 2019
I don't know what people rating this movie a 0 expected to get out of it when they walked into the theater.

The trailers were pretty apparent that this wasn't going to be a traditional horror movie.
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
9
tomcoatesJul 12, 2019
Wonderful, slow, bizarre, creepy, unsettling movie that is also exceptionally funny and asks you to do something absolutely extraordinary - gradually explore the appeal and attraction and value of lunacy and insane ritual.
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesJul 24, 2019
Some of the writing is suspect, but this film is insane and bonkers, I dug most of it.
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsJul 20, 2019
Apparently, Ari Aster wrote Midsommar after going through a bad break-up. ...Can someone please check on him and make sure he's okay? Because this is some of the most disturbing and gory film-making I have ever seen in my life.

This movie
Apparently, Ari Aster wrote Midsommar after going through a bad break-up. ...Can someone please check on him and make sure he's okay? Because this is some of the most disturbing and gory film-making I have ever seen in my life.

This movie does have some incredible cinematography and art design. Seriously, every frame is bursting off the screen. Even the gore is superbly executed. If you don't like gore, this will turn you off.

Midsommar is a very slow burning film. The story really takes its time to get weird and disturbing. Once it reaches peak horror, it will stick with you. That being said, I do think it's less accessible than even Hereditary, Aster's last movie. However, if you are a die-hard horror fan like I am, or if you really like weird horror or gore-or, then you will enjoy Midsommar.
Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
8
HashemiJul 30, 2019
It's not a Horror or scary movie actualy, but rather sad, disgusting and funny movie!
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
GrachechkovskiJul 23, 2019
This film is brilliant and I can honestly say that Ari Aster is genious like Kojima but in the cinematic. The movie has a one deep, uncovered, prescribed and dramatical story with a masterpiecable sound and horror's notes
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
9
paulhuntertenorJul 21, 2019
This is my type of movie. I went in mostly blind, only seeing the trailer once several months ago, and came out of the theater with my head spinning. Everything that I like in a movie was superbly executed: pacing, acting, casting, score,This is my type of movie. I went in mostly blind, only seeing the trailer once several months ago, and came out of the theater with my head spinning. Everything that I like in a movie was superbly executed: pacing, acting, casting, score, writing, symbolism, aesthetics, shock, foreshadowing. Ari Aster has solidified his rank as a polarizing visionary, and I'm happily in the camp of fan boy. The only reason I can't give this ten stars (well, besides the fact that I don't think I've ever loved something 100%) is due to a few moments which seemed unintentionally ham-fisted. Midsommar still succeeds, though, delivering a horrifically beautiful film with a devastating sense of the extreme. Special shoutouts to the lead actor, Florence Pugh, and to the practical effects team. Aster's sophomore slam dunk is certainly not for everyone, but for the right horror enthusiast, it's an instant classic. Bravo! Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
10
Serenityinaz12Jul 10, 2019
Best horror movie in a decade or more for me. Even better than Hereditary. It's a slow burn but there is no corney supernatural **** or jump scares, just atmosphere and at times disturbing and horrifying on a level rarely seen.
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
9
Evic21Jul 10, 2019
Even though it may lack the scares you'd expect you typical horror movie, you'll still walk out of the theater feeling unsettled and disturbed. There is truly nothing else like it. The film's eternal sunshine mixed with impending dread andEven though it may lack the scares you'd expect you typical horror movie, you'll still walk out of the theater feeling unsettled and disturbed. There is truly nothing else like it. The film's eternal sunshine mixed with impending dread and unexpected plot devices will hold your interest even if you can't see the movie as a work of art. Many will hate it, but if you give it time, you'll realize that it's an incredible feat of creativity that pushes film into richer and wilder territory. Expand
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
10
AryamanJul 3, 2019
A big improvement over Hereditary! I would say that this movie does an excellent job of leaving you with something to think about in retrospect. I was surprised at how good the movie was and I really liked the artistry of it all.
7 of 25 users found this helpful718
All this user's reviews
10
jasharkowalskiJul 21, 2019
This film is a masterpiece, in one word ! Absolutely totally different from anything an average Joe ever watched at the movies, this is as artistic as Bergman, as scary as Psycho and as funny as Discovery channel ! Beautiful photography,This film is a masterpiece, in one word ! Absolutely totally different from anything an average Joe ever watched at the movies, this is as artistic as Bergman, as scary as Psycho and as funny as Discovery channel ! Beautiful photography, intensive folk music and the creepiest atmosphere ever filmed in the movie, if YOU don't watch this movie better KILL yourself as written in the Hagra's walls ! Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
10
milkbudJul 20, 2019
I really love this movie, everything from the tiny details to the beautiful scenery to the way the scenes are shot. It really isn't a horror movie (which is how it was advertised) but it's still incredible.
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
9
FelicityFenwickJul 4, 2019
If you're into films that make you think - stuff like Upstream Color, Twin Peaks Fire Walk with Me, The Cook, The Thief, etc. - you'll be into this. It's a pretty amazing clash of cultures, and Frances Pugh is amazing in the lead role. AriIf you're into films that make you think - stuff like Upstream Color, Twin Peaks Fire Walk with Me, The Cook, The Thief, etc. - you'll be into this. It's a pretty amazing clash of cultures, and Frances Pugh is amazing in the lead role. Ari Aster is one messed up individual, but I do enjoy seeing his movies! But holy moly is this sucker bloody. Expand
7 of 26 users found this helpful719
All this user's reviews
10
PRPonyJul 8, 2019
Best movie I've seen in 20 years. Finally a movie with some originality! Don't miss this one.
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
10
AffableJul 10, 2019
Thought it was a perfect, surreal and tense movie. The movie does a great job of eliciting responses from the viewer - namely anxiety. Could really identify with some of the more psychedelic moments of the film in a way that couldn’t be doneThought it was a perfect, surreal and tense movie. The movie does a great job of eliciting responses from the viewer - namely anxiety. Could really identify with some of the more psychedelic moments of the film in a way that couldn’t be done in other films with similar themes. Expand
5 of 20 users found this helpful515
All this user's reviews
10
judahjsnJul 5, 2019
Masterful. Somehow even more inspired and assured than Hereditary. I know these films aren't for everyone but he's one of the few directors working today that gives me Kubrikian satisfaction.
5 of 22 users found this helpful517
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleJul 4, 2019
No, you won't want to see this film 3 or 4 times like a "horror" classic, but you go to the movies hoping for something unique and different - something that will challenge and surprise you - maybe disgust you. And this film delivers on allNo, you won't want to see this film 3 or 4 times like a "horror" classic, but you go to the movies hoping for something unique and different - something that will challenge and surprise you - maybe disgust you. And this film delivers on all of those fronts. It's meticulously and creatively shot, and the supporting cast feels so authentic. It feels like we've graduated from those Hostel flicks 10 years ago - torture pics - to these creepy cult flicks which feel more accomplished and mature. Absolutely worth seeing. Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
10
MateulkaJul 7, 2019
Instant classic. I know that this movie will be underrated, it is not your typical movie and definetely not a typical horror. Even if you didn't understood the meaning and brilliance behind this masterpiece, you can't deny that it isInstant classic. I know that this movie will be underrated, it is not your typical movie and definetely not a typical horror. Even if you didn't understood the meaning and brilliance behind this masterpiece, you can't deny that it is absolutely top notch from technical side. Ari Aster outdid himself. Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
5
ZeetesJul 26, 2019
Fantastic unless you have no appreciation for masterpiece horror cult movies
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
8
CaptainHowdyJul 5, 2019
This movie makes a lot more sense if you look at it from the perspective of writer/director Ari Aster's own description, which is that it is a breakup film. Yes, there are some gruesome parts. Yes, sometimes the characters' decisions don'tThis movie makes a lot more sense if you look at it from the perspective of writer/director Ari Aster's own description, which is that it is a breakup film. Yes, there are some gruesome parts. Yes, sometimes the characters' decisions don't make sense. Yes, the "horror" isn't particularly gripping. Yes, the movie is deeply, deeply strange.

However, if the entire Sweden trip is taken metaphorically as the emotional journey of a woman (in this case, the protagonist Dani) who has just been dumped from a bad relationship, it comes together beautifully. She's in a strange mental place, and she has to let go of the past in order to enjoy the ample sunshine. The film takes her through the steps of grief, confusion, betrayal, commiseration, and ultimately presents her with a choice that will determine whether she is able to reconvene with the world that always existed outside of the one she built with her ex.

From this perspective, it makes sense that ALL of the members of the main group are his friends, not hers. It makes sense that their characters are all drawn a little flat, while she is easily the most complex of the whole group. It makes sense that they make uncanny decisions and choose not to see what is going on. It makes sense that they all stick around instead of hightailing it out of there once things get bad.

Definitely looking forward to a second watch for this one.
Expand
4 of 19 users found this helpful415
All this user's reviews
8
ColginatorJul 6, 2019
We're currently entering a new renaissance in horror, one which has largely been brought on by the many great filmmakers bringing their own unique voices to the genre. There's Jordan Peele who infused the genre with his own brand of socialWe're currently entering a new renaissance in horror, one which has largely been brought on by the many great filmmakers bringing their own unique voices to the genre. There's Jordan Peele who infused the genre with his own brand of social commentary in Get Out, Robert Egger's ability to explore the darker sides of human nature in The Witch and Ari Aster using the genre as a pretense to show us a dysfunctional family dynamic in Hereditary. And Aster continues to keep his horror anchored by his characters in his follow up film, Midsommar.

From the start of the film we're instantly thrown into an uncomfortable situation with Dani (Florence Pugh) and Christian (Jack Reynor) clearly living in a broken relationship. Dani fears that she has become too emotional and overbearing to him regularly calling him in tears, whilst he is just trying to find a way to easily end the relationship and is becoming more distant to her. But when she experiences a tragedy he decides that he can't leave yet and at the objections of his friends invites her to come with them on their planned trip to a Sweedish village.

When they arrive they're embraced by the locals who are about to begin a special festival celebrating life and rebirth and enjoy the scenery where there's always light which causes the days to blend in to one another. At first it seems pleasant, but very quickly this constant light switches from being beautiful to unsettling, to the point where we feel as if we're being drowned in light. It also becomes very clear that these pagan rituals are far more sinister and dangerous than they originally thought they would be and every person in the village is part of it. It's an environment similar to the Wicker Man, where there's a feeling that the threat is so encompassing that there's no way that anyone would be able to escape even if they realise they're in danger.

Ari Aster's strong attention to detail is on display throughout the film with each shot constantly conveying information to us. Shots early on are filled with so many hints as to what is to come, including a mosaic at the start of the film which seems to subtly outline the entire plot of the film. He also shows us so much through just the body language of the characters, with Christian constantly looking to the door whenever he's in the room with Dani always looking for a time to escape.

But one of my favourite touches was early on in the film during a strange drug trip a character mentions how he can feel the world around him breathing. Then throughout the rest of the film, there are moments where it feels the world around starts to move unnaturally like a lung inhaling oxygen. At times it was so subtle I wasn't sure whether it was really happening or if my eyes were just playing tricks on me.

Considering the constant sense of horror which looms over the entire film, there's also a surprising amount of humour throughout. A lot of this humour is brought in by Will Poulter, who seems to be one of the actors with an ability to improve every film he's in. Though there's also a lot of moments during the festivities where I was unsure whether it was being unintentionally funny with the film walking across that thin line between awkward humour and abject horror.

Though unlike Hereditary, which was well paced throughout with the story and character dynamics constantly evolving, the last third of this film does seem to stagnate. We already know exactly what's going to happen to these characters, but it's still stretched out by another 30 minutes of slowly going through the motions of these slow rituals. But even in the films slower moments it's still carried by Aster's distinct visual style and a fantastic lead performance from Florence Pugh, whose traumatic screams capture the same sense of complete anguish that Toni Collette did in Hereditary.

Oddly enough the film does technically have very positive undertones being a story about coming to terms with loss, understanding the cycle of life and the importance of having a strong emotional support structure. It's just that these lessons are told to us through creepy rituals and horrific acts of violence. It's a strange and unsettling film which definitely won't be for everyone, but if you're a fan of Hereditary and want another film which leaves you with a sense of dread then you should give this film a chance.
Expand
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Jul 28, 2019
Incredible film on every level. Disturbing, heart wrenching, blackly comic at times and uncompromising in it's brutality. So much so that I'm even weary of watching it again and stomaching some of that imagery. In a way that's my only gripe.Incredible film on every level. Disturbing, heart wrenching, blackly comic at times and uncompromising in it's brutality. So much so that I'm even weary of watching it again and stomaching some of that imagery. In a way that's my only gripe. I have a tolerance for those things too. But I won't mark it down for that. The brutality is completely in line with the narrative and it's not gratuitous for the sake of it. Masterful stuff. And that music....man. Don't listen to the negative reviews. Sure you may hate it, but give it a go. It's looks to me like one of those films people will either love or hate, a bit like Hereditary. It's always the case when a Director is more of a visionary. People struggle a bit with stuff outside of the norm. Sure it's influenced in part by the Wickerman. But it's so much more. It's really an unflinching and accurate portrayal of how how cults indoctrinate new recruits. Educational stuff if you can concentrate and read between the lines. Expand
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
9
rlovellJul 25, 2019
Midsommar is a very well-executed slow burn of a horror movie. Ari Aster shows he is a up and coming master at his craft with this movie.
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
7
Bertaut1Jul 24, 2019
Poorly advertised as something it isn't; will frustrate and impress in equal measure

Much like his debut, Hereditary (2018), writer/director Ari Aster's Midsommar has been well received by critics but not so much by audiences. And, really,
Poorly advertised as something it isn't; will frustrate and impress in equal measure

Much like his debut, Hereditary (2018), writer/director Ari Aster's Midsommar has been well received by critics but not so much by audiences. And, really, it's not hard to see why; both were disingenuously promoted as horrors, drawing in audiences who were disappointed they didn't get what they were expecting. Whereas Hereditary was a study of grief, it did have horror elements, but in Midsommar, there's little resembling a horror trope. Whereas Hereditary dealt with emotional pain, Midsommar is more interested in what happens when the initial pain of bereavement starts to wear off. And whilst the characters are underwritten, and it's painfully predictable, it's beautifully crafted, brilliantly shot in glaring sunlight, and vastly ambitious. And much like Us (2019), it avoids the sophomore slump without knocking it out of the park.

When Dani (Florence Pugh) suffers an unimaginable tragedy, she turns for support to her boyfriend Christian (Jack Reynor), unaware that he finds her overly needy, and wants to break up. The following summer, she learns that he and his friends Josh (William Jackson Harper) and Mark (Will Poulter) have been invited by Swedish student Pelle (Vilhelm Blomgren) to his ancestral pagan commune in Hårga, where a midsummer celebration that occurs once every ninety years will be taking place. Dani joins the group, but it doesn't take long to learn that something isn't right in the commune.

According to Aster, Midsommar is really a breakup movie, and in this sense, Christian is a classic manipulator; after Dani learns about the trip, she's upset that he didn't tell her, but he manipulates her into apologising to him. The core of the story is Dani slowly coming to realise that he isn't the man she thought he was, and in this sense, it's primarily an allegory for the process of a young woman's emotional awakening. Indeed, one can read the character names as symbolic; Dani Ardor is denied love, and in the paganism of the commune, she's offered something she can't get from a self-serving Christian(ity).

Aesthetically, the film looks terrific. Whereas the US scenes are dark and confined, taking place in small poorly lit rooms with the characters wearing drab costumes, once the film shifts to Sweden, Henrik Svensson's production design emphasises an open-plan vastness, Pawel Pogorzelski's cinematography drenches everything in glaring sunlight, and Andrea Flesch's costume design focuses on brilliant white.

There are also some nice individual moments. For example, the choral singing with which the film begins is harshly interrupted by a telephone ringing, suggesting the clash between tradition and modernity; a superb single-take shot takes Dani from heading to her apartment bathroom to entering the bathroom of an airplane; a high altitude shot showing a car travelling along a country road is imbued with malevolent undercurrent as the car passes under the camera, and the camera follows it by turning downwards, ending up upside-down.

As for the acting, Midsommar belongs entirely to Pugh. For most of the film, she's on the precipice of a nervous breakdown, with her performance redolent of Shelley Duval in The Shining (1980). This is easily her best and most layered performance thus far, especially the gamut of contradictory emotions she runs in the last 20 minutes. As Christian, Reynor does do a decent job of getting the audience to loathe his passive-aggressive persona. Poulter plays Mark as the kind of ignorant sex-crazed loudmouth that seems to only exist in the movies. As Josh, Harper barely registers, whilst Blomgren's Pelle is so obviously untrustworthy that it pushes suspension of disbelief to breaking point.

As this might suggest, one of the biggest problems is the underwritten characters. Another issue is that even aside from Pelle, the film pushes suspension of disbelief too far. There are multiple moments when the goings-on should prompt the visitors to leave immediately, but they repeatedly accept the most ridiculous of situations based upon the most tenuous of explanations. In a lot of ways, they're no different from the idiots who get picked off one by one in so many cheap slasher films. Additionally, there are few surprises here. Aster is obviously a big fan of folk horror, especially The Wicker Man (1973), but he allows reverence to the tropes supersede narrative inventiveness, leading to predictability.

That said, however, I did enjoy Midsommar. Aesthetically impressive, and built on a terrific central performance, Aster's mastery of tone sees him through. The script could use some work, but the ominous sense of dread is palpable throughout and the depiction of a toxic relationship is penetrating and emotionally honest. Unnerving and audacious, Midsommar is an exceptionally confident piece of filmmaking, if not necessarily an exceptional piece of filmmaking.
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
7
ImaginaryCriticJul 28, 2019
I liked Hereditary so I thought I'd give Ari Aster my support. 'Midsommar' was pretty good in my opinion. The violence and disturbance was there for sure. There isn't much to say about this film just the fact that its strange and weird. ButI liked Hereditary so I thought I'd give Ari Aster my support. 'Midsommar' was pretty good in my opinion. The violence and disturbance was there for sure. There isn't much to say about this film just the fact that its strange and weird. But also very eye opening and I like that. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews