Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 26, 2018
    91
    In terms of a great bargain it’s hard to get better than a game like Valkyria Chronicles and the quality of this port on the Switch means it’s a must-buy for anyone curious about the series or considering adding it to their Switch library. And the only thing that makes an SRPG better is the portability of having it around to make dull moments like bus rides and family events breeze on by.
  2. 90
    Since Into the Breach hit at the end of August, there has been a barrage of quality strategy games on the Switch, so it can be tempting to skip Valkyria Chronicles. But don’t do it. It’s a brisk game, and there are some things like the graveyard for fallen troops that I wish were carried into future titles. War may be hell, but Valkyria Chronicles is a little slice of heaven.
  3. Dec 27, 2018
    85
    Still a great game, worth playing if you haven't played the series and enjoy the genre.
  4. Nov 4, 2018
    83
    Being able to play Valkyria Chronicles on-the-go is such a treat and the overall experience holds up beautifully a decade after its debut. If you still haven't played this SRPG classic then you should definitely give it a try.
  5. Nov 26, 2018
    80
    Whether you’re fresh to the series or already experienced Valkyria Chronicles 4 on Switch earlier this year, it’s still worth checking out the original. What it might lack in visual polish it more than makes up for with a rich story, affable characters and satisfying and strategic gameplay. Here’s hoping we see the second and third game make the leap to Switch too.
  6. Nov 8, 2018
    80
    The spark that made the original Valkyria Chronicles shine bright on other platforms still shines bright on Switch, in a game that is beautiful, rewarding, and timeless in its take on turn-based strategy.
  7. Oct 23, 2018
    80
    As a ten-year-old game, Valkyria Chronicles still holds up impressively well; this is some of the best strategy action that gaming has to offer and having it available on the go is an enormous plus. Although there are some minor balancing and performance issues, Valkyria Chronicles offers up an emotionally-gripping, beautiful and fun strategy experience that offers a considerable amount of value for the price of admission. We’d give this one a high recommendation to anybody looking for a quality strategy RPG for their Switch; it may be marginally rougher than Valkyria Chronicles 4, but you really can’t go wrong here.
  8. Oct 19, 2018
    80
    The Switch Port isn't the cheapest solution to enjoying the original Valkyria Chronicles right now, but since it is for Switch, it is pretty much the definitive way to experience the game on a handheld. If you don't really care about portability, I would say the most ideal way to experience this game is to get the PS4 version or the PC port, as they're both cheaper and a more fluid way to play the game. But if you want to play the game on the go, then this the version for you.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Oct 17, 2018
    10
    An absolute must play. Beautiful graphics, music, and gameplay. Words don't do the story justice. A truly spectacular game.
  2. Jan 9, 2019
    5
    Valkyria Chronicles seemed like a perfect turn based strategy for me. I just couldn't get though the game though due to the art design andValkyria Chronicles seemed like a perfect turn based strategy for me. I just couldn't get though the game though due to the art design and grinding.

    Pros:
    - Awesome concept for a strategy game by mixing top level down to individual units
    - The presentation and the way it taught you to play were good

    Cons:
    - Art design and story were not to my liking
    - Not a big fan of strategy games that require grinding, I think every level should be designed so every player has the same effort to beat it
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2018
    8
    Very good game, and much cheaper than V4 which came out about the same time.
    Some of the missions are more puzzle than strategy (The massive
    Very good game, and much cheaper than V4 which came out about the same time.
    Some of the missions are more puzzle than strategy (The massive enemy tank) and probably requires some grinding in skirmish mode to get your troops up to a level where beating this one is going to work. But other than that it's a great game. Enough depth and strategy and well worth the small asking price (as I write this it is less than half the price of V4 and almost as good)
    Full Review »