• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 10, 2019
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 11, 2019
    91
    If you thought it would be hard to screw up a port of Out Run then you’re right! Everything turned out just like you’d hope and it’s a great addition to retro games on the Switch.
  2. Jan 11, 2019
    90
    If you originally missed out on the 3DS port, this is about as essential a retro release as you can get. Out Run has always been an infinitely playable game, and the new unlockables and online rankings only increase its longevity further. Those with the 3DS version will have to decide whether it’s worth buying what’s more or less the same game again in order to play it on their TV, but for everyone else with an interest in retro gaming, it’s a must-have.
  3. 90
    All in all, Sega Ages Out Run just reminds me of how great Out Run is. The game design is still incredibly inviting, offering a nice balance between control and difficulty. That difficulty can be adjusted here, depending on the type of player you are. It is a game that anybody can understand, but pulls no punches all the same. While the game remains a short one, plenty of fun options make it one of the best rides out there. Jump in and feel the rush of my favorite arcade game ever made.
  4. Jan 11, 2019
    80
    Overall, Out Run is another gem in the Sega Ages library. It emulates its arcade predecessor perfectly, and it feels tighter in the controls department. Beyond those, there’s nothing else to offer, which is fine for a classic. You don’t want to change what people love for the sake of updating.
  5. Jan 10, 2019
    75
    Out Run fans will appreciate this Sega Ages release of the arcade classic but newcomers may be perplexed as to how such a simple and repetitive game is so highly regarded. Either way, there's no denying that this is a great package with many cool new features.
  6. Jan 10, 2019
    75
    If you can stomach the price tag and are dying to have an arcade classic on your Switch, Sega Ages Out Run is highly recommended. As far as I'm concerned, this is the benchmark that all future releases in this line have to live up to.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    The first step to get into Outrun is: lower the difficulty and increase the extra time. Then many gamers can fully enjoy this Arcade classicThe first step to get into Outrun is: lower the difficulty and increase the extra time. Then many gamers can fully enjoy this Arcade classic from the 80s! It indeed features precise analogue steering and 60 FPS. Play in the original ratio or even in widescreen, the filters 'smoothing' and 'scan-lines' are the best I've seen in any retro game.
    The tracks are colorful, the music is upbeat, but all in all it's a title for gamers who were active in the 80s. For today's gamers the graphics are too pixelated, the music is very MIDI style, the five different routes you can take are explored in under one hour and then you've seen (almost) everything.
    But for 80s/90s kids this is a fun experience: After beating all five routes and getting the four tune-up parts, the original 30 FPS Arcade version is unlocked as a final reward!
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2019
    10
    After the superb Nintendo 3DS port by M2, i just knew the quality of the emulation from the original game of 1986. Since Sega does no longerAfter the superb Nintendo 3DS port by M2, i just knew the quality of the emulation from the original game of 1986. Since Sega does no longer has the license from Ferrari, i expected the same sprite model as the 3DS, and i was right.

    This is as faithfull a arcade port can be, keeping in mind what i said above. They have been tweeking the controlls, and finaly now this game plays smoother and better with the analogue stick, as with the 3DS version, i prefer the D pad above the slider. Now, it works superbly eighter in handheld mode, or playing on the big screen using my Nintendo Switch Pro controller.

    Graphics: Lets start by keeping in mind this game is a 100% recreation from the arcade version from 1986, so don't expect 4K sharp details. Due to the sharpness, i do love the look of the pixel art, but to be honest, when playing on a 65 inch OLED screen, i prefer to look at this game in handheld mode. Also, if you don't have anny affection with the original game, it will be even harder to get used to this blocky look.

    Sound/Music: All the songs from the 3DS are here, but they added a few more, like Step On Beat (from the Megadrive/Genesisi version, but remixed and better sound), a tape remix, and two more new songs. The car engine sounds just like the arcade game, and for me (hobby keyboard player) music is a strong influence of the mood in the game. They succeeded with flying collors!

    Gameplay: Like i said before, taking controll with eighter the Joycons or the pro pad, the game plays much smoother than on the 3DS, and with the same options. So newcomers can select less traffic and more time per checkpoint, and oldtime players can rack up the dificulty by adding more traffic, and get less bonus time per checkpoint. To each his/her own. Even newcommers might love the controlls, as the game responds how you expect. Slowing down hard corners gives grip to the car, feathering the throttle trough some corners is more then enough. The gameplay is surprisingly deep for a game comming from 1986! If you enjoy trying to improve upon your time, you might even get some longevity from this game.

    Lastabillity: Finishing all endings can be done in 25 minutes. If you are one that don't like repetition and improving upon your runs, then this game has no replay value. Even with the unlockables (Faster top speed, No speed loss when driving off road, much less speed penalty when bumping into cars, and easyer steering) doubling the playing time, you still might feel it's not enough. To me, this game is meant as a love letter to Out Run fans, and not to attract newcomers. The new songs are made on music chips from that era so they blend in with the original songs, and now finaly we can play this game on a new tv (would be best not being bigger than 32 inch) and everywhere we like. Add the highscore table that is saved online, you can finaly see where you rank with other Out Run fans around the world. For me, that's more then enough to start this game up once in a while, but it might not be enough for others.

    Final words: If you can stomach the very low resolution pixel art, but love fast and smooth game play, you're in for a treat. If you did not play old games before this, this game is most likely not for you. Like before, this is a love letter to Out Run fans, not to gain a new audience.

    To Sega: Please do Turbo Out Run on eighter 3DS (witch only has a Japanese release to date) or Switch (or all other consoles). Also OutRunners have never had a proper port home, so please consider your loyal Out Run fans! I would buy them on Switch AND Xbox One X!
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    I love Outrun and this port is giving me that and more! It has two modes. You can also play the old or the new version. You can tweak theI love Outrun and this port is giving me that and more! It has two modes. You can also play the old or the new version. You can tweak the difficulty and the time given per checkpoint. It has unlockables, that can make the game easier. It has online leaderboards. It is the game plus a lot of welcome bonuses. I’m enjoying this very much! Full Review »