User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 68
  2. Negative: 13 out of 68

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2018
    7
    The finale for Marvel's Spider-Man and The City That Never Sleeps does it live up to the finale of the base game or does it live up the quality of Turf Wars.

    I personally didn't care much for the DLC upon release as Turf Wars wasn't that great of an experience for me and I worried that an awful finale for the DLC could lead to me having a lesser opinion for what was one of my games of
    The finale for Marvel's Spider-Man and The City That Never Sleeps does it live up to the finale of the base game or does it live up the quality of Turf Wars.

    I personally didn't care much for the DLC upon release as Turf Wars wasn't that great of an experience for me and I worried that an awful finale for the DLC could lead to me having a lesser opinion for what was one of my games of the year.

    I enjoyed this DLC far more than Turf Wars it felt like there were lots going on once again Silver Sable was given far more depth and her interactions with Spider-Man was very enjoyable, and her arch was actually interesting and I hope to see more of her in a sequel or at least a mention of what happens to her and I'm sure we will as Mary Jane seems like she'll be linked to it.

    I still don't find Hammerhead that enjoyable as a villain, even if he's more robot than human at this point I just felt fighting him once again as a slight disappointment even though the boss battle wasn't too awful it still wasn't that great but it at least felt like a boss battle this time.

    Now for Screwball. Let's all be honest no one liked her missions that much but the final chase with her is somewhat enjoyable there are a few callbacks to her missions but it doesn't overstay it's welcome this time around and it's over before I'm screaming for her to leave.

    And for the side missions that revolve around different crimes in the city, they've got me super excited for the future as I can't wait to see both the character evolution as well as their interactions with Spider-Man.

    Also just want to say by this point I hate the base missions why couldn't we have a mission like the ones from the Amazing Spider-Man games where it's a stealth mission as I actually enjoyed all of Spider-Mans stealth missions and felt there could've been some for the side missions.

    I think the DLC as a whole could've been better but it wasn't as bad as it seemed when we first played Turf Wars it's far from what we got in the base game but I don't know why I ever expected anything as good as the base game narrative.
    Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2018
    7
    (Плюсы) Сюжет хорош.

    (Минусы) задания в опенворлде такие же убогие.
    В третий раз проходить уже слишком скучно.

    (Итог) Неплохое завершение.
  3. Dec 21, 2018
    8
    This is the best DLC pack of TCTNS (The City That Never Sleeps). It's a lot more content than the last two and has more puzzle based side quests than just fighting. Overall this DLC pack was a good upgrade over the last two.
  4. Dec 31, 2018
    6
    I truly loved Spiderman, the base game.

    I really disliked the DLC. To be clear; I commend Insomniac for putting our a non-essential DLC and at least correlating to the main game (think The Witcher 3), but the re-tooling of values and damage weights nearly broke the entire experience for me. Base enemies, using weapons found in the base title taking 75% health from one hit in the
    I truly loved Spiderman, the base game.

    I really disliked the DLC.

    To be clear; I commend Insomniac for putting our a non-essential DLC and at least correlating to the main game (think The Witcher 3), but the re-tooling of values and damage weights nearly broke the entire experience for me. Base enemies, using weapons found in the base title taking 75% health from one hit in the expansion made simple tasks a chore. Side quests are more of the same but somehow more infuriating. The base game Screwball missions were fine; the expansion versions were WAY over-tooled (all three chapters). Crime fighting missions either were broken (not being able actually to take out cars in motion) or just having too many on screen with too much HP and having weapons that in the prior game did decent damage now do absurd amounts made everything feel like a slog.

    The story is the saving grace, but just so. I enjoyed it, but nowhere near the base title. Still, I am looking forward to whatever is going to be the Marvel Video Game Universe, and this is an excellent precursor to what's to come.

    It's hard for me to tell anyone to pick it up. If you liked the base game, but just so, ignore the DLC (don't waste your money). If you LOVED the base game, it's not a must-have, but you'll be able to ignore the weaknesses to plum the better parts there is to get.
    Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2019
    10
    Como Fechar com chave de ouro a Aventura do Teioso. Dlc Sensacional, Essa Dlc vai fazer vc jogar seu ódio pela silver sable no ralo da privada
  6. Apr 1, 2019
    6
    Spiderman's dlc the city that never sleeps is more of the same. meh. they added more of the same side activities and probably the most blandest villain this game has seen. If you want even one minor new gameplay mechanic, you wont get it. Everything new and exciting from the main game starts to fade the more you play this dlc pack.
  7. Jan 2, 2019
    7
    Silver Lining is a good ending to the Spider-Man DLCs but it's still lacking. Much of the content in this game feels like side activities that should have been in the main game. From the first DLC, "The Heist" it was apparent that these stories should have been in the main game. The stories were good but very short and would have worked perfectly in the main game. The gameplay is stillSilver Lining is a good ending to the Spider-Man DLCs but it's still lacking. Much of the content in this game feels like side activities that should have been in the main game. From the first DLC, "The Heist" it was apparent that these stories should have been in the main game. The stories were good but very short and would have worked perfectly in the main game. The gameplay is still great but repetitive, especially when there isn't as much to do. It's unfortunate that these DLCs weren't great like the main game but at least we got some more content. Expand
  8. Jan 2, 2019
    7
    I just finished playing through with this game today, and it was a fairly nice finale to the DLC trilogy. They're plenty of fan-service, references, easter eggs, and loose ends tied from previous DLC for fans to enjoy. The main story missions also made me content.

    The main problems, however, is (first) how rushed and cheesy the ending is. They ruined Hammerhead by making him a giant
    I just finished playing through with this game today, and it was a fairly nice finale to the DLC trilogy. They're plenty of fan-service, references, easter eggs, and loose ends tied from previous DLC for fans to enjoy. The main story missions also made me content.

    The main problems, however, is (first) how rushed and cheesy the ending is. They ruined Hammerhead by making him a giant cyborg out of the blue, he shows up out of the blue for the final fight with no buildup, and the environment you fight in doesn't allow for you to do much except dodge, punch, dodge, punch, buttom mash, repeat.

    The other thing is how ridiculously difficult the side missions have become. What were once simple and straightforward side missions have now become giant waves upon giant waves of super-tough enemies. Not necessarily fun; just "Dark Souls" levels of challening. Sure they're the missions that offer the most interesting content that gives us enough conclusions from previous DLC's as well as setting up material for a future sequel, but they truly make you work for it.
    Expand
  9. Apr 17, 2019
    7
    Marvel’s Spider-Man: Sliver Lining is a decent conclusion to the trilogy of expansion packs. It wraps up the story nicely, but the side missions are a little tedious.
  10. Jan 13, 2019
    6
    El fin de esta "trilogía" de DLCs es... decepcionante. La vuelta de Silver Lining es innecesaria y no aporta nada de interés a la historia, Hammerhead es un villano que no aporta nada de peligro realmente, y es el gran problema de estos DLCs, creo que si ponían un villano más intimidante de SpiderMan hubiera sido mucho mejor.

    También desaprovecho dejarnos un poco de pistas y hype para
    El fin de esta "trilogía" de DLCs es... decepcionante. La vuelta de Silver Lining es innecesaria y no aporta nada de interés a la historia, Hammerhead es un villano que no aporta nada de peligro realmente, y es el gran problema de estos DLCs, creo que si ponían un villano más intimidante de SpiderMan hubiera sido mucho mejor.

    También desaprovecho dejarnos un poco de pistas y hype para una secuela, me hubiera gustado ver a Venom o al Duende Verde.
    Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2019
    8
    This is the third and final installment of the Spider-Man City Never Sleeps DLC trilogy. By now, the Screwball challenges and stronghold fight missions are starting to feel a little repetitive. Still, this game continues the tradition of adding a little more so things aren't completely the same. I'd still say the game play is relatively entertaining. The final boss fight with Tombstone isThis is the third and final installment of the Spider-Man City Never Sleeps DLC trilogy. By now, the Screwball challenges and stronghold fight missions are starting to feel a little repetitive. Still, this game continues the tradition of adding a little more so things aren't completely the same. I'd still say the game play is relatively entertaining. The final boss fight with Tombstone is one of the best in the game. The Screwball fight, however, is probably the most frustrating.

    The new plot is fairly fun with the humorous interactions between Spider-man and straight-woman Silver Sable. However, the big conclusion to the previous installment is sadly given short shrift with a follow-up side mission that feels more like a setup for a future game than a true conclusion.

    If you liked the last two segments, you'll still probably like this.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 4, 2019
    80
    Silver Lining is a great finale to the Spider-Man DLC thanks to the story. It's funny and action-packed that's all the better thanks to the great gameplay the game is known for. Some side quests are repetitive, but the ones that aren't make up for it.
  2. Jan 2, 2019
    90
    Overall, I’m very impressed with the product Insomniac released, and it raises my expectations for what other companies are willing to put out with their names attached. While I have issues with some of the beats in the final chapter, I have zero qualms recommending it for anyone who enjoyed the main game. And for those that didn’t, well, they just don’t like fun anyway.
  3. Dec 29, 2018
    71
    Silver Lining is a solid conclusion to The City That Never Sleeps DLC pack. After completing it, you'll want to dive straight back in to New York City and swing through new adventures so here's hoping the sequel gets announced soon.