User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 43
  2. Negative: 18 out of 43
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2019
    7
    As a fan of the first Grid I was eagerly anticipating this realease , I missed Grid 2 and Grid Autosport due to the games not being that good , so i thought great they are re-doing Grid , its gotta be good, coz the first one was figgin awesome!!... well it is and it isnt.

    Where it counts out on the track its pretty good nowhere near as good as the first grid , for two reasons, the
    As a fan of the first Grid I was eagerly anticipating this realease , I missed Grid 2 and Grid Autosport due to the games not being that good , so i thought great they are re-doing Grid , its gotta be good, coz the first one was figgin awesome!!... well it is and it isnt.

    Where it counts out on the track its pretty good nowhere near as good as the first grid , for two reasons, the handling and the damage model. This leans alot towards arcade in terms of handling , there a few "sim" options like traction control etc , but on some cars these just dont matter. The damage model is really poor, seriously toned down, gone are the slow mo smash ups , and your car crumpling and having handling problems , now you can smash a wall and lose a bonnett..really??

    The team mate and nemises things are just padding , they are touted as things to do and watch out for ie you can order your team mate to defend etc , and if you crash into another driver often they become a nemisis and supposedly hunt you down , but it doesnt matter that much and you can easlly forget about it.

    Online is a joke , very limited options for public racing , if youve got 15 mates that have the game great you cab set up a private server full of options, but nothing like that for public games.
    So poor showing in my opinion , buy it yes, but after the price comes way down.
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2019
    7
    Its a simple, fun, basic racer. Not as arcade style as driveclub (I actually prefer the handling of this game), but still a fast paced simple arcade.

    It brings nothing new to the genre, but has a good variety of racing modes that keeps you entertained. The handling is ok, arcade style, easy to pick up and play. Not many vehicles, not many tracks, and nothing extremely exciting.
    Its a simple, fun, basic racer. Not as arcade style as driveclub (I actually prefer the handling of this game), but still a fast paced simple arcade.

    It brings nothing new to the genre, but has a good variety of racing modes that keeps you entertained. The handling is ok, arcade style, easy to pick up and play.

    Not many vehicles, not many tracks, and nothing extremely exciting. Still, very fun to play if you like racing.
    Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2019
    5
    I'm not going to lie, I am, indeed, having much fun with this game. BUT, it is far from perfect. Far from ideal, actually. Most certainly not worth a full price tag.

    In short, the game feels like a bare-boned remake of Grid 2, but with way many bugs and crashes, with things flickering and all. But, since the bads outnumber the goods, the latter will come first, then... Pros: The
    I'm not going to lie, I am, indeed, having much fun with this game. BUT, it is far from perfect. Far from ideal, actually. Most certainly not worth a full price tag.

    In short, the game feels like a bare-boned remake of Grid 2, but with way many bugs and crashes, with things flickering and all. But, since the bads outnumber the goods, the latter will come first, then...

    Pros:

    The opening is breath-taking. They really worked all out on that. Makes you think that the game... Is more that it really is.

    It's fun. I mean it. It is really fun. Racing really raises the tension, and the challenge of mastering the cars are just... wow. Battling against the tracks AND the car, is something else every time, even if you have driven it before. Kudos to that. The feel of the game is really... Well, Grid. If you are familiar with the series, you will feel right at home.

    The sound effects are actually pretty good.

    And... That's it.

    Now for the cons, get ready:

    The rear-view in any mirror looks like a chopped-down vídeo with sluggish FPS (it is, actually, painful to look, so just rotate the R button), the renders take their time to function; there are unpolished things everywhere; the graphics are REALLY outdated (seriously, this game does not belong in the actual level of the current generation).

    Campaign... Really just looks and feels like a bunch of challenges/events packed together without prep. I can't even count how many times I've heard the announcer say the exact same line, or the manager in my comm.

    There's no actual scaling of difficulty, just the learning curve of the cars, since they reuse many of the tracks.

    Teammates... Well, its a hit or miss, even if they are inside their specialty AND the stats are good, seems like a random algorithm somehow, since they can or cannot accompany you in the race-pacing. The instructions... Are kinda just there, since it's really limited. Really feel like it was post-thought, but they felt like it was a good idea to include it anyway.

    The car selection is very limited, but you can tune some aspects of the vehicles. BUT, since you can race on any track with the standard configurations, I just can't stop wondering if there was any reason at all for the tuning system. There are no requirements, only your practice with the cars and the track.

    Aesthetically, you can only change the liveries, adding preset ones that can be unlocked gradually as you play. The colors of said liveries are customizable, but that's that. The sponsors? Fixed. And there are cars which no visual customizations can be made whatsoever... And I'm really struggling to understand why is it even in the game, in the first place.

    The track selection... Feels really weird. It is common for racing games to recycle some tracks for events, reverting them, using some sections and all, but... this is kinda pushing it. You will race on the same track for a bazillion times, and I'm not talking about restarting events, I'm talking different events.

    And, speaking of which, the events... Are the same. Actually, Grid 2 had more events, or at least made it feel like it had more, with a more vast selection of cars and all, so the situation in this new Grid is unnerving.

    The AI, which was highly praised by the media, is... Ok? I mean, the nemesis system is really interesting in concept, but, as soon as you passed the nemesis, which is not that hard, it will make absolutely no difference whatsoever, so... I don't even understand how and why there was such praise.

    Music? Well, I really hope that you like to hear the same music-tracks over and over again, since there are just the menu/ending of events ones. No in track racing, no licenced tracks, nothing. Prepare some Spotify play-list. Just a warning.

    It really feels like a unfinished game that REALLY needs attention. I really hoped that the 2GB launch patch would fix many wrong things with the game from the get-go, but... No, don't even know what that did, since it feels like the same thing.

    Oh, and the season-pass promises 99 events and some more things, but the price tag - for love' sake that price tag - is higher than the game itself. Really reinforces the "unfinished game" feeling.

    Don't get me wrong, it is a fun game. I'm having my time with it and I am loving it. But not worth a full price-tag by a long shot and I almost regret paying it. This is an unfinished game.

    Just wait for a sale or something like that before considering buying it...
    Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2019
    4
    Pre-ordered the game in the hope of it being similar to their first GRID game from 2008. Man I'm disappointed...
    No touge, drift or demolition derby events. No starting from the bottom and only being able to be hired by other teams. Limited sprint and open wheel races. Even the damage system is crap. There's no damage at all that impacts your driving ability unless you hit a wall head on,
    Pre-ordered the game in the hope of it being similar to their first GRID game from 2008. Man I'm disappointed...
    No touge, drift or demolition derby events. No starting from the bottom and only being able to be hired by other teams. Limited sprint and open wheel races. Even the damage system is crap. There's no damage at all that impacts your driving ability unless you hit a wall head on, then it's game over.
    The only good thing are the slightly better graphics compared to the original Race Driver: GRID. But that was to be expected after 11 years...
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2019
    1
    720p and 30fps on PS4, are you f kidding me? Driveclub have 1080p 30fps, but he has great lighting. GTS have 1080p 60fps! This game is just disgusting. Primitive career. Boring. Awful.
  6. Oct 12, 2019
    9
    got this at launch (the normal version) and at first wasnt sure about it there is not many tracks and cars and the frame rate even on my pro takes a very occasional hit but after a few hours i have to say i love it, the reason? the AI is fantasitin and gives you a really fatasic race on hard and very hard (dont try medium its way to easy) the game looks fantastic and the limited number ofgot this at launch (the normal version) and at first wasnt sure about it there is not many tracks and cars and the frame rate even on my pro takes a very occasional hit but after a few hours i have to say i love it, the reason? the AI is fantasitin and gives you a really fatasic race on hard and very hard (dont try medium its way to easy) the game looks fantastic and the limited number of tracks (more to come in free DLC) does not hurt the game as much as i thought it would, also turn of the driving assists (or lower them anyway) traction control stability control etc.. blunt and sanitise the game and take away from the raw racing on offer, one last gripe is the use of bots to fill lobbys online, i realy ont like thatand hopefully is was just a early launch day issue, anyway im off to have some more FUN Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2019
    0
    I feel stupid i pre-ordered this game. Online is lacking. There are only quick matches. You can't play with a teammate. Statistics are missing in this game. You don't have a parking garage. In online mode the starting grid seems bugged. Some players count downs are quicker then others.

    In offline the AI is really stupid. It's good to be aggressive, but this ain't aggressive, just plain
    I feel stupid i pre-ordered this game. Online is lacking. There are only quick matches. You can't play with a teammate. Statistics are missing in this game. You don't have a parking garage. In online mode the starting grid seems bugged. Some players count downs are quicker then others.

    In offline the AI is really stupid. It's good to be aggressive, but this ain't aggressive, just plain stupid. They just bump to bump. Graphics are outdated.

    I payed € 90,- for this trash. Even the original GRID is better.
    Expand
  8. Oct 21, 2019
    10
    I don't know why the use score is so low. Perhaps these dudes missed the point of this game. It is not meant for hyper-realism, nor is it NFS type kiddy racing game. While you certainly need to have a good understanding of driving dynamics, punishment for a small mistake will not be race-ending harsh. The point is to have fun. And the game certainly delivers that, which is most important.
  9. Oct 13, 2019
    9
    Just about racing, nothing more. Competion, overtake..thats it! No drift crap, no xenon light.
    Multiplayer could be more options on lobby but its good racing with all classes of cars not only one class or two, very fun!
  10. Oct 18, 2019
    4
    Cons first:
    - only a handful of tracks with a couple variants each; where's Nuerburgring, Spa, Monza, Suzuka, de la Sarthe, Laguna Seca, Monaco?
    - same goes for racing disciplines: barely any open-wheel or A-to-B sprint, no drift or drag, and endurance is there in name only. I'm guessing Codemonsters are holding back for DLC. - barebones multiplayer - poor performance despite mediocre
    Cons first:
    - only a handful of tracks with a couple variants each; where's Nuerburgring, Spa, Monza, Suzuka, de la Sarthe, Laguna Seca, Monaco?
    - same goes for racing disciplines: barely any open-wheel or A-to-B sprint, no drift or drag, and endurance is there in name only. I'm guessing Codemonsters are holding back for DLC.
    - barebones multiplayer
    - poor performance despite mediocre graphics
    - pointless teammate system, since only your personal results matter.
    Just one upside: unexpectedly large number of unlockable cosmetics (car liveries, profile designs, etc.) If this is supposed to be their norm now, I wish we could still buy TOCA Racedriver 3 digitally.
    Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2019
    10
    This game got me interested in the genre once again, I longed for a fun Simcade game since the last GRID came out.
  12. Nov 3, 2019
    8
    I´m a Dirty Rally, WRC and F1 2019 player. I am having a tremendous time with Grid, I don´t get the criticism. There are a lot of cars with different physics and I can´t believe I had to learn from scratch , the graphics, sound and IA are amazing, nemesis is fun, it´s challenging but there is a arcade-kind of thrill through it, and also enough customization for the SIM inclined playersI´m a Dirty Rally, WRC and F1 2019 player. I am having a tremendous time with Grid, I don´t get the criticism. There are a lot of cars with different physics and I can´t believe I had to learn from scratch , the graphics, sound and IA are amazing, nemesis is fun, it´s challenging but there is a arcade-kind of thrill through it, and also enough customization for the SIM inclined players like me. I bought it on discount with skepticism, and I´m a full supporter (even though there is an event that crashes my ps4, just waiting for the second update) Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2019
    6
    Codemasters will never learn. They really want to follow success of the first GRID but they failed again. GRID 2019 is as poor as GRID autosport. Driving model and graphics are kind of ok for me, but everything else is very weak for 2019. This is simply unfinished product, which becomes to be boring after several rides. All in all, it is something like poor GRID Autosport v2.0.
  14. Oct 20, 2019
    9
    Very interesting physics for the arcade. All cars are different. A lot of tracks, which is good. AI is quite good.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Nov 7, 2019
    60
    Codemasters managed to create the perfect racing atmosphere, utilizing a top-notch driving model and excellent AI, but then they kind of forgot about everything else: the car pool is tiny, the Career Mode is non-existent, the team management is lacklustre.
  2. Nov 3, 2019
    60
    GRID is a game that has excellent fundamentals, but does not go to the bottom of everything it could have proposed.
  3. CD-Action
    Oct 25, 2019
    75
    Grid will be an ideal game for subscription based services – stunning at first and tasty in small bites but unfortunately easy to forget after one week. [12/2019, p.50]