User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 73
  2. Negative: 11 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    A beautifully crafted Zoo management masterpiece. Yet another magnificent game by Frontier to perfectly compliment Planet Coaster. Highly recommended for those who like to be creative and enjoy the management aspects of sim games.
  2. Nov 16, 2019
    9
    Graphics: 7.5/10 (animals and persons sometimes stuck in objects, texture resolution is not that good)

    Gameplay: 9/10 (economy is really simple)

    Performance: 7/10 (sometimes crashes)

    Playtime: endless
    Summary: 8.5/10 -> recommended and worth full price
  3. Nov 13, 2019
    9
    This brings me back to my childhood playing the old Zoo Tycoon games, I am however missing some key features like playing as the Zoo Keeper and I also experienced a game breaking bug where my keepers wouldnt feed my flamingos... causing them to die.
  4. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    If you like tycoons and animals this is game for you. It is a little bit complex to manage a zoo but if you played Planet Coaster then it is easier than playing it without some previous experience. So if you don't know what to play then this game is made for you :D
  5. Nov 17, 2019
    10
    Absolutamente fantástico. Imperdível, até para quem não gosta do estilo. Detalhado, lindo, absolutamente customizável e muito, muito divertido. O melhor jogo do gênero de gerenciamento que já joguei, e joguei muitos.
  6. Nov 5, 2019
    10
    Okay so what to begin with... Oh man this game is so great. I was playing with my gf during beta and i thought that the game had so large content already and yet they managed to give much more content for the premiere. I wont spoiler anything and I suggest not to look up any lists of animals because you will discover them alone and wont be dissapointed. Cheers from Poland
  7. Nov 6, 2019
    9
    After 30 hours of gameplay I can definitely say this game is one of my all time favorites. I know that with how Frontier is with their game franchises, how they nurture and grow them with updates and new content, we'll hopefully be in good hands. The animals are beautiful, and the management is tricky. It is so much fun to create a habitat, or a new part of your zoo. Excited to see whatAfter 30 hours of gameplay I can definitely say this game is one of my all time favorites. I know that with how Frontier is with their game franchises, how they nurture and grow them with updates and new content, we'll hopefully be in good hands. The animals are beautiful, and the management is tricky. It is so much fun to create a habitat, or a new part of your zoo. Excited to see what the future holds for this game! Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2019
    10
    Good geme, there are some big bus but other than that is a great game, 10 of 10.
  9. Nov 5, 2019
    9
    I really loved planet coaster and yet again Frontier made a lovely simulation. The Animals and the world around them are beautiful and the simulation is really complex and is going to take a while to get just right. Planet Zoo isn't as casual as Planet Coaster so keep that in mind. I haven't had any bugs or crashes like other people here. Maybe its because of better hardware? And i do notI really loved planet coaster and yet again Frontier made a lovely simulation. The Animals and the world around them are beautiful and the simulation is really complex and is going to take a while to get just right. Planet Zoo isn't as casual as Planet Coaster so keep that in mind. I haven't had any bugs or crashes like other people here. Maybe its because of better hardware? And i do not understand a 1 Star rating if you don't like it it does not mean its utter garbage! For People who like good Simulations and beautiful animals go ahead, you won't regret the purchase! Expand
  10. Nov 19, 2019
    9
    Il est loin le temps où j’ai été autant addict à un jeu. Malgré les nombreux bugs rencontrés, parfois très entêtants, je n’arrive pas à décrocher, principalement « à cause » du mode franchise et de ses crédit de conservation (la deuxième monnaie du jeu, qui est en réalité la plus importante pour avoir les meilleurs animaux possibles).

    Les possibilités de construire un magnifique zoo
    Il est loin le temps où j’ai été autant addict à un jeu. Malgré les nombreux bugs rencontrés, parfois très entêtants, je n’arrive pas à décrocher, principalement « à cause » du mode franchise et de ses crédit de conservation (la deuxième monnaie du jeu, qui est en réalité la plus importante pour avoir les meilleurs animaux possibles).

    Les possibilités de construire un magnifique zoo sont nombreuses. Il y a en effet beaucoup d’objets de décoration disponibles. Les outils de build ne sont pas d’une prise en main simple, c’est le moins que je puisse dire, mais une fois maîtrisé, c’est une arme redoutable pour la construction. Il faudra cependant se montrer patient pour savoir poser des allées, des objets ou des bâtiments de manière extrêmement précise. Côté Workshop, les créations de joueurs ne manquent pas, plus belles les unes des autres, avec l’agréable possibilité de retirer in-game les ajouts qui ne nous plaisent finalement pas.

    Les animations des animaux sont vraiment belles, à l’image des graphismes du titre qui sont d’une manière générale très réussies. Attention cependant, il faudra une config solide pour supporter tout ça, surtout quand le parc s’agrandit et que les visiteurs affluent, vous pouvez dire adieu à vos FPS. Les effets météorologiques n’améliorent pas non plus les choses de ce jeu qui, dans l’ensemble, n’est pas franchement très bien opti, il faut le souligner.

    Avec la gestion de reproduction à suivre de très près, ainsi que bien d’autres tâches, il n’est pas toujours facile de pouvoir contempler son parc tranquillement sans avoir à mettre pause, ce qui est un peu dommage mais d’un autre côté, pas le temps de s’ennuyer ! Un système de notification mieux pensé aurait bien aidé sur ce coup là.

    La partie multijoueur se limite au marché des espèces via les crédits de conservation cité plus haut. Dommage que l’on ne puisse pas allez visiter les zoos d’autres joueurs, et pourquoi pas même leurs mettre une note sur cinq étoiles, note qui serait visible, avec un concours hebdomadaire pour élire les plus belles franchises !
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    80
    Planet Zoo is a great journey to the world of exotic animals, kept in captivity for the eyes of others. It is a complex, generous and beautiful game with lots of interesting ideas. The tax for its generosity is bad controls and higher hardware requirements. [Issue#300]
  2. Feb 11, 2020
    80
    Planet Zoo is a fantastic zoo management game that I wholeheartedly recommend, whether you’re looking for some Zoo Tycoon nostalgia kicks, or simply love animals. It’s admittedly not a massive leap forward from previous zoo games, but the conservation focus and gorgeous visual polish revitalises the genre for modern audiences.
  3. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2020
    85
    I played the game almost non-stop for several days and I feared that after this kind of marathon I will forever hate it but it didn’t happen. Planet Zoo educates and entertains – in marvellous scenery to boot. [01/2020, p.62]