Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Dec 5, 2019
    90
    Nearly flawless, Planet Zoo is a masterpiece of tycoon simulation, and is one of the most relaxing, engaging, and fantastical pieces of entertainment of 2019. It's a showcase of fun mechanics, and it really draws from the wealth of experience in Frontier Developments as a developer. It's impossible not to recommend this to anyone who has even a passing notion about the genre. Get this!
  2. Nov 22, 2019
    90
    Planet Zoo is simply wonderful; a bright and breezy park builder that gushes with enthusiasm for its charges. There’s depth to spare here, pushing further than either of Frontier’s most recent management games have, and it leans into its own identity, with a keen eye for the importance of education, animal welfare and preservation.
  3. Nov 18, 2019
    90
    Planet Zoo is a complex and deep sim management title that’s carefully crafted to offer hours of meaningful and educational enjoyment.
  4. Nov 5, 2019
    90
    Planet Zoo is the culmination of the best parts of Frontier’s previous efforts, but is far more than the sum of its parts. Hundreds of creatures, both cute and deadly, need homes, and it’s up to you to help them thrive and survive. While a few bugs hamper the overall experience, this is another simulation game that’ll keep me building sprawling and ever evolving parks for hundreds of hours to come.
  5. Nov 25, 2019
    88
    Planet Zoo is a new step in simulation games that is backed by a large community and has enormous potential for expansion.
  6. Nov 5, 2019
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Dec 16, 2019
    87
    I suspect that many players will have an uneven time with Planet Zoo. At times, it's pretty straightforward and provides the player with plenty of feedback so they can improve their zoo. Other times, the game has you digging around in areas that are unnecessarily tough to figure out, with tutorials that barely touch on the feature (if at all). The thing with Planet Zoo is that it is so charming and appealing that the fun parts outweigh the frustrating ones. It's not a perfect game in the genre, but it is one of the best ones you can play right now.
  8. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2020
    85
    I played the game almost non-stop for several days and I feared that after this kind of marathon I will forever hate it but it didn’t happen. Planet Zoo educates and entertains – in marvellous scenery to boot. [01/2020, p.62]
  9. Dec 16, 2019
    85
    A tremendous game that really pushes the boundaries. Both an excellent educational resource, and a superb time sink. This would be a perfect-scoring title if it wasn’t for a few too many bugs and stability issues, but I still recommend it incredibly highly.
  10. Dec 9, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a beautiful zoo simulator that shines in options, depth and challenge, and it gives you the possibility to build true gems. Every now and again Planet Zoo drops the ball when talking about smaller animals and building options, but the messing around is more than worth it.
  11. Dec 9, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a very entertaining title for the fans of strategy genre, as good visuals, smooth gameplay, great customization features and a huge amount of animals and insects to play with in the Zoo, make it one of the best strategy games of 2019.
  12. Gamer.nl
    Nov 29, 2019
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Nov 25, 2019
    85
    In the here and now, Planet Zoo is the best zoo management game around and it’s not even close. It also features far stronger management systems than Frontier has ever achieved before, culminating in a fantastic package for tycoon and animal fans alike. There’s a lot to love here, even if the scope for creativity can’t hope to match Planet Coaster.
  14. Nov 13, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a wildly satisfying park-builder with a menagerie of lovely looking animals.
  15. Nov 8, 2019
    85
    It seems impossible not to enjoy the construction and management experience proposed by Planet Zoo.
  16. Nov 6, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a true zoo-sim, full of details and love for the nature.
  17. Nov 6, 2019
    85
    Planet Zoo is a great management game that lets you impose your own goals and always gives you something to strive for. With incredible graphical fidelity, a huge overlapping array of mechanics to balance and incredible detail, the only issue is the sometimes annoying controls.
  18. Nov 5, 2019
    85
    Even with occasional design quirks and bugs holding it back, I adore this game as is. Similar to Planet Coaster, I think it'll get better over time, and Frontier will surely flesh out the species list with DLC packs. But even if that doesn't happen, I'll be satisfied. Some of us have been waiting decades for a game like Planet Zoo to come along and scratch our Zoo Tycoon itch. Now that it's here, I can't get enough.
  19. Nov 5, 2019
    85
    Frontier succeeds in doing what we all wanted with Planet Zoo: to offer Planet Coaster's freedom of expression and creation, paired with a worthwhile management game. Icing on the cake, they also bring a game full of caring messages and pro-animal activism, contrasted with a cold observation about the capitalism involved in the animal rehabilitation. Despite some problems related to the construction or the interface, it's beautiful, it's complete, and we can spend dozens of hours perfecting our park or taking care of the sad little fur balls.
  20. Nov 5, 2019
    84
    Planet Zoo has instantly awakened memories of carefree childhood.
  21. Nov 15, 2019
    83
    Planet Zoo is undoubtedly the most authentic zoo simulator you can play, perhaps to an extent that will deter some people. While micro-management and organization can be frustrating at times, the beauty of your creations, welfare of your animals, and happiness of your guests makes all that effort worthwhile.
  22. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    80
    Planet Zoo is a great journey to the world of exotic animals, kept in captivity for the eyes of others. It is a complex, generous and beautiful game with lots of interesting ideas. The tax for its generosity is bad controls and higher hardware requirements. [Issue#300]
  23. Feb 11, 2020
    80
    Planet Zoo is a fantastic zoo management game that I wholeheartedly recommend, whether you’re looking for some Zoo Tycoon nostalgia kicks, or simply love animals. It’s admittedly not a massive leap forward from previous zoo games, but the conservation focus and gorgeous visual polish revitalises the genre for modern audiences.
  24. Jan 2, 2020
    80
    Planet Zoo is a complex management simulator, with tons and tons of options, which is why sometimes we miss more tutorials. However, it’s also very rewarding and deep, and this makes it ideal for more experienced players.
  25. Dec 19, 2019
    80
    The Dark Souls of zoo tycoon sims. Start slower than you'd like to, YouTube yet another tutorial, then watch Planet Zoo blossom before your eyes. This is a slow, mindful, niche of a sim that demands more patience and learning than you'd expect.
  26. Edge Magazine
    Dec 5, 2019
    80
    For now, though, we'll settle for appreciating those moments, the ones that outlast the frustrations, where we sit back in our chair and marvel at the results of our own work. And on that basis, Planet Zoo is a triumph. [Issue#340, p.102]
  27. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is a nice heir to Planet Coaster and Zoo Tycoon with colorful visuals and a rich gameplay. Still, the game lacks any kind of birds or sealife, but i guess that's what DLC's are for.
  28. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo will first make you remember Zoo Tycoon and then happily forget it when you realize you’ve got yourself a new game, as good as its ancient predecessor.
  29. 80
    Hands down, it’s the best zoo management game available, so if that’s what you’re looking for then you’ve found it. I think there’s so much more to come for Planet Zoo though. This humble beginning will no doubt grow in something much greater supported by the community. I’d love to see things such as the option for water parks in the future and have no doubt there’ll be plenty of DLC coming over the next few years. As humans, we are infinitely fascinated by nature and it’s great to finally have a digital playground to explore that.
  30. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    Mistakes, creature deaths and restarts are likely to happen here to gain the most out of Planet Zoo, but like real life, no one really magically makes a fantastic zoo on their first go, and with the lessons learned from Jurassic Park Evolution, Frontier Developments has made Planet Zoo a better game than its dinosaur filled predecessor, and is by far the best zoo management/builder you can play today.
  31. 80
    Planet Zoo is to zoo management games what Planet Coaster is to theme park management games—a spiritual successor to tycoon games of days gone by, with more depth and more freedom for creativity than ever. Some of the more complex elements can take a while to really click, but when they do, Planet Zoo becomes an engrossing experience.
  32. Nov 24, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo, considered as a Zoo Tycoon spiritual successor, proposes a fun experience in where you can manage your own zoo, care your animals, improve the facilities and surprise your customers.
  33. Nov 22, 2019
    80
    Overall, Planet Zoo is a decent zoo simulator that gives the impression of being easy and light-hearted, but goes a little bit too deep into micromanaging and bogs the gameplay down much of the time. Slower pacing, clearer instructions and some randomized landscapes for your own zoos would work wonders and make the game more enjoyable to younger gamers as well. Future updates will probably address some of these issues and also fix the tutorials that sometimes miss that you have already done what you were asked to do and fail to move to the next step.
  34. Nov 19, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is an excellent zoo management sim with an impressive campaign and terrific graphics.
  35. Nov 18, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is another great game of Frontier Developments. The way it modernize the Tycoon genre, is really interesting and a most have to all the fans of this kind of games.
  36. Nov 18, 2019
    80
    Despite the odd issue, Planet Zoo is easily the best modern zoo management title available today.
  37. Nov 12, 2019
    80
    Impressive. Its good heart and dedication to customization makes it a seriously strong sim, and one that fans of gaming management will be wise to check on. With options for structured play and freeform creation, it's hard to see how Planet Zoo could disappoint, in spite of its occasional foibles.
  38. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    When creating a business sim that attempts to capture the subject matter, a fine line needs to be walked. It can’t get too deep in the weeds of minutia without offering real explanations, nor can it make those explanations boring. On the other hand, it can’t make it too simple, as the subject matter is a huge draw to a specific audience. Planet Zoo pulls off the act and manages to be a great time for it. Plus, people will accidentally learn about the subject matter without ever feeling like they are playing a dreaded “educational” game. There are myriad technical issues that keep the title from being perfect and some of them are biggies. Based on Frontier Developments’ track record, these will be smoothed out in the coming weeks and months. Once this is done, Planet Zoo is arguably the best of this type of game to date.
  39. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    It’s clear that earlier Frontier games like Kinectimals, Zoo Tycoon and Planet Coaster have been stage-setters for this ultimate zoo sim. Whether you enjoy theme park builders, economic sims or most importantly, creating the zoo of your dreams, Planet Zoo will satisfy you, but be prepared for an order of complexity that the previous games managed to avoid, or at least hid a little better. Although it lacks an “immediate gratification” mode, Planet Zoo is still an amazing tool for exercising your imagination and enjoying your love of animals.
  40. Nov 11, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo has turned out to be a complete, satisfying product, capable of entertaining a wide audience, thanks to its intuitive interface, accompanied by intriguing graphics and a complete localization in Italian.
  41. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    If your passion is building in videogames and you love animals, Planet Zoo is one of your best options if you have a PC.
  42. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is the best zoo management game ever. If you're an animals lover, you can't skip it. There are pathfinding issues that can break immersion sometimes, easily forgivable and forgettable. Cute, handsome, deep, intelligent and with a gigantic lifespan, Planet Zoo is making the Tycoon genre great again.
  43. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo was one of the games I was most looking forward to this year. With several preview events, I just had a good feeling that Frontier Developments was playing to the strengths of Planet Coaster and Jurassic World: Evolution, giving us the best build up simulation in recent times. I wasn't disappointed either, although in my opinion there is still room for improvement. The first campaign missions explain a lot of details, but how I now sensibly design a zoo from start to finish was not explained to me. Also the user interface and the handling could be a little more clear and handy - draping certain items in the enclosures really cost me my nerves! It's also a pity that the franchise mode is currently struggling with server problems and so the heart of the game doesn't work yet.
  44. Nov 7, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is a great tycoon made in the age where tycoon games seem extinct. And it's pretty much the best game for animal lovers. But not for every animal lover. Patient and talented builders will create new and improved parks, achieving new levels of satisfaction. Others (and by this I mean almost everybody) will become bored after a few hours.
  45. Nov 6, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is the best zoo management game that you can find. It has a lovely and colourful technical approach, and a lot of content, but suffers from weak ergonomy, tutorials, and pathfinding.
  46. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    For all its problems—and there are many—Planet Zoo is one of the most satisfying builders I’ve ever played. Maybe not on the management side, which is still a thin and easily manipulated veneer. Guest opinions are weirdly arbitrary, as is cash flow. If you’re looking for a “difficult” builder, Planet Zoo ain’t it. I’m here to build my dream zoo though, and for that there’s no better option. After 30 hours I’ve yet to acquire some of the rarer animals—lions, orangutans, gorillas, rhinos. I’m also far from exhausting the themes, having barely touched the “New World” and “Indian” sets. There’s a lot here.
  47. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    Planet Zoo is a complex, deep simulation game with too much to give, if you can get past the minimalist tutorials.
  48. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    Frontier delivers a richly detailed and visually glorious zoo creation sim for genre fans, newbies, and animal lovers alike, bloated only a little by a few clumsy interfacing points.
  49. Nov 14, 2019
    78
    This is more of an animal-based sandbox builder than zoo simulation with management ambition. If you are into aesthetics and love your wild animals, you might spend a lot of time in your personal animal kingdom.
  50. Nov 20, 2019
    75
    It is undeniably a beautiful achievement that seamlessly ties together wildlife education and environmental consciousness, and the emotional attachment you will create with your animals makes for an engaging simulation unlike any other.
  51. Nov 5, 2019
    75
    Another strong (yet stressful) management sim from Frontier Developments.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 5, 2019
    The sandbox mode is a thing of wonder, and the animals and crowds both add immensely to the cheery atmosphere...Management mode is again a disappointment.
  2. Nov 8, 2019
    Despite these issues, I couldn’t help but love Planet Zoo for what it is: a game about trying to make the world a little better, by making sure some animals are well looked after. From its story beats about protecting animal welfare in the case of evil capitalists trying to drive profits, to the first time I was able to release a set of endangered pygmy hippos back into the wild, I felt like all my stress was working toward something.
  3. It’s buggy, intermittently opaque, frequently saccharine, and – barring an eleventh hour miracle – it’s my undisputed game of the year. Because here’s the thing: it’s a game where you can build your own zoo. And by thunder, it delivers on that promise. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 74
  2. Negative: 11 out of 74
  1. Nov 5, 2019
    1
    Given what the game *could* be this is a potential 8. Unfortunately it was decided to sell it to people in this bug-riddled state whereGiven what the game *could* be this is a potential 8. Unfortunately it was decided to sell it to people in this bug-riddled state where neither staff nor animals survive an hour without getting caught in some faulty coding, glitches and general wonkyness. It's a great game for the 5 minutes it takes to watch a trailer, but be careful to not get attached to the animals because they will starve to death thanks to bad AI, and don't put too much work into anything because you will lose your progress thanks to crashes.

    All of this was reported during the beta of this game, and yet here we are. Don't give into the hype. All you are going to miss out on is frustration and wasted time, and in a few month - maybe - you'll get the beautiful graphics and great animations and working mechanics on top of that.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2019
    10
    Okay so what to begin with... Oh man this game is so great. I was playing with my gf during beta and i thought that the game had so largeOkay so what to begin with... Oh man this game is so great. I was playing with my gf during beta and i thought that the game had so large content already and yet they managed to give much more content for the premiere. I wont spoiler anything and I suggest not to look up any lists of animals because you will discover them alone and wont be dissapointed. Cheers from Poland Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2019
    10
    A beautifully crafted Zoo management masterpiece. Yet another magnificent game by Frontier to perfectly compliment Planet Coaster. HighlyA beautifully crafted Zoo management masterpiece. Yet another magnificent game by Frontier to perfectly compliment Planet Coaster. Highly recommended for those who like to be creative and enjoy the management aspects of sim games. Full Review »