User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 284

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    A duke nukem wannabe... that bends the knee.
    Buy it today and lose all content the next day.
    Edit: The game is not getting censored anymore, but people are most likely still going to remember the « betrayal » to some extent. The company needs to take this as a lesson and move forward. Nobody knows how they'll censor their future games after this, but this game is worth buying and
    A duke nukem wannabe... that bends the knee.
    Buy it today and lose all content the next day.

    Edit: The game is not getting censored anymore, but people are most likely still going to remember the « betrayal » to some extent. The company needs to take this as a lesson and move forward. Nobody knows how they'll censor their future games after this, but this game is worth buying and playing if you like old school FPS.
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    Its an OG shooter in the form of quake and Duke Nukem.The game has a great sense of humour and if you dont like it , dont play it.
  3. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Censorship and SJW garbage

    In sort; so a few people was Offend by some stuff in the game so Ion ended up patching content from the game. talking down their own team with sensitivity training and bending the knee to Sjw snowflakes who even doesn't buy the game and play it.. and even they are giving these snowflaks our money for "damage control" thanks for **** Ion fury. you lost a
    Censorship and SJW garbage

    In sort; so a few people was Offend by some stuff in the game so Ion ended up patching content from the game. talking down their own team with sensitivity training and bending the knee to Sjw snowflakes who even doesn't buy the game and play it.. and even they are giving these snowflaks our money for "damage control"

    thanks for **** Ion fury. you lost a ****load of future customers..
    Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2019
    0
    Censorship is immoral. **** this game, **** 3D Realms. Refunded, and not looking back.
  5. Aug 20, 2019
    4
    Pros;
    Overall design is good;
    A lot of secrets, a lot of tiny details like ability to push every single button in game (like on things that are just part of environment), animated voxels; Cons: Enemies couldn't boast with variety and intelligence; All weapons are reloadable, but there's no bullet count in mag, yeah reloads are fast, but still, it wouldn’t be worse if it was here;
    Pros;
    Overall design is good;
    A lot of secrets, a lot of tiny details like ability to push every single button in game (like on things that are just part of environment), animated voxels;
    Cons:
    Enemies couldn't boast with variety and intelligence;
    All weapons are reloadable, but there's no bullet count in mag, yeah reloads are fast, but still, it wouldn’t be worse if it was here;
    Shelly's voice is just cringy and annoying (overacting and something else), atleast all Build engine games always has ability to shut player up;
    Game is fast (and it's good!...), but it have things that slow gameplay down (example: pumping shotgun, why it's pumpung? It is future or not? Why it's not autoloader?);
    Devs are bunch of **** and cucks that instead of ignoring snowflakes, support them;

    Worth it buying - NO
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Don't buy this censored trash. The developer censored the game due to some non-gamers' complain.
  7. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Duke Nukem 3D, Blood and Shadow Warrior were Build Engine masterpieces.

    But this game bent the knee instead of kicking ass and chewing gum.
  8. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    well just got my refund, what a **** developer, cant even stick to there own convictions, giving in to NPC SJW's, for a split second I thought it was something real, but its just another weak spineless developer.
  9. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Game looked cool but you go and bend the knee to resetera and now going to patch out jokes, you deserve to fail and i hope you do.
  10. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Where thinking on buying this game, but hearing how they are bending a knee for SJW i'll think i will pass on this game
  11. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Don't trust the publishers (3D Realms) at all.

    They sent their devs off to 'sensitivity training' because political activist mob from Resetera kicked some feigned outrage of a harmless joke and some totally nonsensical debug text left on wall that contained the word ****

    This from the former publishers of Duke Nukem. What an embarassment. Who do they think their customers are?
  12. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    Where do I even start? This game takes me right back to 1996 to the first time i ever played Duke Nukem 3D, but it is SO much more than Duke ever was. If Duke Nukem 3D, Blood and Shadow Warrior were Build Engine masterpieces, the this is the Magnum Opus.
  13. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Really wanted to love this game, but knowing that much of the game's charm will be lost due to an upcoming patch has soured me on it. Why can't devs just release a game with character and an identity of its own without caving to SJW's with too much time on their hands? Pathetic and really disappointing.
  14. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    You like old-school shooters? How about one that isn't pretending to be one, and literally runs on an old-school engine? The sprite work is absolutely glorious, the music is pumping, and the guns knock baddies down in visceral violence just like the old days. Cheesy one liners? Absolutely got'em. Level design? Fantastic. It's one of the best displays 3D Realms has given of their BuildYou like old-school shooters? How about one that isn't pretending to be one, and literally runs on an old-school engine? The sprite work is absolutely glorious, the music is pumping, and the guns knock baddies down in visceral violence just like the old days. Cheesy one liners? Absolutely got'em. Level design? Fantastic. It's one of the best displays 3D Realms has given of their Build Engine, and I highly recommend giving it an honest go.

    Pick it up. It's good. Tell your friends.
    Expand
  15. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    Greatest game of 2019, no doubts. Those who rate it negative either are bad at boomer shooters, or are just sad cause mommy can't hold their hand. Git Gud skrubs. :)
  16. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    When I told people about my interest in this, I got the same responses every time: ''you really think a 20-year-old engine will cut it nowadays?'', ''looks like another one of those pretentious indie cash grabs to me''.
    I'm also seeing a lot of mixed online reviews from people who clearly didn't grow up with 90's retro shooters and I kinda see where they're coming from but to them I say:
    When I told people about my interest in this, I got the same responses every time: ''you really think a 20-year-old engine will cut it nowadays?'', ''looks like another one of those pretentious indie cash grabs to me''.
    I'm also seeing a lot of mixed online reviews from people who clearly didn't grow up with 90's retro shooters and I kinda see where they're coming from but to them I say: I CAN'T HEAR YOU, I'M IN THE PAST AND LIKING IT!
    Back in 1996 I lived for Doom and Duke Nukem 3D, that's why I'm so happy that Ion Fury didn't turn out to be one of those cash grabs because there are indeed PLENTY of those. The whole concept of nostalgia sells and everyone is trying to exploit your fond memories of the past to fill their own pockets.
    This was made by people that obviously have a deep-rooted love for these types of games, with handmade maps and tons of secrets in them for the player to find (the way it should be!).
    The devs could've gone for the Doom 2016 approach; making a faithful continuation of a legacy in a shiny new coat of paint. Instead 3D Realms and Voidpoint went all the way with the retro theme and decided to just push the 20-year-old Build engine to its absolute limits, creating not just a homage, but PURE MAGIC.
    In my opinion 2D games, or games that use 2D sprites in some way age better than the true 3D games and Ion Fury is proof to me that it can STILL work in a first person shooter, even in a time where VR headsets and ultra-realistic graphics that suck your GPU dry are the norm. What good are your amazing graphics anyway if you only have a linear path to follow?
    If you like retro shooters but are tired of playing the likes of Doom, Duke3d and Blood for the billionth time, or if you're tired of modern games that are incomplete, filled with bugs and need 50gb first-day patches to even function at a basic level, then Ion Fury is for YOU!
    Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    Ion Fury is a excellent addition to the collection of FPS games powered by Build engine, and it manages to surpass most of them with it's superior levels; the levels have alot of detail like trash in the streets, graffiti on alley walls, and other smaller things all over the levels, they look amazing for a extremely old engine, and they play like a dream. It, in my personal opinion,Ion Fury is a excellent addition to the collection of FPS games powered by Build engine, and it manages to surpass most of them with it's superior levels; the levels have alot of detail like trash in the streets, graffiti on alley walls, and other smaller things all over the levels, they look amazing for a extremely old engine, and they play like a dream. It, in my personal opinion, surpasses all Build shooters apart from Blood; the weapons are not as creative, and the movement is not as fluid. The movement and weapons in IF are by no means uncreative, and the movement is really good, it's just that Blood surpasses IF. If you like the new wave of retro-styled shooters, Ion Fury is a must-own. Expand
  18. Aug 20, 2019
    2
    I am really offended by the disgusting body shaming on the cover by putting a skinny girl. Since they have started apologizing they should apologize for that too.
  19. Mar 4, 2018
    9
    I'll be glad to be the first to to review this lovely homage to old school FPS games. Ion maiden while pretty short will keep you hooked for it's 1-2 hours of gameplay. Onto the review then

    Pros: -The art style is gorgeous. This game runs on the Build engine which is 20 years old and it still makes the game look surprisingly good. -The gameplay. Man the gameplay. If you love old
    I'll be glad to be the first to to review this lovely homage to old school FPS games. Ion maiden while pretty short will keep you hooked for it's 1-2 hours of gameplay. Onto the review then

    Pros:
    -The art style is gorgeous. This game runs on the Build engine which is 20 years old and it still makes the game look surprisingly good.
    -The gameplay. Man the gameplay. If you love old school FPS games like Blood and Shadow Warrior you'll love the **** out of this. It's fast paced, with open ended levels for you to explore and discover secrets in. It's a blast

    Cons:
    -Why is it so short? And why can't i get to play the full game now?

    There's nothing more to say..buy it,buy it,buy it
    Expand
  20. Aug 16, 2019
    0
    Not too impressed. Feels like a Duke mod that should have been released for free. Very bland and redundant level design. Did they have any Q/A? Its either super easy or impossible. Not very well optimized either, I've got a pretty decent machine and yet it struggles. Pretty telling that 3DR didn't even make the game themselves. Their last few releases have been awful. Hope they at leastNot too impressed. Feels like a Duke mod that should have been released for free. Very bland and redundant level design. Did they have any Q/A? Its either super easy or impossible. Not very well optimized either, I've got a pretty decent machine and yet it struggles. Pretty telling that 3DR didn't even make the game themselves. Their last few releases have been awful. Hope they at least paid these VoidPoint guys well. Expand
  21. Aug 16, 2019
    1
    This game is so bad with that weird AI and game is so generic. I don't know what happened to the 3D Realms we know. I don't know how people are giving positive reviews on this lol.
  22. Aug 16, 2019
    0
    Don't believe the hype. This is over rated garbage. Save your money. I wish I saved mine. There is even a Steam sticky thread for users with input lag issues and other problems. Avoid at all costs.
  23. Aug 15, 2019
    0
    Have to be honest, Ion Fury is pretty lame. AI is weird and all over the place, weapons and enemies don't seem balanced, everything about it is very generic too. 3D Realms has great PR, no question about that. Its just the game isn't that fun. Its nowhere near Duke 3D or Blood. I don't understand what everyone is raving about, especially the "professional" critics. Had this come out in theHave to be honest, Ion Fury is pretty lame. AI is weird and all over the place, weapons and enemies don't seem balanced, everything about it is very generic too. 3D Realms has great PR, no question about that. Its just the game isn't that fun. Its nowhere near Duke 3D or Blood. I don't understand what everyone is raving about, especially the "professional" critics. Had this come out in the 90's, I'm pretty sure it would have been lost in the shuffle. You are better off buying one of the classics for $5-$10, than spending $25 on this. Just my two cents. Expand
  24. Aug 16, 2019
    0
    What a mess! I can't even play it. What game are these youtubers playing? Its not Ion Fury!
  25. Oct 10, 2019
    7
    Ion Fury is a game that tries to live up from the nostalgia fever that we live today, recreating the classic FPS experience of games from the DOOM era that includes Shadow Warrior, Blood and Duke Nukem 3D... but, at the end the game gets boring after some time playing and a mess.
    I won't deny that the level design is amazing in this game, the level designers really push the Built engine
    Ion Fury is a game that tries to live up from the nostalgia fever that we live today, recreating the classic FPS experience of games from the DOOM era that includes Shadow Warrior, Blood and Duke Nukem 3D... but, at the end the game gets boring after some time playing and a mess.
    I won't deny that the level design is amazing in this game, the level designers really push the Built engine to it's limits delivering huge detailed maps, but this is one of it's problems... as the game objectives mostly consist on collecting color keys and activating some switches to progress into the game this huge maps can became a maze at times and collecting this keys became a nightmare getting constantly lost (that is if you have disorientation problems like me). What was really cool from the classic fps that this game imitates was that the levels were small or even huge but well built that was easy to find the keys, the only problem with those games was finding the secret areas, but, this game takes some time to find the keys and even more secret areas which by the way there are many per level.
    The combat really shines being brutal in higher levels just like the old times, it will really push your reactions so you won't get kill, and off course, ammo can be scarce.
    The game does a really bad job into telling you what to do next or were to go.
    Now the games has it's weapon arsenal but, the weapons are not that fun to use except the shotgun, but the rest of the guns you will barely use them (at least i barely use most of them, cause it was better to use the shotgun).
    SO... i'm not saying that the game is bad, but it does not reach the same high as DOOM, specially, the only problem this game really have is it's levels, trying to mix some classic level design with the modern open area of today's level design is not a good mix after all.
    Expand
  26. Feb 5, 2020
    10
    I think its all that build engine can do! Great game like in 90s Shadow Warrior or Duke Nukem!
  27. Aug 27, 2019
    8
    A game for fans longing for the good ole days of shooters. Glad they made the decision to not censor after all.
  28. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    Love the game, thanks for not bowing down the disgusting forum called "ResetEra". Great game with amazing gameplay and NO CENSORSHIP.
  29. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    Finally, an honest response from Voidpoint. That was all I wanted.

    Now this score represents only the game. I encourage everybody that made a negative review, to check their twitter/Steam page. They didn't address the "sensitivity training" BS, but I honestly think they understood the message we were trying to tell.
  30. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    A great game wasted on the spineless publisher that is 3D Realms. I cannot in good conscience support this cowardice.
  31. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    If you support artistic and personal freedom do not bother with this game. The developers are sending their staff to re-education training and removing content from the game to appease a vocal minority of authoritarian zealots who currently seem hellbent on sapping every last drop of creative freedom out of the gaming industry.
  32. Aug 20, 2019
    0
    Ramon! This Game Stinks! Ramon! 3D Realms Is a Sad Excuse for a Game Publisher!
  33. Sep 3, 2019
    5
    I really wanted to enjoy this game, but the stuttering became progressively worse until I was unable to continue.
  34. Aug 26, 2019
    6
    New review:
    So... the news just in - 3DR is decided to not censor game in any way, shape or form. That's the right choice and good way to go. I'll wait some time to see if ther really mean it and repurchase it.
    Old review: Game is really good, but man - 3DRealms know how to attack their own fans, to please people who despise their work anyway. The backstab I haven't seen coming :/
    New review:
    So... the news just in - 3DR is decided to not censor game in any way, shape or form. That's the right choice and good way to go. I'll wait some time to see if ther really mean it and repurchase it.

    Old review:
    Game is really good, but man - 3DRealms know how to attack their own fans, to please people who despise their work anyway. The backstab I haven't seen coming :/
    With super escalating something that should be minor net drama, 3DRealms did more harm to gamers and player community than I thought it's possible.
    I really wanned to support the devs (as I belive, small team of creators are main victim in this whole debuckle - thrown under the bus by one dev&3DR) but refunding this game is what's best for us - players, in the long run.
    Shame.
    Expand
  35. Aug 20, 2019
    4
    Almost two hours I loved this game. Excellent throwback with fastpaced action, satisfying guns and lots of secrets. Really liked Cpl. Shelly and how unapologetic all the jokes in the game were.

    However, due to recent events of the developer capitulating to Resetera forum complaints and instilling self-censorship, I am getting a refund. Its a damn shame too because I liked this game how
    Almost two hours I loved this game. Excellent throwback with fastpaced action, satisfying guns and lots of secrets. Really liked Cpl. Shelly and how unapologetic all the jokes in the game were.

    However, due to recent events of the developer capitulating to Resetera forum complaints and instilling self-censorship, I am getting a refund. Its a damn shame too because I liked this game how it was before this unnecessary change.

    I will pirate this now. I want the original version, not the censored version. F you 3D realms. Serve your masters in Resetera.
    Expand
  36. Aug 17, 2019
    10
    -( 1 )- 12 hours of amazing level design, many times higher detail than previous Build games.
    -( 2 )- Tons of hand-painted sprite works, at twice the detail level of DN3D and 4 times that of Doom 2.
    -( 3 )- Large arsenal of creative weapons with secondary fire modes.
    -( 4 )- Amazing TRACKER music, just like in the 90s!
  37. Aug 20, 2019
    4
    Just a cheap try from 3DR to return to 90s... when people where people where not afraid to voice their opinion... Yet they bow to an angry mob of sjw... On the game side, it's quite boring the same levels over and over, the same red soldiers and so on and on. Don't buy this game.
  38. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    My personal game of the year. The combat is great, the visual design is lavish and striking, the music is eargasm and the level design is choke-full of detail and style. Any old school shooter afficionado owes it to themself to play this one. The team at Voidpoint managed to make a true fourth Build engine classic. Ion Fury is what Duke Nukem Forever should've been. If you ever liked DukeMy personal game of the year. The combat is great, the visual design is lavish and striking, the music is eargasm and the level design is choke-full of detail and style. Any old school shooter afficionado owes it to themself to play this one. The team at Voidpoint managed to make a true fourth Build engine classic. Ion Fury is what Duke Nukem Forever should've been. If you ever liked Duke Nukem 3D, Shadow Warrior '97 or Blood - well, you probably already own it. But if you don't, buy it. These guys get it when it comes to OG FPS and the work they put into this title is nothing short of astounding. Expand
  39. Aug 16, 2019
    9
    Do we need the shooters built on the same principles as 20 years ago in our day and age? Ion Fury tries to convince the players that we do, and here's why. Under the cover of low-res textures and sprite-based enemies is what modern games of the genre lack. First of all, it's the gorgeous level design in which you want to explore every corner and every corridor, since in most cases you canDo we need the shooters built on the same principles as 20 years ago in our day and age? Ion Fury tries to convince the players that we do, and here's why. Under the cover of low-res textures and sprite-based enemies is what modern games of the genre lack. First of all, it's the gorgeous level design in which you want to explore every corner and every corridor, since in most cases you can get into the same room in different ways. And that's beside the visual design which deserves some praise of its own. Voidpoint did a great job and made Build engine work overtime. And the game can give you the false impression that it's a total conversion of Duke Nukem 3D, but half an hour later this impression is nowhere to be seen, the player finds the enemies' location-based damage, the weapons' alt-fire modes, the puzzles that weren't in the shooters back then and most certainly aren't these days. The music deserves some particular praise. In this game it's both punchy electronic pieces and more soothing tracks, that highlight the gloomy world of Neo DC. At the end of the day, Ion Fury perfectly combines both the basis of the shooter games from the latter half of the 90s and the mechanics that weren't privvy to that time period. And I think that not only should the people who miss the older games give Ion Fury a try, but also those who are tired from linear shootouts with hour-long story cutscenes. It is pure concentrated gameplay that keeps you engaged from the start and to the finale. Expand
  40. Aug 21, 2019
    0
    at first the game looked really good, just like Duke Nukem 3D, but then 3D realms decided to apologize to SJW's and started to mess with the game by deleting stuff... just sad...
  41. Aug 21, 2019
    0
    Good job 3D Realms on caving to the social justice mob over on REEEsetera. At the end of the day, you needlessly wasted $10K on some stupid LGBTQ charity (money that could have been given to your employees), forced your employees to take "sensitivity training" courses, failed to appease the angry SJWs, and pissed off the people who actually bought your game. You know, the kind of peopleGood job 3D Realms on caving to the social justice mob over on REEEsetera. At the end of the day, you needlessly wasted $10K on some stupid LGBTQ charity (money that could have been given to your employees), forced your employees to take "sensitivity training" courses, failed to appease the angry SJWs, and pissed off the people who actually bought your game. You know, the kind of people who hate political correctness and identity politics, and wouldn't be caught dead on Resetera. Clearly you know who your target audience is. And now there's talk that you'll be censoring offensive parts of the game. It's time to sit down and figure out who the hell you are, because you don't seem to be the same company who made Duke Nukem 3D over 20 years ago. You know what CD Projekt Red and Warhorse Studios did when the crazies on Resetera were outraged at them? They IGNORED THEM. Too bad you didn't do the same. And by the way, the Voidpoint devs were 100% correct when they said that parents shouldn't be deciding if their children are trans at birth. It's not "transphobia", it's common sense. Expand
  42. Aug 21, 2019
    0
    I was thinking of buying, but after I learned that the company prostituted itself to SJW I will sure as hell move away from this game! You producers are really cowards, surrendering to a few victimized sjws who take offense at anything and who will NOT even buy your game, while you guys dont give a **** about your own fanbase that PLAY and BUY your **** game! You do not deserve my money.I was thinking of buying, but after I learned that the company prostituted itself to SJW I will sure as hell move away from this game! You producers are really cowards, surrendering to a few victimized sjws who take offense at anything and who will NOT even buy your game, while you guys dont give a **** about your own fanbase that PLAY and BUY your **** game! You do not deserve my money. Screw all of you. Expand
  43. Aug 21, 2019
    0
    Got this refunded by steam, and i've downloaded it for free instead. Don't allow censorship in games
  44. Aug 21, 2019
    0
    The AI is strange. The weapons are mediocre. Much of the humor and content is under fire. There are censorship updates that are mandatory which alter the game experience. This was marketed as a no holds barred retro style game with a gritty attitude.

    Taking away from that attitude takes away from the experience. Scott Miller of 3D Realms even said that if they lose customers because of
    The AI is strange. The weapons are mediocre. Much of the humor and content is under fire. There are censorship updates that are mandatory which alter the game experience. This was marketed as a no holds barred retro style game with a gritty attitude.

    Taking away from that attitude takes away from the experience. Scott Miller of 3D Realms even said that if they lose customers because of it, than so be it.

    Well, Scott, I am happy to oblige.
    Expand
  45. Aug 22, 2019
    10
    A masterful edition to the build engine library! Pay no attention to the edgelords bombing the score, they're angry with politics not the game. Game is **** awesome.
  46. Aug 25, 2019
    10
    Best 3D shooter of 2019! Plz support this project, or we will play only at garbage pay 2 win or game-services.
  47. Aug 27, 2019
    7
    Brought back some nice memories. C'mon guys the site is supposed to help other people to make a meaningful decision whether to buy this game or not. All these 0s are completely ridiculous as well as all the 10s. Grow up. It's a decent game with some very good moments, it's not perfect but it's not garbage as well.
  48. Nov 5, 2019
    0
    This game is absolutely terrible. AI is the worst part. Clearly a nostalgia cash grab. Save your money!
  49. Feb 26, 2020
    10
    Отличный шутер старого формата. Иногда бесят загадки и не понятно куда идти и что делать, но по сравнению со старым Дюком Нюкемом - тут все очень хорошо и понятно. По поводу мыла гейского - разрабы не стали прогибаться под сжв отбросы, так что все в порядке, гейское мыло осталось. Советую всем любителям старых шутеров.Отличный шутер старого формата. Иногда бесят загадки и не понятно куда идти и что делать, но по сравнению со старым Дюком Нюкемом - тут все очень хорошо и понятно. По поводу мыла гейского - разрабы не стали прогибаться под сжв отбросы, так что все в порядке, гейское мыло осталось. Советую всем любителям старых шутеров.
  50. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    Awesome gameplay! If you enjoyed playing Duke Nukem 3D, Blood, Shadow Warrior, then you will love this title!
  51. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    Don't mind these dudes from ResetEra bombing the user score. :^)
    This game is amazing! I really love Duke Nukem 3D and specially Blood, both games developed on the Build Engine. I never thought I would see a new game using the Build Engine being released nowadays, but I was wrong. And is it good? It is damn good!
    The graphics are incredible, the levels are large and fun to explore. The
    Don't mind these dudes from ResetEra bombing the user score. :^)
    This game is amazing! I really love Duke Nukem 3D and specially Blood, both games developed on the Build Engine. I never thought I would see a new game using the Build Engine being released nowadays, but I was wrong. And is it good? It is damn good!
    The graphics are incredible, the levels are large and fun to explore. The weapons are not so fun as the ones in Blood, but they are nice and the gameplay is excellent.
    Expand
  52. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    This game has the best level design in any Build game ever. It's just awesome to explore these large, complex layouts. On top of this the art is stellar too, nice high res pixel art as far as the eye can see, the game just looks amazing at high resolutions.

    The gameplay's excellent too with just the right amount of weapons and overall the arsenal feels quite balanced and has a distinct
    This game has the best level design in any Build game ever. It's just awesome to explore these large, complex layouts. On top of this the art is stellar too, nice high res pixel art as far as the eye can see, the game just looks amazing at high resolutions.

    The gameplay's excellent too with just the right amount of weapons and overall the arsenal feels quite balanced and has a distinct Shadow Warrior feel to it. The enemies are varied and tough, just how I like it.

    Play this, it's awesome.
    Expand
  53. Aug 26, 2019
    10
    Quite probably the best BUILD Engine game. I don't see a single negative point here.
    Beautiful in every regard.

    And by now the developers have realized their mistake and will hopefully not listen to the perpetually offended outrage mob ever again.
  54. Aug 17, 2019
    10
    It doesn't reinvent the wheel but it never intends to. It delivers a very solid 90's FPS experience with an ambition that is clearly massive in the developers! Given what the aim of this game is, I think it delivers a perfect experience. Many comparisons are being made to other Build Engine games but just because they share an engine doesn't mean they need to be exactly the same either.It doesn't reinvent the wheel but it never intends to. It delivers a very solid 90's FPS experience with an ambition that is clearly massive in the developers! Given what the aim of this game is, I think it delivers a perfect experience. Many comparisons are being made to other Build Engine games but just because they share an engine doesn't mean they need to be exactly the same either.
    -Sidenote
    A small group of users are misusing the site and giving the game 0's due to drawing conclusions and comparisons where there are none. This site is for reviewing products, not people. With the same logic these people use, they should stop banking, using tap water, electricity, the internet... Because I assure you, all of these exist due in part to people with much more "old fashioned" values.
    Expand
  55. Aug 21, 2019
    0
    The game is terrible. It runs terribly on my i9 + Quadro P3200.
    They replaced Duke with a strong independant wahman. Her jokes are not funny at all.
    They gave my money to a LGBT charity to appease ResetEra.
    It's the epitomy of woke.
  56. Aug 20, 2019
    7
    The game is good, plain and simple. Truly invokes the classics shooters of 90s while still feeling fresh.

    However, I feel truly bad for the developers who put hours of blood sweat and tears into this title. The incompetent leadership managed to destroy any potential audience for the game do to their poor decisions. The context of the game as well as the comments of certain of members
    The game is good, plain and simple. Truly invokes the classics shooters of 90s while still feeling fresh.

    However, I feel truly bad for the developers who put hours of blood sweat and tears into this title. The incompetent leadership managed to destroy any potential audience for the game do to their poor decisions.

    The context of the game as well as the comments of certain of members of staff was such that political sjws decided to crusade the game. At this point that audience is already lost because you're permanently painted an enemy regardless of amends.
    Unfortunately a poor decision to apologize to the bloodthirsty mob and try to force the employees to correct their wrong-think was made. On top of being a gross violation of your staffs freedom of choice I heartily recommend spending your money on a company not run by spineless cowards.
    Expand
  57. Aug 17, 2019
    9
    This is possibly been the most enjoyable "new" FPS i've played in a long time. It's just balls to the wall action all the way through; with impressively complex maps, a variety of hilariously lethal weapons, mounds of game/movie references and buckets full of gore and gibs. Not to mention amusing commentary from our bad-ass protagonist. There are some pretty damn good tunes to he heardThis is possibly been the most enjoyable "new" FPS i've played in a long time. It's just balls to the wall action all the way through; with impressively complex maps, a variety of hilariously lethal weapons, mounds of game/movie references and buckets full of gore and gibs. Not to mention amusing commentary from our bad-ass protagonist. There are some pretty damn good tunes to he heard too, though i did end up turning it off so that i could hear the enemies and the ambient sounds a little more clearly.

    There's no long drawn out dialogue and narratives, no excruciating cut-scenes, no hub areas where you needlessly fetch things for your friends, no hiding behind corners to heal up, no way-point marker directing you to your goal, no escort missions, no faux political stances or virtue signalling. It's just an old-school bullet fest, which is sorely needed in this industry today.

    I only have one real complaint, which is that the enemy AI isn't the smartest. I've seen numerous groups of enemies tucked into corners at times, and many getting stuck behind doors and other moveable assets. That said, it means i can make use of some of the explosive weapons! I've seen numerous people experiencing performance issues, but haven't witnessed any myself. It's consistently whirring away at around 220-240fps on my machine, and stays solidly locked at 60fps on one of the other PCs i use.

    I see there are a few 0 or 1 scores here now, which is completely absurd, unless you genuinely can't run the game. I understand it's not for everyone and the 6-7 scores make perfect sense, depending on what you are looking for in this type of game, but it's almost like people are hating on it for some other reason other than the content of the game. So keep that in mind when reading them!
    Expand
  58. Aug 16, 2019
    10
    All the low reviews are from casuals used to modern shooter hand-holding. Combat is frantic and punishes mistakes and the level design is fantastic, creating an immersive environment and a good sense of progression. Only issues i had (finished on Ultra Viscera) were some funkiness from the AI (occasionally) and, while a small gripe, i wish there were more call out voice lines from theAll the low reviews are from casuals used to modern shooter hand-holding. Combat is frantic and punishes mistakes and the level design is fantastic, creating an immersive environment and a good sense of progression. Only issues i had (finished on Ultra Viscera) were some funkiness from the AI (occasionally) and, while a small gripe, i wish there were more call out voice lines from the player character as the 7-10 of them can be a bit repetitive (but that could also be due to me marathoning it on UV). Overall I absolutely loved this game and Voidpoint/3D Realms have done a fantastic job with this throwback to the old school FPS. Expand
  59. Aug 24, 2019
    1
    Игра хорошая, но разрабы полные идиоты, которым не важно мнение их игроков, а волнуют лишь высер сжв комьюнити, печально
  60. Aug 27, 2019
    0
    The “Fa*bag” comment that was outside the geometry of a level is still censored and removed, and the $10,000 has still been given to the LGBT foundation, and the employees are still going through sensitivity training. GamesIndustry.biz confirmed it via tweets, but Polygon managed to grab a statement from one of the Voidpoint developers, who told them: quote “However, the soap bottle willThe “Fa*bag” comment that was outside the geometry of a level is still censored and removed, and the $10,000 has still been given to the LGBT foundation, and the employees are still going through sensitivity training. GamesIndustry.biz confirmed it via tweets, but Polygon managed to grab a statement from one of the Voidpoint developers, who told them: quote “However, the soap bottle will not be removed.

    “The use of the word “f*gbag” in an area that was inaccessible without hacking the game, and was added by one developer without approval from anyone else, was removed a few days ago. We once again apologize for this text as it does not reflect the values of 3D Realms or Voidpoint.

    “Jokes at the expense of marginalized communities will not be present in future games published by 3D Realms. However, a portion of our community made it loud and clear they felt removing ‘Ogay’ was censorship and should be protected by free speech. Voidpoint wanted to listen and we respected this decision.” end quote.

    Also negative reviews are removed without even waiting for us to update our reviews. Well there you have it, so much for no censorship. This is a farce from spineless and unworthy (((devs))). It wasn't the hill you wanted to die on but you managed it anyway.
    Expand
  61. Nov 21, 2018
    9
    Пока прошел предварительную версию, но уже в восторге и жду выхода полной версии. Настоящая находка для истинных любителей игр серии Duke Nukem. Графика очень схожа, почти идентична, геймплей, озвучка - в общем всё. Различие составляет сюжет, окружающий мир, оружие.Пока прошел предварительную версию, но уже в восторге и жду выхода полной версии. Настоящая находка для истинных любителей игр серии Duke Nukem. Графика очень схожа, почти идентична, геймплей, озвучка - в общем всё. Различие составляет сюжет, окружающий мир, оружие.
  62. Aug 17, 2019
    9
    I'm pretty amazed with what these guys manage to squeeze out of the old Build Engine. The interactivity is top-notch, just like the old days. And I absolutely love the voxel sprites. I loved them in Blood and I am very glad they are now back in Ion Fury. And some of them are even animated!

    The levels are pretty huge and contain some interesting checkpoints that will often change them in
    I'm pretty amazed with what these guys manage to squeeze out of the old Build Engine. The interactivity is top-notch, just like the old days. And I absolutely love the voxel sprites. I loved them in Blood and I am very glad they are now back in Ion Fury. And some of them are even animated!

    The levels are pretty huge and contain some interesting checkpoints that will often change them in some pretty drastic ways as to open up new areas. I like that. And as I would have expected (and hoped for) the levels are non-linear. You will often find yourself back at places you've already been to. And they seem to be designed around hubs in each level. An open space where stuff spreads out around. At some point you will have unlocked and discovered what you need to proceed to the next hub. It works very well. Oh, and the attention to detail in all maps is astounding!

    If I should point fingers at something, it would be that the game is a bit too colorful for my taste. I liked the color palette of Blood a lot better. It still had color, but it was a bit more subtle. Other than that I am thoroughly enjoying myself playing this game.
    Expand
  63. Aug 17, 2019
    10
    Freaking amazing, doom was my first video game and this just brings back all that experience with better gameplay.
  64. Aug 21, 2019
    5
    My original score for this game was 9/10 because gameplay is really good. However i will never support censorship of games and bending knee to outrage sjw mob of people who arent even interested in games and arent gaming industry customers. You catered to them 3DR at the expense of true fans. This is unacceptable and i will not support it. I rate this behavior 0/10, so average is 5.
    I
    My original score for this game was 9/10 because gameplay is really good. However i will never support censorship of games and bending knee to outrage sjw mob of people who arent even interested in games and arent gaming industry customers. You catered to them 3DR at the expense of true fans. This is unacceptable and i will not support it. I rate this behavior 0/10, so average is 5.
    I sent a refund ticket and i wont be buying any games from you any more.
    Expand
  65. Aug 25, 2019
    0
    This game is excellent. It's a shame that if you purchase it, you'll be paying 3D Realms to send their developers to some sensitivity reeducation gulag. My honest advice is to, ahem, "find another way to play it" then send Voidpoint a donation (there are several ways to do this) if you enjoyed it. At least that way you won't be supporting a publisher that capitulates to pedophiles andThis game is excellent. It's a shame that if you purchase it, you'll be paying 3D Realms to send their developers to some sensitivity reeducation gulag. My honest advice is to, ahem, "find another way to play it" then send Voidpoint a donation (there are several ways to do this) if you enjoyed it. At least that way you won't be supporting a publisher that capitulates to pedophiles and punishes their employees for speaking privately about their beliefs. Expand
  66. Aug 18, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fantastic romp that serves as a reminder of when shooters had heart. In a world were generic military shooters give you the 'battle royale' over and over again, Ion Fury steps in and gives a fun and fresh experience with giant levels that have multiple paths and tons of secrets. Expand
  67. Aug 17, 2019
    10
    This game hits me right in the nostalgia.
    For all of you out there that likes Duke Nukem, Doom, Heretic, Blood, etc. Kinda the same graphics (but with better sprites, resolution and more pixels), but the gameplay, MAN, THE GAMEPLAY it's so smooth, the soundtrack is amazing and the sounds of the guns, bullets, broken windows, are so spot on. You know the drill, grab keys, kill guys, get
    This game hits me right in the nostalgia.
    For all of you out there that likes Duke Nukem, Doom, Heretic, Blood, etc. Kinda the same graphics (but with better sprites, resolution and more pixels), but the gameplay, MAN, THE GAMEPLAY it's so smooth, the soundtrack is amazing and the sounds of the guns, bullets, broken windows, are so spot on. You know the drill, grab keys, kill guys, get out.

    You need to run this game on "classic" render, it's so much fun!
    Expand
  68. Aug 22, 2019
    0
    You bend the knee and destroy all good you did. It was too good to be true...

    Epic fail. *Review before they disrespect all players: Epic like the good old Duke Nuken, somehow modern. If you begin FPS after Quake you may feel it a bit weird but you'll get used to it. it is more about the fun than the visuals, just like a good handmade burger. Don't trust me? See the Steam page of
    You bend the knee and destroy all good you did. It was too good to be true...

    Epic fail.

    *Review before they disrespect all players:
    Epic like the good old Duke Nuken, somehow modern.
    If you begin FPS after Quake you may feel it a bit weird but you'll get used to it. it is more about the fun than the visuals, just like a good handmade burger.
    Don't trust me? See the Steam page of the game, there only who buy can rate it.
    You can't hide the truth!
    Expand
  69. Aug 17, 2019
    10
    Took me straight back to my childhood. This game is fantastic, well paced, fun, and a breath of fresh air. Highly recommend, even at $25!
  70. Aug 22, 2019
    0
    This game has the most noxious, hateful fanbase I've ever seen. Even if I look past the questionable actions of the developers I just can't imagine supporting the playerbase they've cultivated.
  71. Aug 18, 2019
    8
    An excellent first person shooter. As much as this appeals to retro gamers, I would say any FPS fan will enjoy this. Level design is superb, each level feels unqiue and has a great mixup of close quarters fighting, arena brawls and in between sections. Very good level of detail in everything in this game and its well-balanced. If playing on ultra visceral as I have done, there is aAn excellent first person shooter. As much as this appeals to retro gamers, I would say any FPS fan will enjoy this. Level design is superb, each level feels unqiue and has a great mixup of close quarters fighting, arena brawls and in between sections. Very good level of detail in everything in this game and its well-balanced. If playing on ultra visceral as I have done, there is a learning curve. You must learn the loverboy (pistol) second firing technique to take on the heads crawling on floors and for most things flying. Music and sound effects are top notch too. The art style is great, which shows in both textures and enemy models.

    What is stopping this game from being an 10/10 for me is a greater variety in weapons and a more engaging storyline. But it is definitely an 8/10. Been playing it using a ps4 controller and it works great so if you like playing on the TV and using a gamepad that will work for this game no problems.
    Expand
  72. Aug 19, 2019
    0
    I have zero tolerance for devs who promote hate. No excuse and no room for sexism or transphobia in modern society. Disgusting.
  73. Aug 18, 2019
    10
    So this game is basically what would have happened if classic FPSs didn't die, it is an evolution in every way and form to the classic fpss like Duke or Shadow Warrior, it never gets comfortable just replicating the feeling, the game manages to bring new stuff to the table that makes it feel new, but nostalgic at the same time, the gameplay is amazing and the level design is superb, iSo this game is basically what would have happened if classic FPSs didn't die, it is an evolution in every way and form to the classic fpss like Duke or Shadow Warrior, it never gets comfortable just replicating the feeling, the game manages to bring new stuff to the table that makes it feel new, but nostalgic at the same time, the gameplay is amazing and the level design is superb, i could not recommend it enough for people who lived through the PC FPSs era in the 90s, and to the people who did not play any of the genre's classics this would be the best way of getting into the genre.

    PD: don't mind the mad SJWs review bombing the game, apparently review bombing is only bad, toxic and entitled if gamers do it, but if they do it then it's completely fair and reasonable, they are just proving the devs words, SJWs are completely nuts, same for all the enraged tr@nnies offended by the truth.
    Expand
  74. Aug 23, 2019
    0
    You know you're in a soviet system when the future is certain and the past is always changing. Only politburo approved funny is allowed, comrade. To the gulag with you.
  75. Aug 27, 2019
    8
    Grow the **** up and review the game, not the politics you fools. "Bending the knee" doesn't affect game play or story and complaining about it just makes you look like idiots. Overall a fun game though. Would wait to buy it on sale as $25 is a bit much for a quick game I won't go back to super soon. Maybe wait for it to drop to $15 on sale.
  76. Nov 30, 2019
    4
    A lot of bad comments here talk about SJW and the censorship. And I agree. But even without that the game is not good. There are a lot of small enemies that are hard to hit, like spiders and small drones. The rest of the enemies are just recolors of ageneric guy. The world is generic, the weapons are generic and reload too much and too slow and you always lack ammo.

    I'd give this 5/10
    A lot of bad comments here talk about SJW and the censorship. And I agree. But even without that the game is not good. There are a lot of small enemies that are hard to hit, like spiders and small drones. The rest of the enemies are just recolors of ageneric guy. The world is generic, the weapons are generic and reload too much and too slow and you always lack ammo.

    I'd give this 5/10 for a mediocre game, but I take one more point off for the cringy protaginist who like a 12-yeard-old boy has to tell us how tough she things she is.
    Expand
  77. Aug 16, 2019
    0
    3DR can post all the fake reviews they want. The fact is the game is crap. It doesn't run well on any machine. Screen tearing, V sync issues, input issues, you name it. Watch GGmanlives review, at least he was objective...this game stinks, so little value for your money. Go to GOG and try to see any reviews post-release...there are none right now. What a joke! Go ahead and buy, I guarantee3DR can post all the fake reviews they want. The fact is the game is crap. It doesn't run well on any machine. Screen tearing, V sync issues, input issues, you name it. Watch GGmanlives review, at least he was objective...this game stinks, so little value for your money. Go to GOG and try to see any reviews post-release...there are none right now. What a joke! Go ahead and buy, I guarantee you'll be requesting a refund! Expand
  78. Aug 16, 2019
    3
    The first 2 levels are visually cool and have decent design, but to be completely honest, this game falls apart like 2 hours in. The combat is really poorly designed with little thought put towards the experience. Clearly designed by modders who forget that their preferred style of play isn't typical. The combat can generally be described as annoying and just in your way, enemies aren'tThe first 2 levels are visually cool and have decent design, but to be completely honest, this game falls apart like 2 hours in. The combat is really poorly designed with little thought put towards the experience. Clearly designed by modders who forget that their preferred style of play isn't typical. The combat can generally be described as annoying and just in your way, enemies aren't really fun, varied, or push the player to react in any meaningful way. The weapons are mostly boring, and don't feel super great. A lot of that can be attributed to audio, which, in this game is mediocre at best and actively hindering at worse, with audio levels all over the place, poor distance attenuation, and a generally muddied soundscape. Compare to a game like serious sam where you can play it with your eyes closed because the audio is so distinct and well designed. The level design past the first handful is just incredibly bland, and blends together into one mediocre stream of consciousness. The interactivity and detail are dropped halfway through the game for grey hallways and labs, that i can barely remember and i just played the game. Theres also the matter of performance, which is inconsistent at the best of times. You can probably attribute that to the choice of engine, which to some is important, but you can really feel it holding the gameplay feel back when theres microstutters, poor input, and that classic awful perspective projection from build. Then theres the matter of the end of the game, which, doesnt exist. I got whiplash from the game coming to an end so quickly and abruptly. It feels like you had a strange fever dream and the game never actually happened. Overall the game clearly shows that there was little thought put towards a core design outside of "lets make a build engine game". Its not FUN. It is a bunch of disparate ideas and designs slapped together into a package that looks pretty, and thats about it. Once you get over the visuals, which arent my cup of tea to begin with, you are left with an *incredibly* mediocre shooter that is completely forgettable, and does very little to make me want to play it again. Already my memory of this game is fading, and im just a few hours out from beating it. If you want to buy a game to wank about authenticity and visuals, sure, go ahead and buy it, play the first 2 levels, and stop there, satisfied. If you want a game to have fun, and to cherish the experience of, id look towards this games contemporaries. Expand
  79. Aug 17, 2019
    6
    It's ok. There's planty of fun to be had. I'd still recommend you to buy it even full price. But I want to see a sequel that expands on the ideas and corrects amateurish mistakes that's plenty. I believe that this one allowed the devs to learn their craft, and I do believe that with money they will make, they can invest in to the sequel, and it is going to be very good. Anyone can see howIt's ok. There's planty of fun to be had. I'd still recommend you to buy it even full price. But I want to see a sequel that expands on the ideas and corrects amateurish mistakes that's plenty. I believe that this one allowed the devs to learn their craft, and I do believe that with money they will make, they can invest in to the sequel, and it is going to be very good. Anyone can see how much potential there is! I like the protagonist and I think she should be even more edgy. Playing it in software renderer and not having openGl issues.

    Pros:
    -Cool 80's-90's anime art style
    -Weapons feel pretty good, some better than others
    -Tracker music
    -Parts of levels are well designed and are interesting

    Cons
    -Ai has a lot of problems
    -Enemy hit scan is relentlessly accurate
    -Too dark to see far away enemies, yet to much color in the visible area makes enemies that are closer hard to differentiate from the environment.
    -Sometimes it can take many seconds before you can realize where the enemies are shooting from.
    -Soundtrack doesn't fit the game and doesn't pull me in to the action, with exception of 3 tracks one of which track that was featured in last years demo which is really really cool.
    -Level design is chaotic and often boring. Open areas are cool but game lacks a lot of the ribbon level design loved by fans of old school fps including myself. It does get better later on but...
    - ... then the ammo problem starts and game really begins to slog. with...
    - ... more and more new types of annoying enemies.
    - There shouldn't be a need to switch between guns and mele. Just make it work like the all mighty foot!
    Expand
  80. Aug 20, 2019
    8
    Right so my previous review was critical about the developers' bigoted remarks, however since then they have apologized and taken steps towards rectifying the situation including making a donation to The Trevor Project. I'm changing my review based on this to solely reflect the gameplay experience and not the controversy surrounding the bigotry and subsequent apology and actions takenRight so my previous review was critical about the developers' bigoted remarks, however since then they have apologized and taken steps towards rectifying the situation including making a donation to The Trevor Project. I'm changing my review based on this to solely reflect the gameplay experience and not the controversy surrounding the bigotry and subsequent apology and actions taken including the patch to remove the bigoted content present in the game (although I do find it a bit funny that everyone praising the game for "owning the libs" with its offensive content are now incredibly offended that the developers are attempting to be decent human beings).

    The gameplay is fine and is one of the better games using the Build engine. Runs well on most systems, even lower-end ones. The difficulty can be rough and you'll find yourself dying a lot at times, especially on the higher two difficulties, but that's about par for the course for shooters of this genre and of the time period that this game is trying to pay homage to. Same goes for the levels: they can be a bit confusing to navigate, especially when you're at a breakneck pace and having to deal with multiple enemies. The lower-resolution textures also hurt my eyes when looking at them for a while, although others may not have that problem.

    At this point, now that everything is settled behind the scenes, I'd recommend to try and ignore any reactionary reviews and comments about the game (from both the bigots and the non-bigots) and try to focus on the game itself now. The "censorship" is literally one texture changed on a small object in the game and some out of bounds developer text that uses a homophobic slur (the one that used to be used to refer to a bundle of sticks and cigarettes). If that is really such a deal breaker for buying a video game, I'd honestly wager that you're buying video games for the wrong reasons.
    Expand
  81. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Don't listen to the outrage mob of review bombers who think being a nice person is weak while being disrespectful somehow needs to be defended. I hate how social media propaganda shaped this breed of modern idiots hell bent on fighting for the wrong things. They claims to be against people uselessly complaining and interfering with game development while behaving 10x worse themselves, it'sDon't listen to the outrage mob of review bombers who think being a nice person is weak while being disrespectful somehow needs to be defended. I hate how social media propaganda shaped this breed of modern idiots hell bent on fighting for the wrong things. They claims to be against people uselessly complaining and interfering with game development while behaving 10x worse themselves, it's pretty childish and pathetic. Devs did a good thing by removing the content who shouldn't have been there in the first place.

    That being said, a game should be reviewed for the content, not the meta.

    Level design is the best I've seen since a while, and I've played pretty much all FPS game campaigns out there. Gameplay is fast and responsive and satisfying, just like the modern DOOM without the quick time events always breaking the pace. Game is pretty lengthy and keep consistent quality all way long. I just wish there was a bit more enemy diversity.
    Expand
  82. Oct 20, 2019
    8
    Positives:

    - great gunplay - breathtaking leveldesign - truly earcandy soundtrack that never gets old - varied enemy-types - fast and fluid gameplay that does not waste your time - no annyoing cut-scenes, QTE-bullcrap or tedious and boring exposition - chock-full with secrets and eastereggs Negatives: - Boss-battles are tedious and not fun due to constant ammo-shortage and
    Positives:

    - great gunplay
    - breathtaking leveldesign
    - truly earcandy soundtrack that never gets old
    - varied enemy-types
    - fast and fluid gameplay that does not waste your time
    - no annyoing cut-scenes, QTE-bullcrap or tedious and boring exposition
    - chock-full with secrets and eastereggs

    Negatives:

    - Boss-battles are tedious and not fun due to constant ammo-shortage and insta-death-traps
    - No overpowered, level-clearing UBer-weapon like the BFG
    - gore-system is a littlebit lackluster
    - Soundtrack-files (as the CD, too!) are inclomplete and short
    Expand
  83. Nov 20, 2019
    8
    Really fun shooter. Character dialogue and naughty sense-of-humour is perfect..
  84. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Excelente juego con buenas mecánicas de disparo y una historia interesante.No escuchen a los idiotas que se quejan de censura cuando ni siquiera lo han jugado. Los anti-sjw van a morir algún día.
  85. Aug 27, 2019
    8
    Great game, glad they saw the light and kept the game the way it is.
    I don't respect censorship at all, so this kinda put the bad taste out of my mouth.
    Still, it's a new - old school 90's shooter, you run around fast and shoot things, do puzzles, platform and make wisecracks, sometimes politically incorrect. If that sounds good to you, you'll have a blast. If not, please stay the hell
    Great game, glad they saw the light and kept the game the way it is.
    I don't respect censorship at all, so this kinda put the bad taste out of my mouth.
    Still, it's a new - old school 90's shooter, you run around fast and shoot things, do puzzles, platform and make wisecracks, sometimes politically incorrect. If that sounds good to you, you'll have a blast. If not, please stay the hell away from this game. The same goes for any game btw.
    Expand
  86. Dec 8, 2019
    8
    Pros.:
    - nostalgic game design and graphics. For DN fans;
    - quite interesting story and difficulty pace; - variety of weapons; - many, MANY secrets to explore; - map bugs when you can go to the edge of the map. It's fun; - music. Some tracks are cool. Cons: - sometimes boring; - sometimes you feel the game takes too long to finish; - graphics and speed of running may cause
    Pros.:
    - nostalgic game design and graphics. For DN fans;
    - quite interesting story and difficulty pace;
    - variety of weapons;
    - many, MANY secrets to explore;
    - map bugs when you can go to the edge of the map. It's fun;
    - music. Some tracks are cool.

    Cons:
    - sometimes boring;
    - sometimes you feel the game takes too long to finish;
    - graphics and speed of running may cause headaches;
    - some monsters and enemies seem annoying and predictable.

    Not the best shooter, but definitely worth trying.
    Expand
  87. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Thank you guys for giving us LGBT community. I believe in you and do not forget that we are the players, not they.
  88. Aug 22, 2019
    10
    The game is great. All thing we love from Build engine games are here. Also **** SJW scum. They can suck ass.
  89. Sep 16, 2019
    8
    A good but not great throwback to a simpler time. Not the best 3D Realms game, but certainly a step in the right direction. If you loved Duke 3D I would say definitely give this game a shot.

    *To all the 0's out there: Grow up. You're legitimately not only toxic to this website, but make "gamers" look bad as well. 3D Realms said they were going to remove a joke because it's 2019 and
    A good but not great throwback to a simpler time. Not the best 3D Realms game, but certainly a step in the right direction. If you loved Duke 3D I would say definitely give this game a shot.

    *To all the 0's out there: Grow up. You're legitimately not only toxic to this website, but make "gamers" look bad as well. 3D Realms said they were going to remove a joke because it's 2019 and people are chamin soft, but recanted the the statement and the dialogue is still in the game.
    Expand
  90. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    Don't believe the lies that this game is censored or whatever. IT'S NOT. in fact all negatives here come from a time when people believed a single soap sprite in the game was going to be deleted. The developers came forward saying IT WON'T be deleted and they kept their promise. The game is the same after the patch.

    As for the content of it, it's great. It's cyberpunk, gory, full of
    Don't believe the lies that this game is censored or whatever. IT'S NOT. in fact all negatives here come from a time when people believed a single soap sprite in the game was going to be deleted. The developers came forward saying IT WON'T be deleted and they kept their promise. The game is the same after the patch.

    As for the content of it, it's great. It's cyberpunk, gory, full of action, Build engine taken to it's limits. Don't hesitate to buy it in an instant. Certainly the best of all build engine games released to date.
    Expand
  91. Nov 11, 2019
    0
    omg i finaly know how to pass some levels i dont know. Fireboy and Watergirl game on hudgames so interesting
  92. Feb 2, 2020
    9
    This game has some minor issues, but I'm in deeply love with it. It's almost exactly like the FPS games I fell in love with in 90s with every quirk that comes with them but in a really amazing scale. The final boss battle was probably the most disappointing thing but everything else was just glorious. If you like Duke Nukem 3D, Blood, Shadow Warrior and such games, then this is your thing.This game has some minor issues, but I'm in deeply love with it. It's almost exactly like the FPS games I fell in love with in 90s with every quirk that comes with them but in a really amazing scale. The final boss battle was probably the most disappointing thing but everything else was just glorious. If you like Duke Nukem 3D, Blood, Shadow Warrior and such games, then this is your thing. Built using Build Engine it is a visual masterpiece which also sounds magnificent.

    Unfortunately I have to mention that the devs might or might not be SJW appeasers. A large part of this game's character is built around being "slightly immature" calling out holy cows of our time like the games used to do in 90s. I find that kind of nostalgic humour highly entertaining. It's essentially just banter and I wish the devs went even further with it than they did. But it seems that they lacked confidence in their own creation at least when it came to some jokes.

    I wish that they wouldn't censor the game like they said they would to quell the complains from small group of bullies. They also announced they'd cut some of the money they gained from sales of the game to send to these bullies which I found baffling (because it's clear extortion). I didn't take this into account in my score but I think people should know about it. It's sad that I even have to write about this political stuff because the game itself is very good and mostly apolitical.
    Expand
  93. Jan 23, 2020
    9
    This is probably among the best FPS I have ever played in my life, and I have played a lot. This games takes everything good about other FPS and also improves what is wrong with other games of the same genre. Delightful every second, never gets repetitive, and it is so funny and addictive (in a good way) that it is hard to explain with words. This game is very underrated but mostlyThis is probably among the best FPS I have ever played in my life, and I have played a lot. This games takes everything good about other FPS and also improves what is wrong with other games of the same genre. Delightful every second, never gets repetitive, and it is so funny and addictive (in a good way) that it is hard to explain with words. This game is very underrated but mostly overlooked by most reviewers. This game means QUALITY in every single aspect, except a couple of them, for example the secrets, they are great but some of them are so hidden and almost impossible to find during a normal playthrough. The action is amazingly crafted and the OST is an absolute masterpiece.

    GAMEPLAY [9/10]: The gameplay is almost perfect, every weapon is useful and it feels very realistic and at the same time kind of bizarre. The creepy and urban atmosphere is among the best I have seen, it's easily to get immersed into the beautiful level design, lots of light effects and things happening, the stages feel really alive, like you are actually there and that place went through someting huge. The stage variety is wonderful, you can be on the streets of a huge futuristic city, and in other stage you can be in a house of horrors, with spooky hallways and gardens. The hitbox detection is not perfect but works so well, if you hit enemies in the head they will either die or get a lot of damage, there is a special ability (only with the revolver) that let you aim to the head of the enemies and then release the mouse button to give auto head shots, this ability is not easy to use cause the aim lasts briefly but if you can pull it out it works nice. The game feels so comfortable to play that you will forget of your surroundings and enjoy this game to the fullest.
    GRAPHICS [10/10]: This game uses the build engine, and it uses it in the best possible way. The most gorgeous textures that made 90's video games so good to look at, your eyes would be thankfull to you for the rest of the day after watching this game. The animations and the enviroment interaction are a nice touch, there are some minor details that I dislike, like not being able to interact with a few things or bullets not marking in certain things, but most of the time you will see bullet marks in most of the things you shoot. The death animations of the enemies, the explosions and the whole graphical effects are so nice.
    SOUND/MUSIC [9/10]: The OST has a few amazing tracks, not every track is great, but the ones that are actually good will make you love them, from relaxing tunes like Le Mansion (the best IMO) to the frenetic night club music of the first stage, it is music for almost every taste. Now from the sound department, I gotta say that the voice acting is wonderful, Shelly has the most lovely voice I have ever heard from a female video game character, yet at the same time she sounds so badass without loosing her female side. The quotes are most of them good, and a few of them are okay. Little bit of unnecessary swearing but nothing excessive.
    STORY [8/10]: Some mad scientist called Heskel is making robotic machines to rule over the world, but it is an old styled FPS, who needs a big story? Also the quality of a game is in the fact of being able to play it, not watching 2 hs long cutscenes explaining the story. During the course of the game, you will hear everything you need to know about the storyline.
    REPLAYABILITY [8/10]: Due to the fact that there are so many secrets in this game and well suited difficulty levels, this has some great replay value, but not as much as some would expect, if there's replay value, is for the sake of loving this game (I really do). So I would recommend this game without doubting, it is one of the best FPS ever made IMHO.
    OVERALL [9/10] This game takes me back to everything I loved as a late 90's child, reminds me to the best FPS games ever made: Duke Nukem 3D, Shadow Warrior, Blood and ... Doom, why not? It is kind of sad this masterpiece didn't get a physical release (just like in the old days) but the fact that is on steam and in GOG makes it a must have for every people that likes video games.
    Expand
  94. Jan 27, 2020
    7
    ION Fury delivers some good old fashioned FPS gameplay. Sadly it also brings some issues that games from that era were known for. Maybe asking that a game combine the best of the old and new eras of games is too much to ask but I will do so anyway. That being said I still enjoyed myself for the most part, the good outweighs the bad.

    The gameplay itself was fun and brought me back to
    ION Fury delivers some good old fashioned FPS gameplay. Sadly it also brings some issues that games from that era were known for. Maybe asking that a game combine the best of the old and new eras of games is too much to ask but I will do so anyway. That being said I still enjoyed myself for the most part, the good outweighs the bad.

    The gameplay itself was fun and brought me back to when shooters didn’t have classes, small amounts of weapon limits, chest high walls and QTEs. Just you, your enemies and your creativity to experiment with your arsenal finding the best ways to dispatch the wide range of enemies you will face. Shooting is satisfying and the different weapons all have their own feel. The story is......well it’s there....kind of. There are no cut scenes which is fine as a story can be told in many different ways but my issue is that ION Fury doesn’t really tell the story in any way. There is a general synopsis available at the main menu area but that’s about it. You don’t get told where you are going, why you are doing anything or what your goals are. You just go throughout the levels and kill enemies while trying to make it to the end of the level. This may not bother some but there are plenty of games that merge a great story with top notch gameplay so I can hope for a better balance. F.E.A.R.; Max Payne; Far Cry; Crysis; Doom 3; etc all deliver on both fronts. The level design also falls short. I’m not one who requires a giant arrow pointing me where to go but ION Fury was more like a maze where I would keep walking around trying to see where I haven’t gone yet trying to find where to go. The levels having next to no context as to why I was there didn’t help. The graphics are what they are. A retro throw back. There isn’t much to say other than while they were no means top notch they did a better job having variety than many newer games do. There was an actual colour palette which included more than browns. The soundtrack was well done and kept the tempo high. The voice acting was well done for the over the top style although the one liners got repetitive quickly.

    I played ION Fury on Linux. It never crashed on me at all. It was missing a library that caused the game to crash at launch. I will give the developers credit in that they mentioned this on the main page for GOG so you knew about it before you bought the game. The library is SDL2-Mixer-2.0-0 and it isn’t hard to install. On Manjaro I simply had to open the package manager and search this library and click install to solve the issue. I could also install it through terminal had I wished. After that the game launched just fine. During play my total GPU usage was 6-18%; my VRAM usage was 846MB-2.22GB; my CPU usage was 9-10%; my system RAM usage was 2-2.3GB. The game ran at a constant 144FPS. There were no graphics options at all to adjust. There was an FOV slider that went from 70-120. Alt-Tab worked. There was a manual save option where you could quick save or manual save whenever you wanted. The quick saves worked strangely though as they would overwrite your most recent save rather than create a new save each time. The game does have a built in auto save checkpoint system if you would rather just use that. The game uses just 97.4MB of disk space. It uses the Build engine. You can’t change the difficulty level after starting the game. I used version 1.02 from GOG.

    If you just want state of the art bang bang then look no further. The gameplay was fun and enjoyable. The story and level design was poor but I feel many won’t care. I paid $20 CAD for ION Fury and feel that is a fair price. I finished the game in around 7 or 8 hours. The game doesn’t keep track and i’m guessing.

    My Score: 7/10

    My System:

    AMD Ryzen 5 2600X | 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15 | MSI RX 580 8GB Gaming X | Mesa 19.3.2 | Samsung 850 Evo 250GB | Manjaro 18.1.5 | Mate 1.22.3 | Kernel 5.4.14-2-MANJARO
    Expand
  95. Feb 1, 2020
    9
    I was skeptical of purchasing Ion Fury because of the review bombers on Metacritic, but I saw positive reviews on Steam and GOG, so decided to try it.

    Ion Fury is a quality retro FPS - a polished version of the Duke Nukems and Shadow Warriors of old, with updated controls and graphics. I'm currently into my 3rd hour of gameplay, and the game shows polish in every single map I've played
    I was skeptical of purchasing Ion Fury because of the review bombers on Metacritic, but I saw positive reviews on Steam and GOG, so decided to try it.

    Ion Fury is a quality retro FPS - a polished version of the Duke Nukems and Shadow Warriors of old, with updated controls and graphics. I'm currently into my 3rd hour of gameplay, and the game shows polish in every single map I've played so far.

    If a developer puts this much heart and soul into making a game, it would be a shame to piss on their efforts. I say give it a try.
    Expand
  96. Dec 6, 2019
    7
    Decent old school shooter. Plenty of cool secrets and the level design in general stays fairly varied and interesting.
    Unfortunately, many of the levels have big, wide open areas where enemies will almost always shoot you before you see where they are. The gunplay isn't hit scan, but it might as well be - most enemies move slowly and shoot with pinpoint accuracy. So you are just
    Decent old school shooter. Plenty of cool secrets and the level design in general stays fairly varied and interesting.
    Unfortunately, many of the levels have big, wide open areas where enemies will almost always shoot you before you see where they are. The gunplay isn't hit scan, but it might as well be - most enemies move slowly and shoot with pinpoint accuracy. So you are just ducking and popping out of cover constantly.
    It's fine, it's just nothing revolutionary. A good game that compares favorably to Duke 3D and Blood, but doesn't really add anything new to the formula except for a female protagonist whose voice lines just aren't quite as rad as the classics.
    If you like old school shooters, you will like this. It's great that this was made using the old engine and is very authentic. Just don't expect a super refined experience or even any innovation here.
    Expand
  97. Jan 7, 2020
    7
    It is a solid and fine FPS, with a great sense of weapons. Yes, it is old school by the bone. But at the same time feel fresh somehow.
  98. Nov 7, 2019
    7
    I think the worst problem this game has is that they made the maps too big rather than sticking with the 90's style hardware restrictions. Instead of feeling like you can just go running in blasting everything you see, the spaces are often too wide open leaving enemies too small to see, and they do like cramming their enemies in these open spaces too.

    The difficulty balance isn't as
    I think the worst problem this game has is that they made the maps too big rather than sticking with the 90's style hardware restrictions. Instead of feeling like you can just go running in blasting everything you see, the spaces are often too wide open leaving enemies too small to see, and they do like cramming their enemies in these open spaces too.

    The difficulty balance isn't as extreme as they make it sound... you're clearly tougher than the enemies you fight but not by so much that you can soak damage. If you're sticking with one weapon you're the one who is limiting yourself and making the game harder than it actually is. The issue really is just figuring out where the enemies are, made more difficult by how big the maps are and the lack of slow moving projectiles.

    The end result is that the game ends up playing slower than a 90's game should play, meaning that running up on and blasting enemies rather than using cover mechanics isn't as simple. You CAN very quickly dispatch enemies, especially if you vary your arsenal (and exploit head shots)... but you need to do it one corner at a time.
    Expand
  99. Feb 8, 2020
    9
    Perfektní hra ,už se těším na WRATH.
    Iron Fury je rychlá, akční a hodně sexy. Taková střílečka mého mládí v lepším kabátu.
    Build Engine je perfektní a hra v něm běží výborně. Každý kdo rád Duka, Blood nebo Shadow Warrior ihned uvidí super práci jak se dá jenom zlepšovat funkční střílečka a 3D Realms to očividně nezapomněli.
  100. Apr 7, 2020
    9
    Hello from the 90s. In the adventures of Shelly Harrison, you get everything that you love Duke Nukem 3D, Shadow Warrior and Blood for. High speed. Hardcore gameplay without newfangled frills. Cool level design. The bonus is a beautifully designed cyberpunk world of the future. Of the shortcomings, only the modest combat arsenal of Shelly-Bombshelly can be noted.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 2, 2019
    90
    Ion Fury is an old-school shooting fan's dream. All of the mechanics are intact, from non-regenerative health to the ability to carry a full arsenal of weapons, and the level design feels intuitive and encourages exploration without needing waypoints. Some of the new mechanics fit in well, but a few, like the need to reload, only increase the difficulty on a tough game. Seeing all of this done on a decades-old engine is enough to convince you of the versatility of those old FPS engines. Unless you hate the old FPS style, Ion Fury is a must-have for your gaming library.
  2. Oct 16, 2019
    80
    Great and fun homage to the retro shooters from the 90s
  3. Sep 20, 2019
    80
    A very well-made, entertaining throwback shooter with some useful quality of life improvements, but nothing you didn't see 20 years ago.