Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 16, 2019
    92
    Visually stunning when maxed out, Gears 5 for PC comes with a very solid campaign and lots of exciting multiplayer modes that will keep you entertained for a long, long time.
  2. 91
    Gears 5 is the natural evolution of the historic TPS series and, with its solid gameplay and contents, is a step towards the future that so many fans wanted. Perhaps some of them wished for a more decisive revolution, but the developers' hard work can be seen and felt, and it can satisfy any kind of player.
  3. Sep 13, 2019
    90
    No matter which mode you approach it from, Gears 5 is an incredibly fun and polished game.
  4. Sep 10, 2019
    90
    Gears is sawing in the right direction now. Gears of War 4 disappointed a bit, the new Gears studio was under a lot of (time) pressure. This time The Coalition surprised positively. Gears 5 offers more variety than previous Gears and, thanks to Jack, gives real strategic skills for the first time. I also like the longer, atmospheric story sections. Fortunately, the storyline with Kait offers suspense, as the story about the Hammer of Dawn doesn't exactly sparkle with ingenuity. Thanks to The Coalition for the three-player co-op mode as well as for the escape mode. All in all, Gears 5 convinced me.
  5. Sep 4, 2019
    90
    It is incredibly well-optimized, ensuring it will look good and run smoothly on a variety of hardware. Microsoft pledged to put a focus back on its PC players and if Gears 5 is an indication of what is to come, mouse and keyboard jockeys are in for a treat.
  6. Sep 4, 2019
    90
    Much like its iconic Lancer Assault Rifle, Gears 5 functions as perfectly as it was designed. The developers threw on a chainsaw of character, narrative, and content to make an over-the-top, thrilling experience from start to finish. Gears 5 is a badass game, and you'll come away feeling more badass than the legendary Marcus himself.
  7. Sep 4, 2019
    90
    Gears 5 takes steps forward for the franchise, providing the bombastic, bloody violence of the series with both a greater scope and intimate story.
  8. Sep 4, 2019
    88
    As an action blockbuster Gears 5 is outstanding.
  9. Sep 9, 2019
    86
    Gears 5 is excellent, albeit with a major narrative downfall. While the finale of the campaign definitely left a sour taste in my mouth, the game was so good that I want to keep playing the Horde and multiplayer modes just to get more Gears 5. The atmosphere and gameplay in the campaign were different to what I expected, in a good way, and I'm looking forward to where the series goes next and how this narrative finally finishes up in the sequel. Until then, this is the best Gears game in years, with an excellent multiplayer suite to back it up. Practically essential on Xbox One, and a great option for PC owners too.
  10. Sep 10, 2019
    85
    The Coalition continues to pursue its goal of maturing the Gears of War series. With more lightness in the gameplay, a slightly harder tone, and a deeper expansion of the universe, Gears 5 could well be the best in the series. It's beautiful, it's fluid, and it tries to say something than just 'another war'. There's no doubt that even the most skeptical fans will be won over by this new episode, while new players to the franchise will also find what they are looking for — as long as they like a style of gameplay so particular to the series. If the story is not enough, the game can be played with friends — whether co-op or competitive, there's plenty to do in Gears 5.
  11. Sep 6, 2019
    80
    Given the lack of subtlety Gears titles have shown so far, the way Gears 5 seeds these ideas into a knockabout action-adventure is impressive. Admittedly, few of the ideas are new, but how the Coalition brings them together under the skull-and-cog banner is surprising and refreshing, making this the most well-oiled Gears in a decade.
  12. Sep 4, 2019
    80
    With Gears 5, there’s a lot to love. The campaign is solid, making bold pushes in brave directions, and continues to be a hoot with friends. The story ultimately failed to fulfil its potential, but compelling gameplay keeps things moving. Horde continues to be a brilliant binge of violent goodness, with new mechanics and rewards that help boost longevity. Escape is a worthy addition to the roster of modes, oozing potential for more creative players to realize. Versus is back in a big way, helping newcomers find their feet, while keeping loyal fans of the franchise happy with classic game types and the thank-god-it’s-not-terrible shotgun. If you’re any kind of shooter fan, this game has earned your attention.
  13. Sep 12, 2019
    70
    It's just another Gears game, but a more charismatic protagonist and a few experimental mechanics at least give the series a more firm footing going forward.
  14. Sep 11, 2019
    70
    Gears 5 is very much a return of those best elements of Gears of War, but with a focus on making the game feel somewhat more adaptive to your particular ways of playing. Whether you want campaign or co-op, Competitive or Quickplay, there's an option for you in Gears 5, and plenty of stuff to reward you for time spent and skill gained. Gears 5 might suffer from some of the same storytelling missteps as its predecessors, and it might not venture far out of the past, but the new ideas it brings to the series are all good reasons for fans to return.
  15. Sep 4, 2019
    65
    Gears of War 5 bravely adds new mechanics to an aging series, but ends up being worse because of them.
  16. Sep 4, 2019
    60
    Familiarly solid cover shooting with the occasional surprise. It’s fitting The Coalition has opted to simply call the latest game ‘Gears’, because mostly, it’s just going through the motions.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It’s the campaign crouching that impressed me the most, the way it dips its toe it a ‘light RPG’ direction. I’m enjoying this new trend of RPGs-but-not-RPGs; action games that borrow the language of the more complex genre – side quests, character levelling, exploration – but in such a way that there’s never any doubt you’ll miss a pixel of it. I’m thinking of things like Metro Exodus or Control; games which put you on a longish leash, but take you for a walk around a world that is so hand-crafted that it feels rude not to gobble the whole thing up. Gears 5 left my belly nice and fat, and keen for the next course.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 198
  1. Sep 10, 2019
    10
    Gears of War vai ser melhor que Last of Us. Um grande jogo de todos os tempos. Está melhor console definitivo dessa geração para Xbox ONE peloGears of War vai ser melhor que Last of Us. Um grande jogo de todos os tempos. Está melhor console definitivo dessa geração para Xbox ONE pelo Gamepass do meu irmão essa semana Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2019
    5
    The game looks good, but nothing groundbreaking or up to the standards some have been advertising. Truth be told I find the material authoringThe game looks good, but nothing groundbreaking or up to the standards some have been advertising. Truth be told I find the material authoring and asset definition around the environment quite average, if not below expectation. Gameplay is pretty much the same as it has always been. There is really not much to say here unfortunately. Get it on game pass, play it and move on. Collapse Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2019
    4
    What a waste ... I'm a longtime fan of the series. And the fourth part was good and promising, but this is a turn in the completely wrongWhat a waste ... I'm a longtime fan of the series. And the fourth part was good and promising, but this is a turn in the completely wrong direction.
    Yes, graphically it is excellent, but everything else is terrible. Characters do not cause any sympathy. They are not consistent, flat and boring. You cannot create a drama if a player does not give a damn about its participants.
    Fights are hellishly boring.
    Too many one-shots out of nowhere and too little enemy variety. There are a lot of enemies who are almost not dangerous, but require a long and tedious shooting at one point on their ass or somewhere else.
    Constant babysitting with ai companions, plus one-shots, plus checkpoints, plus boring shooting at large enemies at one point and you get at times the most incredibly hellishly boring repetitive gameplay.
    Open arenas are pointless timewasters.
    And oh god, hire good writers please.
     What is this miserable cliched “Luke I'm Your Father” plot? You destroy plot potentials for locusts! They could have had a centuries-old history, and now they have nothing.
    And, I laughed to the pain in my stomach over the choice that you suddenly give me. I see what you did here. You collect statistics and try to understand whether it is possible to bury old gears or fans are not yet ready to swallow your pathetic new gears. I'm not on your side on this
    Full Review »