• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2018
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 63
  2. Negative: 15 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2018
    5
    Game is currently in beta conditions. Its playable but filled with game breaking bugs.

    There is a bug that can prevent you from saving. I lost eight hours of gameplay. Another big bug I ran into was being unable to increase the clubs youth level which made trying to develop youth players much harder. The worst is the Football Manager Community on the SI Forums. They are almost like
    Game is currently in beta conditions. Its playable but filled with game breaking bugs.

    There is a bug that can prevent you from saving. I lost eight hours of gameplay. Another big bug I ran into was being unable to increase the clubs youth level which made trying to develop youth players much harder.

    The worst is the Football Manager Community on the SI Forums. They are almost like a cult. Filled with fanboi's and heavy handed moderators.

    They relentless attack those who bring up any shortcoming of SI and are quick to defend them. You will attacked by the community and have any threads that point anything wrong being closed.

    Members of the community were attacking people for leaving negative feedback in the official feedback thread.
    Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2018
    3
    Old poor match engine. Or rather I should say worse than ever because I remember times when there was in FM a possession football, some passes inside the penalty box, not so many nonsense panic shots and blocked crosses. Maybe it wil improve slightly with patches (I mean the last one in March) but don't expect much. Such poor match enigne makes all these nice tools in match analysis almostOld poor match engine. Or rather I should say worse than ever because I remember times when there was in FM a possession football, some passes inside the penalty box, not so many nonsense panic shots and blocked crosses. Maybe it wil improve slightly with patches (I mean the last one in March) but don't expect much. Such poor match enigne makes all these nice tools in match analysis almost completely useless.
    Tactics sucks, very few options to tweak your game plan, you can't effectively order your attacking players to get back and press the opponent, it's such a rigid unrealistic tactical management, it's only about general shape of the whole team and some special treats of your players.
    Also as mentioned by others, poor unrealistic transfer market, poor AI, many boring old features like answearing thousand times same questions for media.
    Finally trening looks like it make sense, but you can't really say that before playing few seasons, and there is nothing in this game to make you want to play that long.
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2018
    0
    nothing new. pretty much the same game every year.
    miss the good old Cm2001
  4. Nov 5, 2018
    2
    Yearly release cycles are ludicrous for this game. I only buy a version of it once every 3 or 4 years. Frankly the game is getting too complicated for its own good, playing FM is more like having a second job now than a relaxing diversion.
  5. Nov 2, 2018
    0
    Football Manager has radically changed my way of buying games in recent years. Worse. Because I don't trust the developers anymore.

    In FM 2019 they have improved training and tactics (just the layout, honestly) but left out many other problems accumulated over the last 5 years. Some of them really very boring. AI is still far behind (this is why I'm not convinced at all by the tactics
    Football Manager has radically changed my way of buying games in recent years. Worse. Because I don't trust the developers anymore.

    In FM 2019 they have improved training and tactics (just the layout, honestly) but left out many other problems accumulated over the last 5 years. Some of them really very boring. AI is still far behind (this is why I'm not convinced at all by the tactics change). The negotiations, the relations with the media and the players, remains all boring. For example: once again it will be useless to identify the potential star playing in an unknown league, because it will cost you more than Ronaldo.

    So, yes, it's something more than the usual database update, which we were used to, but not at this price. You will read positive reviews from those who bought it at 20-30 euros. For 20 euros I would have spoken very well of it too, for 55 not. For 55 is a refund.

    My advice is: don't buy it if you bought FM 2018. Or wait for the next sales.
    Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    It's my first Football Manager and I love it. I see that people are mad that the devs don't do anything new to this series and I probably won't buy 2020 one. My experience is great, I really feel like football manager, it's an awesome game for people like me. And I am giving it 10/10 because I love the ideas behind it. I can't deliver you a comparison with other "football managers" but IIt's my first Football Manager and I love it. I see that people are mad that the devs don't do anything new to this series and I probably won't buy 2020 one. My experience is great, I really feel like football manager, it's an awesome game for people like me. And I am giving it 10/10 because I love the ideas behind it. I can't deliver you a comparison with other "football managers" but I see that there is no point in buying more than 1. I am going to play it from time to time for 2 years or 3. My new travel game in the train or plane, I'm happy for it. And it's a great title. But don't get me wrong, my rating tells a story of one game, and it's awesome, but eventually, it gets boring. After 12 hrs I'm tired of it and I need a break. I/m going to play some other games and return to it after a while or in a train.
    Experience is 10/10 and it might be a personal opinion from me, but that's how reviews work, right?
    Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2019
    0
    You can still get a lot of mileage out of the older games for a fraction of the price; it's still just the same re-skin. Better yet if you want a realistic management sim where actual prizes are at stake, sign up for a Fantasy Football season and get a real taste of it.
  8. Nov 11, 2018
    8
    Another year, another Football Manager brought by Sports Interactive. This series has been coming since 2005 and as such, fans should be eager to know what the small news of this new version. Signing up for a club as a coach, setting tactics and training, hiring and taking the club as far as possible in national and international competitions are things that are part of everyday life inAnother year, another Football Manager brought by Sports Interactive. This series has been coming since 2005 and as such, fans should be eager to know what the small news of this new version. Signing up for a club as a coach, setting tactics and training, hiring and taking the club as far as possible in national and international competitions are things that are part of everyday life in Football Manager.

    But let's go directly to the news features of this Football Manager 2019. Now we have more realistic and detailed training sessions. Each day has two or three training sessions that can be dedicated to game tactics, attacking or defensive moves, or more general things. In other words, whatever we understand. It may be a bit annoying at first to be altering train X on day X, but it's a very good feature.

    The tactics have also been changed ... and for the better. Movements with or without ball are back. Now we can change our tactics more deeply and there are lots of options for the player to choose and form the kind of game they want. The Tiki-taka of Barcelona, the bus of José Mourinho or the Gegenpressing of Jürgen Klopp. Yes, at the beginning it is natural that it is difficult to define a tactic with feets and head, especially for those who are new to the Football Manager series, but this is part of the menu, which makes things more rewarding. It should be noted that the 1st Division German (Bundesliga) and the 2nd Division German have for the first time the teams, equipment and licensed players.

    Football Manager 2019 also added the VAR (Video-referee), which allows us to see the marked offsides. But not everything is roses in this new version, because Football Manager and Transfers are two words that don't match. Unfortunately, it's already a common problem in the Football Manager series. It continues to make zero-sense clubs asking for more than 100 million euros for an unknown young player.

    Visually, Football Manager games have never been appealing (nor was it ever their goal), but that's because the producers have always wanted to make the Football Manager series a lightweight game. However, 3D Match Engine received improvements, especially with the physics of the ball. Negative points are the transfer market, the number of injuries a bit exaggerated and the printing conferences are something generic and repetitive. In the end, Football Manager 2019 turns out to be a good improvement over last year's version.

    Veredict: Football Manager 2019 has received some modifications for the better and is recommended for fans of the series.
    Expand
  9. Jan 24, 2019
    0
    I really don't understand why do people buy the same game every year. No real changes, it is still the basic football manager. If you like this genre, you can play the old versions and you do not loose anything.
  10. Feb 9, 2019
    4
    They really are phoning this game in now and have been for some time. clunky and slow even on a beast of a PC. terrible layout, same same
  11. Apr 4, 2019
    5
    What I Like: Tactical options, revamped team training, the usual comprehensive database of teams and players, and an improved user interface.

    What I Don't Like: Poor AI logic, unbalanced match engine, and frustrating player development. Player development is frustrating because teenagers develop extremely quickly even without match experience, while 20-25 year olds often show no
    What I Like: Tactical options, revamped team training, the usual comprehensive database of teams and players, and an improved user interface.

    What I Don't Like: Poor AI logic, unbalanced match engine, and frustrating player development.

    Player development is frustrating because teenagers develop extremely quickly even without match experience, while 20-25 year olds often show no improvement despite playing all season. Uncertainty is good, but the aging curve needs to be less rigid. You might as well ignore potential ability once a player hits 20.

    But the match engine is the bigger problem. When you see your team has crossed the ball 60 times in a match (EPL teams cross 15-20 times per match in real life), despite you telling your two wide players to "cross less often" then you know the game mechanics are flawed. Even your opponents will cross that often because the game seems to hard-code into player logic. It's enough to make yo want to play an older version.
    Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2019
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. It got everything a football manager game needs.
  13. Apr 21, 2019
    9
    FM19 is totally worth the money for any football nerd who wants to experiment with tranfers, tactics and team dynamics in what is a complex and frankly, overwhelming database of staff, teams, competitions and players. The latest version is the best I've seen and a step up from last year. Improved tactics, training and match engine are worth the extra price alone (not forgetting to mentionFM19 is totally worth the money for any football nerd who wants to experiment with tranfers, tactics and team dynamics in what is a complex and frankly, overwhelming database of staff, teams, competitions and players. The latest version is the best I've seen and a step up from last year. Improved tactics, training and match engine are worth the extra price alone (not forgetting to mention the latest wonderkids). In short, don't waste your time buying an earlier version. Casual users will prefer the more streamlined version of the game, but for purists that have plenty of time on their hands, there is enough here to spend, oh, say 200+ hours on. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Mar 5, 2019
    85
    A lot of new possibilities and features, new and improved UI, and good old contagious gameplay.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 31, 2018
    80
    The most player-friendly edition of the Football Manager, which, unfortunately, can bore the veterans of the series with its slow evolution. [Issue#291]
  3. Dec 6, 2018
    70
    If you’re a die-hard football fan but also a lover of the behind the scene workings of football, this is a game that will give you all of that to your heart's content. For the rest of us football fans, I’d suggest sticking to the latest iteration of FIFA.