Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
Stream On
  1. Dec 11, 2018
    80
    Rivals delivers a polished and nuanced gameplay experience, with a monetization model tacked on that stands the chance of delivering a frustrating experience or feeling like the game is nudging you to open up your wallet for a smoother experience. We’ll see if it stands the test of time, but at the very least it provides a really interesting look at what RTS can do on mobile.
  2. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    It might not be a ‘true’ C&C game, but it’s one of the tightest and most compelling strategy games on mobile.
  3. Dec 21, 2018
    75
    Rivals is not the classic Command & Conquer we have been waiting for. If you are open to something somewhat less traditional, you will enjoy this competitive strategy game to the fullest.
  4. Dec 9, 2018
    75
    It is certainly different from the original series, but Command & Conquer: Rivals, taken as a title on its own, is anyway a good mobile strategic.
  5. Dec 12, 2018
    70
    Yes, you can still be brutalised by higher level players, but most matches don’t feel that way, and real-time strategy fans aren’t exactly spoiled for choice on mobile, making Rivals well worth trying out.
  6. Dec 20, 2018
    40
    Although Command & Conquer: Rivals is still some ways off the horror show that was Dungeon Keeper Mobile, by virtue of having a game that actually functions, it is still a major let-down.
User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 18 out of 21
  1. Dec 15, 2018
    2
    I'm very disappointed with this game. Boring gameplay and stupid In-app purchased ruined this game
  2. Dec 18, 2018
    3
    The gameplay itself is well made and fluent. Units are well designed and interesting to use.

    But it is completely broken by the
    The gameplay itself is well made and fluent. Units are well designed and interesting to use.

    But it is completely broken by the monetization model. Paying for progress, 5 - 10€ worth absolutely nothing. It has to be a lot more to make any difference. So the game just capitalizes on people with addiction to these kind of things.

    First few days are maybe okay, learning how stuff works and trying different units. After reaching higher leagues, gold and platinum, a huge slowdown in progression comes. Battles are getting increasingly unfair, often matched against higher level player. Upgrading units gets extremely expensive, it takes probably several months to play to be simply able to to unlock all units. I can't rank up, just by having high skill. I need to grind mindlessly or just pay for it. Paying reasonable 10 bucks is useless. I can't try different units anymore since I would need to upgrade them and thus setting myself back several days. This is unacceptable and turns actual strategic decision into a grindfest. The "leagues" mean nothing other than time investment/money investment from Gold league on.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 22, 2018
    0
    The game itself it fine, it's fun balanced and recalls memories

    But the real problem about this game: The lootboxes. You can earn some each
    The game itself it fine, it's fun balanced and recalls memories

    But the real problem about this game: The lootboxes. You can earn some each day but after a time you wont get xp or game money for playing. So you end up being stuck with units you get randomly except you buy the great starter pack...... That would be fine... But I can only play 10 matches a day then I get basically nothing and need to invest even more money into gems.... for the cards to upgrade units.... then I need game money to upgrade the units. So basically we're short on game money and crystals(you get like 14-20 a day) if you really want upgrade stuff you need to spent even more money in the store.

    A further warning: I wanted to play C+C the Ultimate Collection(the old games) on origin to try out some of the old games again . But they're all in German! I bought them like 5 years ago apparently a code on a third party shop like Humble Bundle. Well I doesn't give me the option to set the language anywhere! When I contacted the support I was told they can do nothing as I didnt bought the game on Origin. So I'm a 2nd class customer now!

    Well fine accidentally somehow I got the German version due to localisation problems(I wasn't even in Germany to that time?!?!). So I tried searching the english version in the Shop. But it tells me I own the game already, so I cannot play the old games in English, because I'm a 2nd class customer with a "redeemed code". Support even asked me what kind of nerve I contact them before Christmas with a 5 year old purchase(Just when Rivals released what coincidence), that wasn't made on their website Thanks EA I will remember this and ditch Rivals too. You got me to play one of you games, just to ruin it with an awful unfriendly support. I would've even bought the English version of the Ultimate Collection - but guess what? I can't ! It tells me already purchased and there are no further option at "versions". That problem is described on their website and they're not "willing" to solve it for me cause I've just redeemed a code!

    You know people rant about Bethesda with Fallout 76 but Bethesda resolved all my problems with their own shop. Even though I bought the key at a retailer. EA should finally grow up and realize adult customers that bought games wanna play them without cash grab features. Or stuff like "No you didnt buy it here we don't help you!". Well EA sold the key for Origin of course I bought it there! Even the website describes the problem and that EA will gladly help in such cases. Did they help? No... they even insulted me a 2nd class customer.

    Take this review as a warning before you invest money into your Rivals account, or download the thing at all. They don't care about you or the money you spent for your product.

    Good Developers with bad management is my conclusion. The red line of that draws through all their games.
    Full Review »